We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!”
Review of Mermaids Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaids Landing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Mermaids Landing was perfect for our relaxed romantic weekend away from work and kids! Nine different cabins to choose from, very quiet, and low key. Within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. We'll definitely be returning again and again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

One reviewer wrote that it seemed like staying here was like being in Florida in the 1940s...that's the point! If you want 2014 style accommodations please don't stay here; if you want quaint, rustic, unique, cozy, etc. then this is your place! Cottage #4 is right on the bay with a deck and unbelievable views! Cottage #9 has the best kitchen for cooking and huge screened porch. You won't need your car as just about everything is within walking or biking distance...get some exercise and take in Cedar Key like it's meant to be: slowly...enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kpf1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Mermaid's Landing is right off the keys and a lovely little nesting of rustic cottages. Cathy is super nice and we had a fantastic time. This is not the Four Seasons; it's a quiet, relaxing escape from the day to day grind. The price is half what you'd pay at Fenimore Mill. It is a 5 minute drive to the Cedar Key waterfront/beach area. Had a blast!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 5. All cottages are close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatrinaOrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very outdated. You would think you are in FL in the 1940's. Electrical wires just hanging on the outside of cottage. Extremely small bathroom. Noisy wall air conditioning that barely kept up with cooling. Made it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clark3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a wonderful quaint little place that suites the area well. We stayed in #9 with a big back porch screened in, right iff the kitchen. Got some local seafood and just enjoyed the atmosphere, good weather and peace and quite.

I would recommend the Mermaids Landing to anyone wanting to get away from the hussle and bussle. Very clean, make you feel like your stepping back in time. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: #4 is right on the water, but #9 has a big screened in porch. All the rooms look great though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank letsgetaway56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We came into town on Friday September 20th for a business conference, so we basically needed a place to lay our heads for the night and through to the next evening. Mermaids Landing fit our budget and we got more than we expected. The owner was very nice and accommodating when we arrived later than we planned. The cottage had a full kitchen and a large screened patio. It's a shame we didn't get to stay longer and really enjoy the place...we were on business, but we will definitely be back for fun and a chance to explore Cedar Key a little more.

Room Tip: Like others have said, cottage 9 is great if you want to cook a meal or buy groceries to keep for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsrrmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Rode into town just too get away for a day...Check two other places coming no vacancies at either but was told to try Mermaids as our pray was answered 1 cabin left #9. It was clean and ready to go only negative was the A/C was at the head of the bed and noisy, was able to use the fan portion keeping it some what cool. All in all a nice place for a few days of peace and quite.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin #9 if you want to prepare you on meals, it has a full kitchen with screened back porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices

Been to Mermaids Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaids Landing

Property: Mermaids Landing
Address: 12685 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625-4793
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mermaids Landing Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing