We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like peace and quiet This is the Place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Fenimore Mill Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you like peace and quiet This is the Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Last year we visited Cedar Key and The Old Fenimore Mill Condo and liked it so much we made a slightly longer repeat visit this past March.
We were welcomed and then left to our own devices. If we had questions helpful answers were given. Be warned there are no movie houses, the food market borders on minimal, however, it's good in a pinch as the closest good super market is approx 25 miles which makes one plan ahead.
There are three restaurants that come to mind. Next door 'The Island room at Cedar Cove' Tony's with his World (seriously Google it!) famous clam chowder and the Island Hotel which has gone off this year.
Seriously, if you are looking for a comfortable visit with views of the water. This is for you. Be aware the water is the color of tea. Color depends how much tanin comes down the Suwanee River which drains from the Okefanokee Swamp. The water is clean, clear and has a slight brown color.

Room Tip: The condos are walk up and the first floor of condos is on the second floor as the condos are on sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    23
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
38
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Have stayed in a lot of places along the gulf coast, but Cedar Key is special. We've been very pleased with two units at Fenimir Mills. This year we stayed in 2 D. The kitchen is really well equipped, with good numbers of glasswear, dishes, etc. Master bed is comfy. The unit even has a wine cooler, which we really appreciated. Nice tv, great adirondack chairs, gulf view to watch the dolphins frolic. If you are bringing kayaks this is also a good location, as you can paddle over to the islands or go back in the marsh/bay area easily. It was clean and ready for us to get into when we arrived. The last time we were here we stayed in the last unit on the marsh side, which was great for bird watching, but kind of a pain for the kayaks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed in unit 1C which was 2 BR 2 BA. We had a lovely view of the gulf from the balcony. Very spacious and nicely furnished (king bed, 2 twin beds, living room with large flat screen, dining table, kitchen appliances, washer/dryer). Walking distance to Dock Street. The only negative thing was that the code they gave us for the pool/hot tub did not work. Maybe they change it daily? Anyway, would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a month's visit to Old Fenimore Mill Condos. I had some reservations on reading the reviews but our experience at other hotels/ resorts has shown us to take the happy medium. I am SO glad we did. From the beginning, Bob, in the office,was so helpful suggesting condos to look at online and advising us on sorts of issues, which probably seemed quite trivial to him, but for us, coming from UK , were quite important. Our condo,3F Aqua Vista,was delightful. Overlooking the gulf, it was spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. We loved Cedar Key. It was quiet, peaceful and the residents very friendly and helpful. I would agree with a previous reviewer who suggests ones experience probably depends on which condo one rents, but 3F was excellent.My only minor criticism was that some condos are pet friendy and I was disappointed that several owners / guests did not leash their dogs and several times, failed to clean up after them.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We rented 10B as we were in town for the seafood festival. It faces the back bayou and not the bay but you can see many birds as the tide ebbs. The unit was clean but not luxury as advertised by any means. The sheet on the bed was torn in places. The TV was fuzzy and not a flat screen which my husband complained about. The TV in the bedroom did not have a remote to it. We made breakfast in the unit and realized there was no frying pan or griddle, just a very small cast iron pan. We called the rental office and they loaned us a small electric frying pan. Bring your own dish soap and sponge to wash dishes unless everything you use can go into the dishwasher....once again we went to the rental office to ask to buy some - no supermarkets on the key. The manager gave us some soap and a sponge in a glass. Suggestion to ask what exactly is going to be in the suite when you rent it to save yourself the hassle. Two flights of stairs to enter and leave so you need to consider this if you have special needs. All in all, this was an ok place to stay but would try somewhere else if we ever come back.

Room Tip: There are 10 units. Select the lower numbers if you would like to see the sun come up over the wate...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great place to be even if a storm blows in because of your views of the Gulf and back bays. Many beautiful birds to watch.

We rented from the on-site real estate manager. They were friendly and helpful.

Our unit (and many others) are dog friendly. Lots of places to walk your dog.

Walking distance to the restaurants and public beach. Check out the music on Fridays and sometimes Weds at the Island Hotel bar. Get there early, they fill up.

Local grocery is marginal. Stop on your way to bring in food as the closest real grocery store is about 40 miles.

Room Tip: Ask if your condo has wifi, some do and some don't. All units have incredible views. All unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaPho2grapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

After at least 5 vacations at Old Finimore Mill, my husband and I almost didn't go this year. We were concerned about the bad reviews Old Finimore received on this site. We thought perhaps it had changed management and/or become run-down. It was quite the opposite. Our condo (2A) was beautifully furnished, well equipped with linens, towels, kitchen essentials, etc. and above all VERY CLEAN. The swimming pool and grounds were also well maintained, and the management couldn't have been nicer. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing time there. I could ditto everything everyone else has already said about the beauty of the island, but for this review, I just wanted to make it clear that Old Finimore is still a great place to stay. Perhaps it's all about which condo you stay in, but we've never been disappointed.

Room Tip: The gulf view is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
21.7 mi away
Nature Coast Inn
Nature Coast Inn
#1 of 2 in Inglis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Fenimore Mill Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fenimore Mill Condos

Property: Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Address: P.O. Box 805, Cedar Key, FL 32625-0805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Hotel Cedar Key
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing