We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingmont, wv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique & Pleasant”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Old Carrabelle Hotel is a unique quiet property which we found to be fun, relaxing, and comfortable. Room was clean and cute, bed was very comfortable, and bathroom was large with plenty of hot water. The AC which was bolstered by a ceiling fan worked very well. Owners were pleasant and accomodating, and they offered an exceptional value for our travel dollars. We also enjoyed the easy going Carrabelle atmosphere and the casual friendly breakfast service.

Room Tip: Caution stairs are steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
99
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had to make arrangements to arrive very late and the owners were most accommodating. Upon arrival was my welcome letter and instructions on how to come and go as I deemed necessary. The room was decorated in a fun beachy theme and the linens on the bed were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back might here music from a near by bar. We just went to the bar and made new friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelingrealtor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a 3 week motorcycle vacation. This location was a great base from which to visit the area, Apalachicola scenic byway, St George Island, the town of Apalachicola, hiking trails. Very clean and quiet. Breakfast included at a local restaurant, however I skipped the third day's voucher...a little too much grease and there is a better closer choice for breakfast. Safe (covered) lighted parking is also available for bikes at the adjacent municipal lot. I also now know that the highway signs indicating bears in the area are valid. Looked out at 10:00pm one night to see a large black bear in the lit lot sniffing my bike...sure glad I had no food in it and by the time I got my camera out on the balcony (btw great sitting area on first and second floor balcony) he was in the shadows. Would definately go back with my wife. Travelled solo and the smaller Regatta room met my needs, clean, private bathroom, microwave and fridge in the hallway. Great discounts for early booking, cancellations still allowed.

Room Tip: I chose Regatta, smaller room ideal for solo travellers, overlooked parking area on second floor, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KenG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The location of the Old Carabbelle Hotel was the perfect place to stop on our road trip and the price was very reasonable. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly. We found the Hotel stay fine, with quite well-appointed rooms and public areas. Our room was upstairs and the wrap around balcony was a great place to relax after a long drive. Unfortunately, we arrived on a Monday when almost all the businesses and restaurants in town were closed so there was but one option for dinner--the same restaurant that provides the breakfast in the morning. The restaurant is not close by, so that was kind of inconvenient, and it is kind of a run-down diner atmosphere. We had dinner and breakfast there and were quite disappointed with both meals. I would have preferred coffee and a continental breakfast at the hotel instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolSue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for your positive comments about the Hotel, which we do manage to keep open 7 days a week :)

We also can't get haircuts on Monday. This area has a very low population, which of course is why we don't have the traffic, stoplights, rush hour, etc. And a small pool of people available to work. So the answer for many is to close a day or 2 each week, and sometimes it is an inconvenience for us as well. Wish we had known you needed restaurant info, there are several open on Mondays not far away.

What we do is to look around, take a deep breath of salt air, and give thanks that our big road is 98 and not 285. Or 520. And that no building is over 3 stories tall. It's worth it, and we hope you will see that some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel rooms are quite comfortable and decorated to match the beach area. The common area living room was nice to sit & relax a while. The veranda had comfy chairs to relax as well. We came to this area to see lighthouses and there are 5 or 6 within an hours drive. The beach in Carrabelle is nice and St George Island beaches are not far away. This area is not overrun with tourists; very laid back and slow paced. The owner met us at the door and shared with us information about the area. Each morning we went to 2 Als Restaurant and had very good meals. The room includes gift cards to this restaurant.

Green Features: We did see awards posted for this hotel's environmental policies. It's always good to support those who support the earth.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank denner_n_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Old Carrabelle Hotel recently. We were there only for one night on our exploration of Florida's West Coast, but will be back. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with many small touches that add to the atmosphere of a time past. The owner was most helpful with recommendations on places to eat in the area. All in all a unique and fun stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alphaalpha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel. the owners are super nice and very helpful. I will definitely stay again. I especially liked the sound of the pipes whisling in the bathroom. The room ws cozy and just right for snuggling. We went to St George Island Beach. The beach was nice Mr. Man got a chance to fish a little..LoL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Living4GOD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabelle
21.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
366 reviews
17.7 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
186 reviews
21.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
572 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Property: The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Address: 201 Tallahassee St, Carrabelle, FL 32322-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Carrabelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a "Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast". Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation - free beach restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, cultural/historical activities and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Carrabelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing