We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low-Key Hideaway

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low-Key Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rimrock, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place is a little gem. You could not ask for a better location right on the water with a nice little pier for sunsets. We were only their two nights and could have done more easily. Rooms were clean and updated and owners were very friendly as were all other guest we met. Only problem I would mention would be wifi signal. Great place if your looking to decompress as is Cedar key.

Room Tip: Room 3 has no stove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    28
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
227
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

With 5 rooms & about as many RV Pads the owners work very hard to make their oasis a great Cedar Key destination.
Reception - This is a small Mom & Pop business & they are very well organized. If they can't greet you, they will have specific instructions ready when you arrive.
Cleanliness - Can't be beat, Anthony would be proud. No bugs, no mold, bedding is drama free.
Environment - There is the Tiki Bar, a bewildering eclectic marvel, 4 to 9pm ish. Even on busy weekends it gets quite by 10pm, Owner enforced, not a place for rambunctious young partners to continue their Cedar Key festivities into the evening.
Rooms - Microwave, quality coffee maker, full sized refrigerator, comfortable King sized bed. Small bathroom, Large people may be slightly challenged. Recommended local carry out & delivery food option printouts in each room (very helpful). Nice cross breeze keeps rooms comfortable. Four rooms have an okay semi-view of the flats, better if you venture out on their dock or enjoy from the Tiki Bar.
Pets - Young dogs tolerated, don't miss their bold print "Well behaved" warning on their web site. They reasonably enforce this. You are definitely expected to mind your pet for the sake of the other guests.
Price - We looked around, they are in there with other options to be considered if you you have an after 9pm appetite for socializing.
Access to town - About 1.3 miles, a bit of a hike on foot but some hardy soles do it, getting back on foot after a few gourmet beers at Black Dog (for instance) may leave you sober.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HowlerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place is great! The owners have done a wonderful job updating and making this five unit hotel a one of a kind place to stay. The rooms have kitchenettes that are well equipped with everything including some great coffee. Everything is very clean too! They keep several bicycles for their guests so it was fun to ride around the island and explore. It is also nice walk to get downtown or go to the market. Would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Great place!! Cindy and Pat are wonderful hosts. The Tiki Bar was really fun. There was a pot luck dinner for St Pats day. Lots of people were there. Very friendly. Loved it and can't say enough about it.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nana60newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

LOVE this place! The Tiki Bar at sunset is THE only place from which to watch the sunset in Cedar Key. Pat and Cindy rock. Really enjoy the locals who mingle with us tourists at sunset. The hotel is great, laid back, and the perfect place to come if you want to unplug. Just don't tell anyone, please! It is getting harder and harder to book a room here because everyone is finding this gem in Cedar Key!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Florida has so many stereotypes, it is hard sometimes to keep them all straight. Disney, strip malls and face eating weirdos can all be found in Florida as can the extremes of almost everything on the planet. So when I saw a sign on Route 19 that said Cedar Key, the way Florida used to be, I didn't quite believe it. So I looked around on the Internet. Hmmm, Cedar Key sounds intriguing. 702 year round residents -- 12 miles out off the mainland into the Gulf. But it can't really be like what is says, warm, friendly, scrub water and pine. Not many people; wide open Gulf views not blocked by homes, condos or hotels. Then I found the the Low Key Hideaway (LKH) website. Awesome video, and great ratings. Okay, we'll bite.

And so my husband went for three nights last weekend. It was the first time I have vacationed and all of my expectations were met. This is no quaint reconstruction of an old time Florida village, it is an old time Florida village, but still a working-- if not thriving, surviving -- clamming community. The people we met were all friendly and warm. The LKH is the coolest motel we have stayed at in either of our memories. We had delicious seafood at the Island Room and everything was uber affordable. The owners of the LKH were more than pet friendly and the Tiki Bar is quite a hopping place, every night that we were there.

Check out Cedar Key and the Low Key Hideaway, you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Since there are only 5 rooms, I would say any room is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaGirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

After the second Margarita in the fab Tikki bar it did feel reassuringly close by. We stayed at the Low-Key for just a couple of nights and loved it's friendly, laid back feel and were impressed by the keen environmental awareness of the owners. No5 was our room which was more than adequate, a large comfortable bed, full kitchen, tiny bathroom but a good shower and even an area to watch TV; which you would surely only do if the weather was really bad. Because the best part of Low-Key for us was the dock and stunning views beyond. We spent a good half day watching the hundreds of waders feeding as the tide receded, leaving a feast of mud and things! Lots of other birds around and nearly always at close view. We will be back and we will book before we leave Jersey to ensure we have more than two nights to enjoy more birdwatching off the dock. And of course a few more Margaritas

Room Tip: Low-Key is a mile from the main area, it took us about half an hour to walk, take a torch! or eat at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
1.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
1.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
23.5 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low-Key Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low-Key Hideaway

Property: Low-Key Hideaway
Address: 12050 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625-4796
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious king suites with patios overlooking the water. Tiki bar, relaxing hammocks and ample lounge areas along the water. A community weber grill is available to all guests. Watch the sunrise and set from your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low-Key Hideaway Hotel Cedar Key
Low-Key Hideaway Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing