We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a night or two”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in "The Loft". It was incredibly charming, huge suite and very clean. The views are wonderful and the room is strict non-smoking. The staff was helpful and seemed to enjoy working. Beds and pillows were comfortable. The negative is that our suite, The Loft, was located directly atop the first set of stairs, so it was a little noisey with people walking up and down. Unlike some of the other suites at Harbour Master, ours did not have a great place to sit outside and drink your coffee in the early morning without feeling open to all passer-bys. I would recommend going but plan on staying just a night or two as the hustle and bustle may be more than you would want on a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaraBiggsWheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

we stayed 4 days in the Castaways suite. 1st floor with direct water views. friends stayed in other suites and were impressed. relaxing, great views, right where the best activities, food and drinks are. beds are soft, but pillows need replacing. not a daily service place, unless you ask, but the staff is friendly and willing to please. very limited cell and internet on the island, and not in the rooms. may be a plus, as it was for us.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank scubapilotfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We will never understand why anyone would rate this as a 4 or 5 in their reviews, even 3 is a stretch. You have to go into their retail store to check-in. Not a problem but it goes downhill from there. A woman at the desk asked my name, took my credit card, but never welcomed us nor offered her name. I asked about parking and she responded "it's on the street". I imagine she would have never even mentioned parking if I hadn't brought it up. After paying, she had me follow her outside, walked about 20 feet, pointed to our room, handed me the key and walked away. How unfriendly and unwelcoming. No restaurant recommendations for breakfast or dinner and no attempt to familiarize us with the town. There was no offer to help with luggage, especially seeing as one may have to park hundreds of yards from the hotel. So keep in mind, if you need help with luggage it won't be offered. Clearly, their retail store full of "made in China" items is a higher priority over their hotel guests. This woman (she may have been the owner, but who knows) should learn that her guests at the hotel spend a larger amount of money than their retail customers and the hotel guests should have more importance. Their response to this review may be that we should have asked if we needed anything, but guests should not have to ask, it should be understood or at least offered.
We found parking at the end of the street and had to carry all our luggage (2 trips to the car) through the town, around pedestians, up a ramp, down the side of a building, through a closed gate to our room. We didn't dare move the car during our 2 days for fear we would never find a parking spot again. You can only park on one side of the street, except weekends where you can park on both sides. There are no parking lots, so the ONLY parking is on the street and there isn't much of it. You have to be careful because if you park on the opposite side of the street on weekdays and don't move your car, it may get towed.
The room was clean and large, but decorated with plastic flowers and cheesy cheap decor with a few religious items. A religious book standing up on the nightstand we put in a drawer so it wasn't staring us in the face during our stay. The view outside was amazing, but our deck had bird droppings all over the railings and anyone sitting at the 2 restaurants directly next door could look at us sitting on the deck. Not very private or romantic enough to enjoy a glass of wine. The 2 restaurants next door were loud as people go out onto the decks to smoke and you can hear them talking into the later hours of the night. One of the restaurants has live music at night and we could easily hear it as they left their doors to the deck open, the other is a restaurant with outdoor dining of which we heard a crying child. The blinds on the windows were horrible. They don't keep the light out and some of the slats were broken or missing making it a little uncomfortable to walk around at night with restaurants next door.
Around 11am the next morning, a housekeeper knocked on the door and asked us if we needed anything. We told her that we would be leaving in 15 minutes and she could come in to do housekeeping. When we returned after lunch our room was NEVER cleaned. All she did was leave a few clean towels on our unmade bed. She never took the dirty ones we left on the shower floor. No replacement of shampoo, soap or coffee. She never emptied the trash or made the bed.
Sadly, this place was very disappointing to us. It deserves a 4 for view and the location, as far as walking in town, and the cleanliness and size of the room. Everything else was unsatisfactory. These aren't "end of the world" complaints, but when you add them all up it is enough to make you think, "I won't book here again". The town is very small and we noticed there are other nice places to stay in town just as convenient for walking around with better parking. Because it was such an unfriendly place to stay, that we wouldn't recommend this place to friends nor stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wintertraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great place. Saw this on Florida on a Tankful and took my wife for her birthday. We stayed in the Sea Pearl suite and it was awesome. Really relaxing and chill. There's not much else to do in the area, but snuggle up and look at the water and that's exactly what we had in mind.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife and I came here for a romantic getaway and we where not disappointed. We stayed in Tropical Tranquility. The room was large and comfortable and the view of the Gulf was second to none. What you see on the website is what you get. I was able to fish off the balcony and caught quite a few black drum. The location is very good next to the dock and most of the restaurants and walking distance to Tony's Seafood a must while in town. The only complaint I would have is the people cleaning the room should go out on the balcony and wipe the bird droppings off the railing. I know there are a lot of birds hanging out but the railing looked like it had not been cleaned in months.
Not a lot going on in Cedar Key but if you like to fish or sit out by the ocean and relax with a beer or a cocktail then this is a great place to go. I am sure we will come back.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Look on their website. Not much of a beach if thats what you are looking for bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KK370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We come to Cedar Key often and have stayed in several different places. Flying into the Cedar Key airport is a fun private pilot destination. Judy is usually waiting for us to arrive, and drives us to where ever we stay in her taxi van. This was our first time at Harbor Master. We stayed with friends in the Sea Pearl room that has two bedrooms. Both rooms have king beds and were very comfortable, clean and quite in the bedrooms. I am not sure it would be quite in the busy season, and you have to like the music Steamers plays because it is right next door. The place is updated and attention to detail with the comfort of the guests in mind is evident. The owner was very nice as well as Nancy, who greeted us when we arrived. This place is right in the center of Cedar Key tourist area, so lots to do just outside your door.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoytieToytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Harbour Master Suites after reading the reviews here. What an amazing little place right on the water! The charming suites are large, immaculately clean and decorated with an eclectic vibe and artistic touches. But the best part of our suite was the view. Although we couldn't see the sunset from the Forget-Me-Not, our view of the sunrise was spectacular. We loved sitting on our private deck, drinking our morning coffee and watching the dolphins play just below us as the sun came up. There is also a dilapidated old dock next door that serves as a landing zone for dozens of pelicans and other seabirds. They were a treat to watch, too. I don't think there could be a better morning view than the one from this suite.

The quiet room has plenty of bright task lighting, a big comfortable bed and small couch, delightful toiletries and lots of windows to drink in the view when you aren't on the deck. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator and a microwave along side the coffee maker. So it's easy to make small snacks and keep your wine chilled. The only improvement would be room darkening shades over the glass insets in the two doors. The light from the antique street lamp in the courtyard makes the room bright at night. But all in all we enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: We liked having a room over the water for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites

Address: 390 Dock St, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Key
Price Range: £68 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The views from this southernmost locale in Cedar Key cannot be duplicated. A kaledidoscope of radiant sunrises and sunsets delight all those who choose to accept our hospitality. Screened porches and private balconies assure you of an idyllic haven in which to soothe and restore your soul. A courtyard garden surrounding a grand fountain adds to the ambiance of the experience. Nine individually-appointed accommodations will lure you to this premier location on Dock Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Key Harbour Master Hotel Cedar Key
Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing