We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

New England Moorings
Ranked #12 of 427 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A few lines to introduce myself. My name is Al Whelan, I am from Boston and worked at a famous "waterfront dive" known as Kelly's Landing. A seafood business in a Catholic community with lines down the street, literally. I worked there for five summers and enjoyed every minute of it. My first date with the counter girl (she couldn't resist a man in a paper hat), my first kiss, etc. One rule was demanded, cooking with clean oil! In those days it was lard! Today we use canola oil both on the grill side and on the fry side... Most of our dinners are on the grill side. Fish shrimp, scallops, steaks, ribs, chicken and pork round off our menu. Our Irish Connoli is like a little piece of heaven and our homemade bread pudding is to die for. Both topped off with sweet whipped cream. We've added a 6000 square foot patio surrounded by trees. A truly private and romantic spot. Also some added features such as, a basketball cage, beer pong table and corn hole court.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place was really great. Chef Al was walking around handing out samples of the menu items, while the waitress Katrina was very attentive. The alligator appetizer was excellent with a zesty dip. The dining area was kinda dark with blue lights strung around, a bar in the middle, and wicker chairs to sit on. Bud Light was on tap and Jimmy Buffet and Michael Jackson concerts played on the TVs. We got a sample of Chef Al's cannolis and some amaretto. Yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    150
    35
    44
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alligator Tail”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

They have the best Alligator Tail i've ever had. I never liked trying new things until i had the Gator Tail. It was amazing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seafood Gallore”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We travelled to Florida from Canada over the March Break and found this little spot to eat. It was an absolutely incredible experience! The owner Al, treated us like family. We were brought samples of different dishes and the meals we ordered were fresh, hot and delicious. The portions were extremely generous and the staff were warm and welcoming. We had so much seafood and we could not finish our meals. Thanks Al (from Big Al, little Al and the girls) for making our visit so special. We have a great picture of you in our album to remember an amazing spot to eat and the great company that you offered to make the visit special. We would recommend your restaurant to anyone in the area.....worth the drive from Canada.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLeahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool place ”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Went last Saturday evening. Like everyone says, NOTHING to look at when you pull up, but the inside is awesome! Eclectic old Florida, loved it! Food was excellent, and yes, they DO give samples. Our server Sarah was friendly, mannerly, and attentive. We live local, so we'll definitely be back, probably often now that we know it's there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Starcoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place is fun”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Al has a good place for comfort and dining. Food is good and best fried green tomatoes out there. Stop by for a meal and cold drink. U will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nonabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New England Moorings also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to New England Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing