We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Chowder the best I've had” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Tale Grill by Merrick Seafood

Fish Tale Grill by Merrick Seafood
Ranked #2 of 417 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted best seafood restaurant in "Best of Cape Coral 2013" Fish Tale Grill by Merrick Seafood offers the best local seafood. Anything from fresh salads,fried seafood baskets, homemade soups, raw bar to delectable fresh seafood entrees.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Seafood Chowder the best I've had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's a cozy place, as in small. Pretty, though. In mid-July in Cape Coral we had to wait 20 minutes for a table on a Friday night, out in the heat on the ample deck. But it was worth the sweaty wait. The hostess said 20 minutes, and it was. Nice little bar with some seating, but every seat under air was taken. The menu was varied; not sure how much of it was fresh vs. frozen. The entrees come with soup or salad. Salad you can get anywhere; trust me, get the soup! The chowder was loaded with all the good stuff, cream, butter and lots of varied seafood. Absolutely delicious. Since we were at a Gulf-side seafood restaurant, we ordered fresh grouper...the daily black grouper special and the grouper piccata. Both meals were delicious, and the presentation was lovely. I'm really glad we tried it. I can't imagine how crowded it gets during Season! They don't take reservations, either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank InfrequentTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,132
    302
    87
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in SWFL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Always a great seafood meal at Fish Tale. Tina L. is our favorite server, very knowledgable, personable and professional. A big thanks to Kerry for the apps and deserts. The entrees never disappoint either. Love, love, love the hogfish! Can't wait to see you all again very soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarthaLFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food/perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Been a merricks customer for years. So pleased they now have a fabulous restraurant. Soup, salad, crab, scallops, lobster, salmon, shrimp. The menu will make your mouth water. By the way ask for Coral, she is a very special server.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food and service - thanks Tina. You could easily drive past as it doesn't look much from the outside, but definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Highlife6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm one of the disappointed one.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

After all we heard about this place 3 friends and I decided to try it. We had to wait at the bar, not a problem, We got to talking to the bartender. Really nice guy. The hostess came over and said the table that we were supposed to get is still filled, The guest wanted to stay longer, so would we mind eating outside. Instead of waiting longer we went outside. The table was nice, the evening not to hot with a nice breeze blowing. We got our menus and after looking at it for awhile I could only find one thing on it I liked. Being a seafood place I would have thought there would be more of a variety. I chose a breaded fish dish. The waitress showed up with an attitude. Not sure why. We asked if we could take a few more minutes to look aver the menu and she said ok, and we didn't see her for a long time. When she finally came back we gave our orders. When they came I noticed my breaded fish was fairly big and thought I might not finish it. But when I cut into it it was all a puffy breading with a small piece of fish sitting inside. I had no trouble finishing it. It tasted ok, nothing special tasting about it. The other 3 in my party said their dinners were also just ok. No raves for the meals, except all the dinner were served hot. When the food showed up so did about a couple of dozen flies. We couldn't get rid of them until we finished our meal. When other tables were served the flies moved on. Meanwhile our waitress continued with her attitude, so when asking for water we had to wait again. She got tipped accordingly. Since the food wasn't anything above ok, the prices were a bit high, and the waitress' attitude remained through out our meal, I'd have to say, we aren't going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Spike2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Tale Grill by Merrick Seafood also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fish Tale Grill by Merrick Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing