We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 50's”
Review of Starlight Diner - CLOSED

Starlight Diner
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Starlight Diner opened March 3rd, 2014 and has become a destination spot in Cape Coral for locals, seasonal residents and tourist. As you approach the 50's-60's diner, with its retro interior, you are greeted by Elvis with his guitar, striking his signature pose and Marilyn Monroe too. Once inside, the classic black-and-white checked floor with seating in aqua, white and chrome are sure to bring back the memories. Or how about the old Coke Machine and the bubbling Wurlitzer Jukebox? And did we mention the drive-in theater screen showing classic old movies? As you sit and listen to all the 50's-60's tunes, you'll notice the murals - classic old cars and classic old stars! Dine outdoors on the patio and enjoy our glorious weather! You can even bring Fido - Stevie's Patio is dog-friendly for all Stevie's well-mannered friends!
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Starlight Diner is a stand out for many reasons. First is the eye for detail. Those details are not only decor but in service and in food. The food at the Starlight is great. Fresh, well prepared and enough to stuff. The theme is 50's and its done well. So many chains cookie cut theme restaurants and the result is "if you've seen one you've seen 'em all" The Starlight is an independent owner operated eatery and that makes a huge difference. These folks have "skin in the game" and they take care of their customers over their district managers. It's not only looks like a diner from the 50's, it's run like one. Check out their burgers and malts or better yet, go there for breakfast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

A work Colleague and I were in the area and decided to give this new Diner a go. They did a decent job of decorating and the Elvis statue out front does grab one's attention. They didn't quite measure up in capturing the feel of an American Diner of the 50's-early 60's. It would've been a great addition to have the servers dressed in period dress rather that logo-ed t-shirts.

Lunch staffing was not adequate taking 10 minutes from seating to being greeted by the server. The Hostess took the drink order and soon thereafter the server showed up.

The menu makes an attempt at a throw-back offering but is missing several classics, such as a chef's salad.
The food was delivered in a reasonable time for lunch however the overall greeting to serving time is not quite quick enough for working people.

Food was average, portions appropriate.
The overall experience says that they have just missed the mark...not quite up to recreating a vintage diner, both in food and decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catbill1952, Owner at Starlight Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Don, We appreciate your comments and very surprised of the issues you experienced. We will work diligently to insure these items are corrected,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Once you step inside this beautiful diner, you feel like your back in the 50's & 60's. Great service, great food and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catbill1952, Owner at Starlight Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your support.

Cat & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

the place is just darling! i thought i was back in the 50,s with elvis, driving in movie playing and the jukebox. they serve breakfast all day and it was great! my parents are very picky and difficult and they loved it. you can not beat the prices! we meet the owners and they were super nice. i will go back welcome to the cape .

Thank leecountytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catbill1952, Owner at Starlight Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We appreciate you taking time to post a review and thank you for your support.

Cat & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Almost too much to write. There were a lot of open tables. We were just about to leave when we were asked if we had been helped.
The wife wanted a open face beef platter. They would not allow a substitution from a house salad to a Caesar salad. We were willing to pay the any difference. It jus wasn't allowed. So she ordered a beef sandwich (much like a Philly Cheese steak). The meat was salty. I think a low salt bullion should be used to soak the meat if the meat was salted when cooking. I had the meatloaf plate. it comes with a salad, roll and 2 sides. After a long wait my platter came. I had to ask for my roll then had to ask for my salad. Just to let you know the meat loaf was salty too.
We had several refills on our drinks. Not once were we given refills without having to get the waitress and ask for them.
If your going to spend $25 to $35 for lunch; go somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catbill1952, Owner at Starlight Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We would like to have the opportunity to earn your business and ask that you come back and give us another try. It is our goal to meet and preferably exceed our customers expectations, if this does not occur on your next visit please ask for Bill or Cat and let us know what went wrong,

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starlight Diner also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing