We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Cedar Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My family and I have been here before because we just love the clams. We had dinner here again this past weekend and just loved our dinner. We all had the clams over pasta and tomato bisque soup. We also had a nice, reasonable priced bottle of Italian wine. The server was excellent and the timing of the meal left us time to talk in-between courses. We had a table outside, but there is also indoor seating if you don't like the heat.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jan9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

There is discrimination with regards to service extended to a regular from a non-regular guests. New visitors better watch out on what kind of treatment that they will get from the hotel owners and staff, not so good. Don't waste your money and time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sharoncentrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We only ate in the restaurant and were not guests in the hotel. The food was below average for the prices they charge. It was a very disappointing dining experience.I ordered a saute shrimp and scallop entre.When the meal arrived I saw that the shrimps were not deveined. The waitress went back to the kitchen and returned advising me that she was told that this is the way they prepare it. I don't eat shrimp that are not deveined. Instead of trying to satisfy me she told me that she would take the shrimp off the cost of the entre, which she did. The people cooking are not chefs. They are minor leaguers and shouldn't be cooking. They should find new professions. It was probably the most disappointing meal I was ever served. Stay away from this place.Who eats shrinp with sh...... in it?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NativeNewYorker1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Cedar Key has so many wonderful things. The Island Hotel and Restaurant is NOT one of them! If you are into overpriced, uninviting, and rude, then this place might just be for you. If however, you work hard for your money and want a decent room, decent food, and nice people, then spend your dollars somewhere else. The Island Hotel and Restaurant, in my opinion, has no redeeming qualities. There are many more friendly establishments in Cedar Key that will be glad to see you – and treat you like it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank TallyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Cedar key is beautiful, but don't let the web site fool you about this hotel. The owners are not friendly & the rooms are way over priced for a non weekend stay. FOOD BLAND!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ffoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

At $120 + 9% an informed individual should expect more . . . very unpleasant and unfortunate experience!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ex-Xeroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Our group stayed here following dozens of website reviews and the Hotel's own website stating that it was haunted by 13+ spirits. We found it to be a very rustic and "neat" old building however the heat didn't work very well and we all froze, the sound traveled so that we sat in our room listening to others snore in the rooms around us. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep and didn't encounter any ghosts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 373 2nd St, P.O. Box 460, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5116
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Island Hotel And Restaurant
Island Cedar Key
Is Hotel Cedar Key
Island Hotel & Restaurant Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing