We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hit the jackpot with this one!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“We hit the jackpot with this one!!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My Brother & his wife joined us for a holiday in Florida and left the travel plans to me.
A local hotel in Cedar Key was full but referred us on to the Old Fenimore Mill.
From the onset I felt I received great service, first on the phone then by a followup e-mail from our host.
Our 2 bedroom 2 bath condo was fully equipped with all kitchen supplies, large TV and comfortable furniture. The most important thing was a balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and a piece of very quiet beach. There were chairs on the balcony where we spent the early evenings with drinks and nibbles. The place is fantastic.
Cedar Key is quaint and lovely, offering a series of different activities and the restaurants were wonderful.
We will certainly go back to the Old Fenimore Mill next year.

Room Tip: Choose a top room with a balcony overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    23
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We just spent our 2nd year at Cedar Key over Christmas in building 5 and were very satisfied with our experience! There was a mix up on room at checkin but everything got worked out! Condo was clean, and a well stocked kitchen, flat screen TV though we didn't turn it on, just enjoyed the radio and lovely views from our warm living room! Very nice and relaxing for the three nights! The condos are close by to town and yet very quiet! Will return once again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2runing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It's difficult to review any more than the unit that we stayed in because many are privately owned and are furnished differently etc....
However, my wife and I could not have asked for more. The place was beautiful, the location was as good as it gets, the staff was courtious and helpful, and the rates were incredible for what you get.
Granted it was "off-season" and 3 nights get one free....But that free night was the very reason that we searched no further. An entire home for the cost of a roadside hotel is about what it boiled down to.
I'm a complainer......I can't find anything to complain about with regard to our stay.

Thank you,
Dan
St. Augustine, FL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've been to Cedar Key many times since I attended The University of Florida back in the 80's. The times I've stayed in town have always been in smaller motels. This time we didn't make reservations and ended up at the Old Fenimore Mill. From the outside it looked nice and comfortable. Best of all, most of the units faced the Gulf. We settled on unit 5F.

The unit was on the third floor facing the gulf with a great view and a small white sand beach behind the building. From the spacious balcony with room for four chairs and a round table you can see Dog Island, the restaurants,the pier and Atsena Otie Key. Some of the furniture was a bit outdated, but it was very comfortable and spacious.

The master had a king bed and the other room had two twins. The bathrooms were very clean. The kitchen was stocked with all utensils, silverware,plates and glasses. There was a microwave and wifi available. The a/c was cold and worked well.

We took two kayaks on the roof of our SUV and since the buildings are on stilts,there was no problem fitting with more than enough room to spare. It was nice not having a hot car when the weekend was over.

The kids (16 & 14) and I thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Everything was within walking distance.

If you're looking to relax and get away from it all, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdvGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRADER M, General Manager at Old Fenimore Mill Condos, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We receive most of our visitors from word of mouth and reviews like yours. As you mentioned, Building 5 is in the center of the array of buildings and has a great, unobstructed view of the Gulf and off shore islands surrounding Cedar Key.I will share your comments with all of our personnel and we will all look forward to your next visit to Old Fenimore Mill in beautiful Cedar Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Old Fenimore Mill Condos for three nights and what could have been a wonderful stay turned out to be the worst experience. Location is fabulous, cleanliness is not. Grout in bathrooms was brown, as was caulk around toilets. Bedding was really bad with old stained pillows and mattresses that sagged in the middle. If you called anyone you could not leave a phone number to the unit because it isn't posted anywhere. Management didn't respond to any of our complaints and seemed to resent the intrusion into his office. Also we were switched at the last minute to a different unit than the one we wanted, with no explanation or apology. Never again.

Room Tip: Choose another condo complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bornbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have stayed at Old Fenimore Mills many times, but this was our last!!!!! We asked for buildings 8, 9, or 10. We were told we would be in 8D. Upon arrival we were given 3F, with no reason why or offer to change. Bob was rude on check in and check out! Our unit was not clean, the sheets, pillows, and towels were old and stained. All the ceiling fans had dirt hanging from them. Need I say more? We will not be staying here again and will no longer recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We made a reservation at the last minute. The office switched our unit without telling us until we got there. However, this was our first time, so I can't say we knew any different. Buildings 1-6 are gulf front with 1 closest to downtown. If you are going to mainly walk, which we did, bldg. 1 would have been better for us than 6. Unit was clean, not fancy at all, but fine for a 2 day stay. We also got the 3rd night free to use another time since we could not stay longer on this trip. This property is only one property away from a very nice park that has small beach area and roped off swimming area. The property itself has some very small, but lovely beach front sections. Beaches are not like east coast or St.Pete/Clearwater when it comes to sand, size or clear water, but were just fine for a romantic get away. The park also had a play area for kids. The property is also one of the closest to the very small, but quaint, downtown, restaurant, bar, dock area. This area began right next to the park. We were very pleased with this location and satisfied with the condo unit we ended up with.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Fenimore Mill Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fenimore Mill Condos

Property: Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Address: P.O. Box 805, Cedar Key, FL 32625-0805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Hotel Cedar Key
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing