We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and more location...”
Review of Dockside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dockside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location, location and more location...”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have a lot to say about the Dockside Motel (not a hotel, folks...) and it is ALL GOOD. $59 Sunday -Thursday and only $30 bucks more on weekends. I read all the reviews and after calling and leaving messages for two days, I finally got Wolfe on the phone.
He is the caretaker of the Dockside and a cool German dude. I will break it down for you and give you the info I wanted and did not find on Trip advisor.
1) Call between 9a & noon, for your reservation.
2) Even numbered rooms are on the front side of building, facing the water & pier. Odd numbered rooms face water and the bridge.
3) Room #1 has windows all around and #2 (where we stayed) had the front corner. At night, even in June, we hoisted the windows open and the cross breeze was awesome.
4) I can see that the weekends the front side rooms would be louder due to traffic & music, but dang, if you are coming to Cedar Key and going to complain about music, stay home!
5) There are no coffee makers, toiletries etc...I saw another post about this and brought our Keurig, good idea.
6) Wolfe leaves the doors open so you can see all unoccupied rooms. If you don't like your assigned room, hey he will change it .
7) While the furnishings are dated, we didn't go to Cedar Key to hang in the room, we wanted to fish, eat well and have a view.
8) Pier is open 24/7, folks were catching Black Drum, sharks, channel cats off the pier.

We loved the Dockside for the location. On the weekends it is hard to park, so park you r ride and leave it. No body should be driving around anyway, the "strip" is walkable and has everything you need. I will write about this in another review.
So, great clean place, but do not expect maid service...in fact, bring your own stuff and you will be happy. (shampoo, extra towels, coffee maker if you need java immediately upon rising)

Room Tip: Even numbers face the street, odd face the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Recgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    43
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Callahan, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Dockside which is right across from the city dock. Got some good pictures of sunrise and the pelicans. The best part was Kens Keyside Diner next door. They have great food and old 50's theme.

Room Tip: Room eleven faces the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We found this gem by looking at TripAdvisor while driving into Florida, the reviews were great and we couldn't have been happier with our experience as well. We intended to stay only one night but the town was so neat that we added another night just so we could have time to explore the area. We had a room overlooking the fishing pier across the street, got to watch the fishermen at work. Great location and we just walked across the street for meals at the local restaurants. Also found Tony's restaurant just a short walk away with award winning clam chowder. We will definitely be back next spring!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tertia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Once again the Dockside Motel did not let us down..lovely clean friendly place to stay at very reasonable prices, great views of the Gulf and pier across the street..You can walk to shops, restaurants,beaches or do a boat trip from island to island..great location right across from one of the best fishing pier on the Gulf in FL. while we were there a man caught a 30lb drum..sheeps head ..also you can smoke or grill your fish right in back of dockside on a deck over looking the coastal water way..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beynons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great view of gulf and dock street. Nice room. Clean, decent bed, and mini fridge. Owner was nice and easy going on check out time. Parking was tricky, but you can walk Dock street because the hotel is in a central location. About $85 for weekend night, good price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We decided to detour to Cedar Key on our trip and arrived in town without a reservation. After reading many trip advisor reviews, we decided to ride around and look at the places available. We almost went to a hotel across from the city park and are glad we didn't. (There was a cat on the top of the counter of the office) a definite drawback for us! $83,00 night on Friday and Saturday nights, way less for Sunday through Thursday. No military discount and I couldn't find it on priceline.

We came around the circle to Dockside which is right across from the fishing pier. The hotel does not allow pets or smoking. This was a PLUS for us. However, no hair dryer, no shampoo and no coffee maker....there is a refrigerator and a microwave though. The manager, Wolf was very helpful and you can look at all available rooms before you pay.

The rooms are clean and the beds feel like the tempurpedic mattresses. We did not notice any odor's in the rooms but the check-in lobby did smell a LOT like carpet fresh. TV's are the older models but good enough. The rooms on the front side can be a bit noisy in the morning. We woke to the airboats leaving and heard folks talking beneath our window. The second night, we stayed in a room facing the back of the motel. The room on the end had two windows and you could hear music from one of the restaurants. We did not mind this since the TV drowned out the noise and we were up later than the music was playing.

Overall, no allergic reactions and no problems with any smells. We are both very sensitive to dust etc... The heat worked well too.

We would stay here again, pending tonight's experience with any noise.

Terrible breakfast this morning...I will post on restaurant review.

Room Tip: No Bells and Whistles, no coffee maker but CLEAN and COMFORTABLE and GREAT location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funfunfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself usually stay here during our visits to Cedar Key. We have always enjoyed staying with them, and this time was no different. Their rooms are nice and clean, the location is hard to beat, and we love being able to see the fishing pier and water from our room. The staff is friendly and always aim to please, and we love the laid back feel. We will be back for sure as we always have fun staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripboundfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
21.8 mi away
Nature Coast Inn
Nature Coast Inn
#1 of 2 in Inglis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
23.1 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Hotel

Property: Dockside Hotel
Address: Cedar Key, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Dockside Hotel Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing