We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and quaint.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were there for only one night. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It isn't your average hotel. It has an older charm about it. The rooms are decorated with antiques. We were there on a Monday and a lot of the restaurants and shops were closed and this is April. The whole key must shut down in the summer.. If we return to the key in season I would like to stay at this hotel again..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judyannnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Sunkissed Room. We only stayed one night and enjoyed it very much. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. They let us check in early at 1pm with no extra charge. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The room had a king-size bed, dresser, a loveseat, small dining table with 2 chairs, TV (wall mounted so you could see from loveseat or bed), small refrigerator, sink in the kitchen/efficiency area, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, cups, utensils, coffee & creamer, etc., iron & ironing board, and hair dryer in the bathroom. I have posted photos of the room and the view. The room shares a balcony/walkway with the other rooms on that level and there are chairs and tables on the balcony so you can sit outside. The only drawback is that when other guests are sitting on the balcony you can hear them too well and if we had been trying to sleep it would have been too loud. Fortunately those guests went inside at 9:30pm so it wasn't a problem. Parking is on the street or at the end of Dock Street is a parking lot. Just drop your luggage off before parking if you can't find a spot nearby. You probably won't need your car at all while you are there. You check in at the gift shop desk -- the Dilly Dally Galley. Fell in love with Cedar Key and are already planning our next trip back. :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We just got back from spending two nights in the Sea Pearl with friends. If you are looking for a place to get away from your daily routine and just take a break with good friends, this is the place. We had no problem with parking, nor did our friends. We parked right out front of the place, yes it is on the street, (a one way street) If there are not any spots available when you get there you can stop your car in front and unload and then later move your vehicle when a spot opens up. Really no big deal with parking. We left our vehicle there for the entire weekend with no problems.

The Sea Pearl does not disappoint! Very large bedrooms with comfy king beds, both have tv's, a large bathroom and kitchen and living room. A screen porch on the west side and a wrap around private porch on the east and west side. Really the best view of the water and town and it is all yours for the weekend. They did not come in and empty trash or anything but really for two days how much trash can you have? I actually prefer the privacy that they offer you. The staff was awesome accommodating a early check in at noon at no additional cost and allowed us to check out some of the other rooms the first morning when people were leaving. The ones we looked at appeared to be just as nice as the Sea Pearl, but I really don't think you can beat the views from the Sea Pearl, plus the privacy.

I would highly recommend this place if your staying in Cedar Key, it is right in the middle of everything.

Other things we did that I would suggest during your stay....

Don't miss out on trying the world famous clam chowder at Tony's. IT IS THE BEST!

Tidewaters Island Tour at Sunset... got wonderful sunset pictures!

Rent a Golf Cart for the day... such a great way to see the area.... Cedar Key Style!

We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

What a treat! We could not have asked for more than what we experienced at Harbour Master Suites! I was advised when making my reservation to book the Tropical Tranquility Room with views of the bay on two sides, and we could not have been happier!!! Right on Dock Street and only a step away from food and drink. If we go to Cedar Key again, we will certainly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: A room with a view would be ideal, but no doubt all of the rooms are nice!!! Nicely decorated and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in "The Loft". It was incredibly charming, huge suite and very clean. The views are wonderful and the room is strict non-smoking. The staff was helpful and seemed to enjoy working. Beds and pillows were comfortable. The negative is that our suite, The Loft, was located directly atop the first set of stairs, so it was a little noisey with people walking up and down. Unlike some of the other suites at Harbour Master, ours did not have a great place to sit outside and drink your coffee in the early morning without feeling open to all passer-bys. I would recommend going but plan on staying just a night or two as the hustle and bustle may be more than you would want on a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaraBiggsWheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

we stayed 4 days in the Castaways suite. 1st floor with direct water views. friends stayed in other suites and were impressed. relaxing, great views, right where the best activities, food and drinks are. beds are soft, but pillows need replacing. not a daily service place, unless you ask, but the staff is friendly and willing to please. very limited cell and internet on the island, and not in the rooms. may be a plus, as it was for us.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank scubapilotfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We will never understand why anyone would rate this as a 4 or 5 in their reviews, even 3 is a stretch. You have to go into their retail store to check-in. Not a problem but it goes downhill from there. A woman at the desk asked my name, took my credit card, but never welcomed us nor offered her name. I asked about parking and she responded "it's on the street". I imagine she would have never even mentioned parking if I hadn't brought it up. After paying, she had me follow her outside, walked about 20 feet, pointed to our room, handed me the key and walked away. How unfriendly and unwelcoming. No restaurant recommendations for breakfast or dinner and no attempt to familiarize us with the town. There was no offer to help with luggage, especially seeing as one may have to park hundreds of yards from the hotel. So keep in mind, if you need help with luggage it won't be offered. Clearly, their retail store full of "made in China" items is a higher priority over their hotel guests. This woman (she may have been the owner, but who knows) should learn that her guests at the hotel spend a larger amount of money than their retail customers and the hotel guests should have more importance. Their response to this review may be that we should have asked if we needed anything, but guests should not have to ask, it should be understood or at least offered.
We found parking at the end of the street and had to carry all our luggage (2 trips to the car) through the town, around pedestians, up a ramp, down the side of a building, through a closed gate to our room. We didn't dare move the car during our 2 days for fear we would never find a parking spot again. You can only park on one side of the street, except weekends where you can park on both sides. There are no parking lots, so the ONLY parking is on the street and there isn't much of it. You have to be careful because if you park on the opposite side of the street on weekdays and don't move your car, it may get towed.
The room was clean and large, but decorated with plastic flowers and cheesy cheap decor with a few religious items. A religious book standing up on the nightstand we put in a drawer so it wasn't staring us in the face during our stay. The view outside was amazing, but our deck had bird droppings all over the railings and anyone sitting at the 2 restaurants directly next door could look at us sitting on the deck. Not very private or romantic enough to enjoy a glass of wine. The 2 restaurants next door were loud as people go out onto the decks to smoke and you can hear them talking into the later hours of the night. One of the restaurants has live music at night and we could easily hear it as they left their doors to the deck open, the other is a restaurant with outdoor dining of which we heard a crying child. The blinds on the windows were horrible. They don't keep the light out and some of the slats were broken or missing making it a little uncomfortable to walk around at night with restaurants next door.
Around 11am the next morning, a housekeeper knocked on the door and asked us if we needed anything. We told her that we would be leaving in 15 minutes and she could come in to do housekeeping. When we returned after lunch our room was NEVER cleaned. All she did was leave a few clean towels on our unmade bed. She never took the dirty ones we left on the shower floor. No replacement of shampoo, soap or coffee. She never emptied the trash or made the bed.
Sadly, this place was very disappointing to us. It deserves a 4 for view and the location, as far as walking in town, and the cleanliness and size of the room. Everything else was unsatisfactory. These aren't "end of the world" complaints, but when you add them all up it is enough to make you think, "I won't book here again". The town is very small and we noticed there are other nice places to stay in town just as convenient for walking around with better parking. Because it was such an unfriendly place to stay, that we wouldn't recommend this place to friends nor stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wintertraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seahorse Landing
Seahorse Landing
#2 of 12 in Cedar Key
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#9 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites

Address: 390 Dock St, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Key
Price Range: £67 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The views from this southernmost locale in Cedar Key cannot be duplicated. A kaledidoscope of radiant sunrises and sunsets delight all those who choose to accept our hospitality. Screened porches and private balconies assure you of an idyllic haven in which to soothe and restore your soul. A courtyard garden surrounding a grand fountain adds to the ambiance of the experience. Nine individually-appointed accommodations will lure you to this premier location on Dock Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Key Harbour Master Hotel Cedar Key
Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing