We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at Old Carrabelle Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Newnan, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at Old Carrabelle Hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We just returned from Carrabelle and another very relaxing visit to the Forgotten Coast. That visit, as usual, was highlighted by three great nights at The Old Carrabelle Hotel. Love the low-key check in process and lack of hassle. As always, clean and comfortable accomodations. Excellent value in a B & B and great breakfasts at The 2 Als Cafe included. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wd4pag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
99
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We've stayed at the old Carrabelle Hotel a number of times and love it! It's a very peaceful place with lovely and comfortable Florida decor, a terrific porch upstairs for relaxing and sipping a cool drink, and walking distance to great restaurants. Skip and Kathy are there when you need them, and always ready to share an interesting story. Don't miss the renovation scrap books!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HHBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just wanted to say old carrabelle hotel was a great place to stay. I enjoyed it very much. It just makes you feel like you are staying at someone's place.
Great porch and out door cabana area to relax.

I stayed in Flamingo and room was clean and charming big plus is a size of bathroom.
for $77 including breakfast at Al's it was a geat deal.

previous reviewer wrote pretty much what I wanted to say so I just wanted to add that down the al's restaurant there is a beach you can bring your two legged friend. Great for dog lovers!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salsacatblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Abington Township, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I have always been fans of a good road trip, and our goal each time is to stay off the beaten path as much as possible. Last month, we left our home in Northeast Pennsylvania, and set off for a three week adventure. This year's trip was a little different than most, because along the way we stopped in Gulf Breeze, Florida, were joined by a number of family and friends, and were married next to the crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Once we sent everyone else home, we decided to explore the Forgotten Coast. On a sunny Wednesday afternoon, we arrived at the Old Carrabelle Hotel.

We immediately fell in love with the tropical landscape and charming character of the Hotel. Check In was effortless, with our welcome package waiting for us at the door. Walking into the Hotel was a joy in and of itself. The unique decor, complemented by the well-preserved century old architecture, gave us that "welcome home" feel. Based upon our review of the Hotel's website, we chose to stay in the Hemingway Room. As expected with any hundred year old Bed and Breakfast, our room was not the size of a suite at the Ritz, but it had everything we could ask for. The cool breeze drifting down from the spinning blades of the antique ceiling fan set the tone for a room that Papa himself would have occupied years before. The bathroom was decorated with the same inviting accents, and quite spacious. Before we even brought our things up to the room, we decided to have a seat on the second-floor wrap around porch, and just take in the serenity of the Hotel and Carrabelle.

Not too long after our arrival, we had the pleasure to meet our hosts Kathy and Skip. They made us feel even more at home in Carrabelle, providing us insight into their little seaside village. Kathy showed us around the property, including the private back garden area which we had yet to discover. Skip offered us the use of the Hotel's tandem kayak during our stay, and volunteered to launch us from just about anywhere we wanted to explore. They suggest the Fisherman's Wife for dinner, which we highly recommend as well, and we parted for the evening. One thing that should be noted about Kathy and Skip is that they value your privacy as much as you do. They won't come into your room, make the bed, and clean the bathroom in the morning, but if you need anything, all you have to do is ask. One thing that you should ask for from Kathy and Skip is a night of their company filled with cold drinks, fresh food, and great music at Fathom’s Raw Bar.

As for Carrabelle itself...for those looking for a beach town with a boardwalk, amusement rides, crowded beaches, and souvenir shops abound, you're probably better off to head to the Jersey Shore. Carrabelle doesn't really have much to offer...unless you’re looking for fresh air, incredible seafood, the calming blue waters of the Gulf Coast, a welcoming local population, thousands of acres of undisturbed natural beauty, and pristine beaches where complete solitude can yours if you’re willing to take a short walk along the water. Be sure to take a half hour drive east of Carrabelle to visit the quaint shops and eateries of Apalachicola, and don’t forget to visit the recently rated fourth best beach in the country, which can be found on St. George Island.

No matter what roads you chose to take to get you around the laid back lanes making up Florida’s Forgotten Coast, two things you'll definitely know when you leave...you should have planned a longer trip, and you're going to miss the Old Carrabelle Hotel.

- Lance & Nancy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Mi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Each guest room in the Old Carrabelle Hotel is unique, yet the ambiance of warm Southern hospitality pervades throughout. Our hosts, Skip and Kathy, are attuned to the needs of their guests and will graciously join in festivities or unobtrusively allow for personal relaxation. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants, this historic inn can be a destination or the starting point for easy drives to beaches, fishing, sight-seeing, kayaking and many other local activities. We will defintely return! Jack and Carol Zurawka

Room Tip: Be sure to view them all...they are wonderfully different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I came to Skip and Kathy's place after a 2 week work trip and wanted to relax and do a little fishing. Skip and Kathy were gracious and friendly. The hotel was charming and comfortable. I wish the fishing trip was better but my hotel stay for the weekend was supurb. Quiet, restful, and a great location near the waterfront and restaurants, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Regatta room, queen bed with bath/shower. Nautical theme, very quiet. I slept grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have stayed many times with Skip and Kathy, and each time the experience is uniquely wonderful. True Southern hospitality, wonderful rooms and property, plus great hosts! Carrabelle and its unique personality and flavor of a fishing town is perfectly complimented by this wonderful hotel. You won't be disappointed, and we look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabelle
21.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
17.7 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
21.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Property: The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Address: 201 Tallahassee St, Carrabelle, FL 32322-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Carrabelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a "Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast". Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation - free beach restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, cultural/historical activities and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Carrabelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing