We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING GET AWAY IN QUAINT OLD FISHING TOWN IN HISTORIC HOTEL!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Cedar Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“RELAXING GET AWAY IN QUAINT OLD FISHING TOWN IN HISTORIC HOTEL!!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We always had visited the bar in this hotel with its colorful locals and guest but had never stayed in bed and breakfast type hotel before. I can not express how much we loved the hotel and Cedar Key in general!!!! The inn was built originally in 1859 or so as a general store and has had many changes through the years!! It has wooden walls, ceilings,and floors and some rooms have clawfoot tubs. There is a room in the middle of the top of the stairs to read, get on computer, visit with other guests. It feels like home!!! Homecooked breakfast every morning--either quiche, French toast, or scrambled eggs, homemade biscuit, and two pieces of bacon with choice of six juices!!! The dining room has a wonderful menu that had local oysters, clams,and fish and their soup of day is always good!!!! You can walk anywhere you want to go in Cedar Key!!! There is an old graveyard with old graves dating in the mid 1850's. They were a long line fishing town until it was banned so now they have clam farms and oyster beds. There is a shell mound from Indian days at edge of town. There are many talented artists with all types of crafts. The hotel has a porch that you can view water and sunrise and birds in the short distance!!! Take a trip off the beaten path it is worth it. Ohhhhh I almost forgot to mention that this hotel is rumored to have over ten ghosts!!! The locals say they have seen them. Do not let this scare you away. I am going back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: We actually slept in three different rooms and all were fine!!! ENJOY!##
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    49
    15
    9
    18
See reviews for
24
114
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
308 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Looking to get-away for a special weekend, look no further. The Island Hotel is one of those rare place that offer Old Florida ambiance and hospitality. Don't expect all the up to the minute perks, but they will have everything that you need to have that perfect weekend. They do have free Wi-Fi so you can stay connected if you absolutely need to, but that is not what Cedar Key is all about.
It also has a great, rustic bar. Escape from the ordinary.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance, request Kings for a comfortable sleep. No TV's in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I proposed to my wife here 13 yrs ago. I thought we go back to see the place and take my folks to celebrate my wife's birthday.

The inn still has that small town charm. I think it's a bit run down on the outside and could use a fresh coat of paint. The bar is quaint and the place to be. Lots eat dinner there instead of the main dining room. We had cocktails and Cedar Key clams before heading into the dining room.

We stayed in room 29, our original room. A king bed, good lord did that bed squeak!!! Every time I rolled over. The bed was comfortable tho. The shower was built for someone short. Both of us being almost 6 foot and over it was uncomfortable. I think next time we will stay in 34, the other king room.

Breakfast was limited but still good. Quiche or French toast both with bacon. Coffee and juice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flame6883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Historic building is so cool. Balcony is awesome. Happy I experienced it. Owners hate everyone, each other and owning this hotel. Rude. Aloof. Indifferent. Ruined our stay. $200 night. Plus bed was made of rocks. Won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wendystpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picayune, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel was built in the 1860s and in many ways it shows. On the other hand, everything was clean and the climate control was excellent, the bed the most comfortable I've slept in for years (including home), the linens crisp and clean and the towels very large and fluffy. The bar, though small was a delight and the food in the restaurant couldn't be better. We'd LOVE to go back for an even longer say than the two nights we had this time.

Room Tip: Every room is different, you can go to their website and select from pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatCW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

When we arrived at this hotel I had reserved I was not sure I wanted to stay here because it looked a little run down and the lady (who ended up being the owner) was not very friendly but we didn't see any other place that suited us so stayed. A hired worker was on duty by the time we checked in and she was VERY friendly and the stay was really nice. Loved the wrap around deck.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our first night in Cedar Key and we went here on recommendation from a family member. Service was not good. The server forgot to bring out my salad, did not bring out crackers or bread while waiting for our food and did not check back with us after taking our order until we were almost finished with our meal.

I had the crab bisque which was excellent and my husband had Shrimp, tile fish and scallops. His was good but the portions were kind of small for the price. The homemade crackers were EXCELLENT even though we had to ask for these. The bread was good too.

We would go here again...the crab bisque will bring me back again and again!

Room Tip: Clean and comfortable restaurant. Excellent Crab Bisque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funfunfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
23.1 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Island Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 373 2nd St, P.O. Box 460, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5116
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Island Hotel And Restaurant
Island Cedar Key
Is Hotel Cedar Key
Island Hotel & Restaurant Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing