We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Excellent Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings at Carrabelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings at Carrabelle
Winston, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place, Excellent Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are looking to get away from the crowded, bustling, tourist areas, but still be close to great beaches, amazing eco-destinations, and the historic side of Florida, I highly recommend this quaint hotel/marina. The office staff is great, special thanks to Jamie for putting up with my endless questions. If you are looking for fancy, this aint it. If you are looking for a comfortable place to lay your head after a day of exploring by land or by sea, then The Moorings is the place for you. They offer a free slip in the marina during your stay, so bring your boat, no need to drag it in and out of the water everyday. This area of Florida is known for excellent fishing. The Moorings is within walking distance of the entire riverfront in Carrabelle, and a great base from which to explore the "Forgotten Coast." The view from the hotel rooms over the marina and river are beautiful. Daily maid service keeps your towels fresh and your room tidy. Overall a great experience we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in the hotel section, but they also have very reasonable rates on their condos which are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were meeting family in Carrabelle before going to Dog Island and stayed at The Moorings. The ladies in the office were first class. Very helpful and professional. Breakfast was simple but good. The room was bare bones but comfortable. Be sure to take insect repellent. The yellow flys were horrible. We did not have a boat, but a slip was available with the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWright2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
333 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom unit this time, room 120 upstairs. Good sized living room and small but full kitchen. Bedroom had 2 double beds. Overall unit was OK, clean but nothing special. The toilet was very slow to flush but it did work OK. The Moorings is really the only hotel option in Carrabelle so it's not easy to compare to other properties. The 1 BD unit we had looked out onto Hwy 98 so no real view. The kids spent a lot of time in the pool which was cloudy most of the time we were there.The motel units look out onto the marina and are better in my opinion and less money. They do provide a small breakfast in the bottom of the condo building which is nice. This is a decent place to stay if you are fishing or have your boat as you also get a slip included with your room at no extra charge. It is not a great place to just hang out if you are spending a lot of time in the room. The biting yellow flies were HORRID when we were there (June).

Room Tip: Hotel rooms upstairs have the best view over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

WONDERFUL !!! Great place to stay and keep our boat!!! wonderful friendly people nice pool. Clean rooms . Great staff of people Great restaurants in the area. Fishermans Wife, Fish Camp and many others.
,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent overnight (or even longer) with rooms overlooking the boats in the marina and the channel beyond. You really feel you are on the coast. Large room, not fancy, but clean and spacious, with balcony. In fact, the bathroom was one of the largest we’ve ever encountered. Room has basic kitchen (microwave, sink, fridge, counter, dining table). Price included basic motel-type breakfast. Overall, great price for a water view. Would definitely come back. Fisherman’s Wife restaurant across the street is a good place to eat.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor have a better view--but its also OK from the first (ground) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron and Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Spent three nights in Carrabelle. The Moorings was a great location. Room was large with nice deck. Microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker. Room was clean with new carpeting. Boat dock and ramp was free to guests. Great visit, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here last night. Made resv online didn't know what to expect because we had never stayed here before. We arrived staff was very friendly. Room was clean, very large. I wish beds were Queens but knew they were going to be doubles. The bed spreads were very old but they were clean. Bathroom was very big and clean as well. Only problem so far was could not get wifi last night, son was very disappointed as was I. One other thing a/c was very cool.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabelle
17.9 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
21.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
22.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wakulla Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrabelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings at Carrabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings at Carrabelle

Property: The Moorings at Carrabelle
Address: 1000 Highway 98 E, Carrabelle, FL 32322-2241
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings of Carrabelle has an unmatched reputation of the largest marina in Carrabelle. Accommodations are available with a hotel or condo unit *free boat slip available with room rental (*restrictions apply). We have a 32 room hotel and each room has a large bathroom with hair driers and a microwave, mini fridge, eat in table, coffee maker, and a 32 inch flat screen TV. Full service marina offers non ethanol gasoline, marine diesel, full tackle shop, Costa sunglasses, Calcutta men's and women's clothing and fishing gear. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings At Carrabelle Hotel Carrabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing