We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dockside's only strengths are Location and Value”
Review of Dockside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dockside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dockside's only strengths are Location and Value”
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The sum of the Dockside Motel's location (waterfront) and a fair price for a room make this establishment a decent choice.
Problems encountered:
1. It may have just been while I was there but the office was closed with lights off the appx. 7 times I approached it during hours it should have been open...
2. I stayed in two different rooms, both which had filthy stained carpets but seemingly clean sheets and bathrooms. The aged furnishings were minimal but actually gave the room a nostalgic feel of days long gone...
This was my first stay at Dockside Motel and I paid $60/ night (weekday price at this time). I have stayed at NATURE'S LANDING twice in the last year for $100/night and it is MOST CERTAINLY worth an extra $40 if one's budget can comfortably afford it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Their_Grandmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    45
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Being this was our second visit to Cedar Key, my husband & I decided to give Dockside Motel a try. The motel being on Dock/Main Street & our room being on the ground floor, we were able to sit outside & enjoy the weather & people watch.
Room was a bit outdated from other places we have stayed at, but it was clean & the Managers were very accomodating & friendly. We had a great time talking with them.
It was a very enjoyable weekend, quiet, relaxing & fun. Not for families as there isn't much to do unless you rent a boat. Motel does not have a pool & parking can be a bit challenging during the day. There is a small beach area with a playground on the South end of the shop/restaurant area.
New Pier is beautiful, so much fun watching people fish (bring your fishing poles) & the stars later at night.
We will be back to visit again.

  • Liked — Main street access, large room w/microwave & refrigerator, clean & great Managers
  • Disliked — A bit outdated
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WittyGal4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed 3 nights in Cedar Key at the Dockside Motel. Room 2 was great--it overlooks water on two sides and we could literally watch dolphins jump in the water, as well as observe the final stages of the construction of the new dock across the street.
The room is not luxurious, but was clean, with quite adequate bathroom facilities, a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. Very casual, laid back atmosphere. Manager is helpful and accommodating. We parked our vehicle with kayaks in the marina parking lot and walked to the motel--also kept our bikes in the back. Easy walk to restaurants. If you're looking for luxury, you won't find it here, but for the price it can't be beat. We paid $55 nightly, plus tax.

  • Liked — Price, view, location
  • Disliked — Difficult to find an outlet where the coffee pot worked
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakbabe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

Should be called the "Dockside Condo Motel" since the rooms are not cleaned until you leave. You are asked to put the dirty towels and trash in the hallways for pickup.The rooms smell of smoke, are dirty and furniture is kind of nasty.

I thought I was booking a AAA rated motel. I am not sure if they really are AAA rated. They may have lost it at some point. There is a sign that has half of the AAA logo in front of the office.

I was also led to believe the motel was on a fishing pier that was opened. When I arrived there were big signs that said pier closed. I later learned the pier had been closed since 2004 and would maybe be rebuilt some time in 2008. So our fishing trip (and vacation) was sort of ruined.

We were promised a "feast" every evening by the manager of the motel who asked us what we wanted, fish, steak etc.... We were told that all we needed to do was to put $5-$10 in a can and food was around 6 pm. It never happened. Promise of an outside evening meal was, however, one reason we did decide to book this motel.

Also, we were promised wireless internet. It never worked the whole three days we were there.

We arrived late and asked that a cot be put in our room for our kids. When we arrived no cot, and no manager to be found. The second night we got the cot but had to wake up the manager for some sheets and pillow cases that were never delivered while we were out.

The host was very friendly and helpful and full of promises that never fully materialized. Although some of his advise was useful.
The office closes early at around 7 pm so don't expect anyone to tend to your problems until they open at 8 -9 am the next day.

Rooms have very thin curtains that do not block out the sun at all. In addition the curtains were falling down in various places (broken) So we woke up with the sunrise each day.

On the positive side, the room had a good view of the closed Jetty and gulf, the rate was slightly less than other hotels on the island and it had an excellent location for walking to restaurants etc..

Don't believe anything that is promised you by the manager since he talks a good game. They take all your money upfront when you check in so you cannot back out and have a 48 hour
cancellation policy. Usually a motel won't charge until you leave to make sure you were happy with it.

Bottom Line:
Dirty, smokey, motel in good location that operates as an efficiency condo not a motel. Stay somewhere else, there are much better places on the key for the money. My kids couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank PetkeeperJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2007

I just read a review on Cedar Key and apparently the guy is not from Florida or old Florida. My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Dockside which is located on the main drag of Cedar Key. The hotel is an older building, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Ask for Room #1 - lots of windows looking onto the water. The innkeeper was quite a character but a true sweetheart. Cedar Key is what old Florida is all about - friendly people, beautiful scenery and a laid-back atmosphere. If you love to fish, boat or kayak this is the place! We went out on a sunset cruise and got to see loads of dolphin folicking in the water. We ate oysters, clams and crab all weekend long. True, there's not much going on in Cedar Key, but if you want to find peace and quiet and enjoy the beauty of the outdoors, this is definitely your kind of place. My best description - total relaxation!! I'll definitely go back.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank nolte88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2006

We just got back from a two night stay at the Dockside Motel. The room was large and airy and very clean. There were quite a few shops within walking distance and four restaurants. The only thing that was a surprise was all rooms were on the second floor and no elevator. We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 February 2006

This was our first stay and our last stay all at the same time. Location is nice but that is about all that can be said. It is close to the police station so when they are called their response time is excellent.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
23.1 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Hotel

Property: Dockside Hotel
Address: Cedar Key, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Dockside Hotel Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing