We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food, but don't try to sleep here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Cedar Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK food, but don't try to sleep here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

First the good: Charming old building, restaurant dining inside and outside nice, upstairs balcony to watch the city, nice garden courtyard outside. Things seemed clean and there was plenty of hot water. All the important fixtures in the bathroom worked.

The bad: The bed was un-sleepable. The mattress was shot, the bed was shoved up against the wall so you could only get out from one side, the mattress cover and sheets were so shrunken that they would not stay on the bed. It also tilted at a charming 30 degree or so angle. For a B and B, the bed is at least 50% of the equation, and this one got a zero in my book. The service was at best odd. The waitresses were fairly friendly and speedy, but not very well-trained or informed about things to do. The people at the front desk were OK, but also sort of indifferent--when we checked out, the woman did not even ask the basic question "how was your stay?" It doesn't seem like they want to know about problems. The woman at the desk at night seemed flustered when we asked for a cup of tea and dessert to have on the balcony. Just not very well-trained in taking care of guests. They seem more oriented toward catering to the local drinking crowd. The guy who appeared to be the owner didn't seem very friendly or interested in taking care of us when we talked with him at the desk.

The restaurant food was pretty good, but not amazing--no fresh fish from the Gulf here, as I would expect. I think my seafood dish was microwaved. The bar was full, but not being a drinker this was not much of an attraction. I'd say it's an OK place for dinner, drinks if you are a drinker, but definitely not a good place to sleep. Next trip I would try the other island B and B, where we rented bikes, and which seemed much more friendly. This place is not worth the fairly hefty prices they charge.

Room Tip: Try the other B and B on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystritravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    47
    14
    9
    18
See reviews for
24
109
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We arrived at Island Hotel and it looked derelict from the outside but we had paid so we had to go in. Inside didn't look a lot better but the reception staff were very pleasant. Our room left a lot to be desired with no phone, no TV, and not even a clock but the bed was clean although the furniture looked battered. The atmosphere in the hotel was really good with live music downstairs. We are not live music fans but this was very pleasant.

The restaurant was lovely and the food excellent so first impressions were not the best. I still feel that we would not stay at this hotel again as $110 per night was expensive but would certainly eat in the restaurant or in the bar for that matter.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as there is not much traffic in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Came to Cedar Key because I was invited to an event at the Black Dog Tavern(see that review) & I randomly picked this place for a different experience. I have been to Cedar Key often.
From the moment you walk in you can only imagine the people who have stayed and lived there being its one of the oldest hotel in florida. Its beautiful and the rooms are great. And its in a great location to stumble back from the local fare and bars....

Room Tip: Every room has character
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpurvis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

The perfect old Florida getaway- lovely tabby inn built in 1859 . Comfortable rooms with a fabulous breakfast included- last Wed it was choice of clam or mushroom quiche, scrambled eggs and bacon with hot biscuits and homemade strawberry jam or the best French toast you've ever eaten. They have a cozy
Bar with a bluegrass duo the night we were there. Lovely murals in upstairs common spaces and the bar. They have an excellent restaurant. Some say they have ghosts as well at no extra charge. We opted for the room that had a ghost guarding our door. A great spot for a quiet get away- Cedar Key is not Miami Beach- hire a boat go shelling fishing walking. A charming spot

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beedsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Bring a good book because there is no TV. The food is great in the dining room and the staff is very friendly. We wanted a ghostly experience and were quite pleased. We put on the dead bolt lock on our door and took a nap. When we woke, the door was unlocked and ajar. There were also occasions of smelling a burning odor and a feeling that we were not alone. Very interesting. The balcony with it's views, swing, and nice chairs is perfect for relaxing. It's a great place to go back in time with such history all around you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,614 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,305 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stopped for dinner just before the sunset and found the dining room nearly empty. The young waitress did her best to suggest specials and we settled on stuffed shrimp and fish of the day. We were offered our choice of seating and preferred to be at a window near the street. The dinner was served in a timely manner, it was hot and the wine we had ordered earlier was fine. Since it was Cedar Key we were not expecting a gourmet meal, but the chef did a good job and we had a leisurely dinner...no since rushing us when there are only seven people dining. The waitress came back twice to make sure we were satisfied and we chatted with her about the Island and a little about her. It turned out to be a very nice evening. Leaving the hotel you pass through a living room with leather chairs that look quite inviting. They have done a good job. We left and took pictures of the sunset at the end of town. A very nice, slow paced, evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Simple living and great location. Bar in the hotel or walking distance if you want. Excellent food as always. So nice to enjoy some coffee in the lobby with a book. Will be back again and again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
21.9 mi away
Nature Coast Inn
Nature Coast Inn
#1 of 2 in Inglis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
23.1 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Island Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 373 2nd St, P.O. Box 460, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5116
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Island Hotel And Restaurant
Island Cedar Key
Is Hotel Cedar Key
Island Hotel & Restaurant Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing