We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Cedar Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique...”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is a remarkable throwback to days of yore. My wife and I did not stay at the hotel. We did eat in the bar and found it to be a delight! The decor is remarkable, the prices are fair and the atmosphere is GREAT! The artwork behind the bar is very cool. You have to experience this place. The coolest thing is that there are NO TVs in the establishment! The bartender and waitress were very friendly and efficient. The food was OK, but the experience was great! The whole hotel is what Florida must have been like in "the good old days". You must see the Island Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyEd216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    15
    9
    19
See reviews for
24
117
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We made reservations but came early because we wanted to have a drink in the Neptune Bar before dinner. The Island Hotel is an interesting historic building and the bar is small but has a lot of character and a cozy atmosphere. There was a man dressed in a captain's uniform behind the bar (we assume the bartender) who was writing something and looked up at us and then continued to write whatever it was. There was only one other couple at the bar at the time. The "captain" left the bar and after 10 minutes of waiting we just left and went into the dining room. The service there was friendly and attentive. We ordered the Clams Island Hotel entree and a bottle of wine. It was delicious. For dessert we had Key Lime pie and Chocolate pecan pie... both excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isa2win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times -- alone and also with friends. The inn is enchanting and comfortable. The owners and workers are very hospitable and friendly -- as well as the resident ghosts. I highly recommend a stay here to recharge your batteries. The lounge has several high-end beers on tap and the food in the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We always had visited the bar in this hotel with its colorful locals and guest but had never stayed in bed and breakfast type hotel before. I can not express how much we loved the hotel and Cedar Key in general!!!! The inn was built originally in 1859 or so as a general store and has had many changes through the years!! It has wooden walls, ceilings,and floors and some rooms have clawfoot tubs. There is a room in the middle of the top of the stairs to read, get on computer, visit with other guests. It feels like home!!! Homecooked breakfast every morning--either quiche, French toast, or scrambled eggs, homemade biscuit, and two pieces of bacon with choice of six juices!!! The dining room has a wonderful menu that had local oysters, clams,and fish and their soup of day is always good!!!! You can walk anywhere you want to go in Cedar Key!!! There is an old graveyard with old graves dating in the mid 1850's. They were a long line fishing town until it was banned so now they have clam farms and oyster beds. There is a shell mound from Indian days at edge of town. There are many talented artists with all types of crafts. The hotel has a porch that you can view water and sunrise and birds in the short distance!!! Take a trip off the beaten path it is worth it. Ohhhhh I almost forgot to mention that this hotel is rumored to have over ten ghosts!!! The locals say they have seen them. Do not let this scare you away. I am going back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: We actually slept in three different rooms and all were fine!!! ENJOY!##
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Looking to get-away for a special weekend, look no further. The Island Hotel is one of those rare place that offer Old Florida ambiance and hospitality. Don't expect all the up to the minute perks, but they will have everything that you need to have that perfect weekend. They do have free Wi-Fi so you can stay connected if you absolutely need to, but that is not what Cedar Key is all about.
It also has a great, rustic bar. Escape from the ordinary.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance, request Kings for a comfortable sleep. No TV's in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I proposed to my wife here 13 yrs ago. I thought we go back to see the place and take my folks to celebrate my wife's birthday.

The inn still has that small town charm. I think it's a bit run down on the outside and could use a fresh coat of paint. The bar is quaint and the place to be. Lots eat dinner there instead of the main dining room. We had cocktails and Cedar Key clams before heading into the dining room.

We stayed in room 29, our original room. A king bed, good lord did that bed squeak!!! Every time I rolled over. The bed was comfortable tho. The shower was built for someone short. Both of us being almost 6 foot and over it was uncomfortable. I think next time we will stay in 34, the other king room.

Breakfast was limited but still good. Quiche or French toast both with bacon. Coffee and juice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flame6883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Historic building is so cool. Balcony is awesome. Happy I experienced it. Owners hate everyone, each other and owning this hotel. Rude. Aloof. Indifferent. Ruined our stay. $200 night. Plus bed was made of rocks. Won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wendystpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Island Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 373 2nd St, P.O. Box 460, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5116
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Island Hotel And Restaurant
Island Cedar Key
Is Hotel Cedar Key
Island Hotel & Restaurant Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing