We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible food/service”

The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cairo, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible food/service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was visiting friends in Lake City and we decided to go to Cedar Key for fresh seafood. We checked the menu and decided to eat at the Pickled Pelican. The food was overpriced and horrible. The shrimp was rubbery and my friend's calamari looked like whole baby squids. Our waitress basically threw our silverware on the table after we had to ask for it. Definitely would not recommend this restaurant to someone visiting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MARY BETH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    72
    35
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should've packed a lunch.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good view but less than mediocre food and service. Obviously frozen, out of a bag shrimp used for the shrimp po boy. Clams were good with flavorful sauce, but still hoped for more in regards to quality. Service was subpar and had to go inside to find waitress to get check after waiting for quite sometime without any attention. Could've prepared a better dinner myself and just brought it out to eat on the pier for the view. Won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barno78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Butler, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weirdest Salad I ever saw....”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Never saw a salad with peanut butter ice cream for a dressing, and didn't have the nerve to try it, but the patrons at the next table did, and allowed me to photograph it for posterity. Enjoyed the deck and communing with the birds while enjoying icy adult beverages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Dawg Friendly With A View”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

They get it. Brought water out for our dog as soon as we arrived. Good solid service. Prices are tolerable, offset by their spectacular view. Food is the same as any other place on Dock Street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HowlerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food with A View”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

It was little cooler than we'd hoped but we enjoyed eating outside. Our Server was pleasant AND courteous. The food was fine. The fried pickles however were Amazing! It was the view and being right on the ocean that made the whole eating experience great!

Helpful?
1 Thank ShayPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing