We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, but good food and nice view”

The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove
Ranked #11 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good food and nice view”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Some of the menu items were way overpriced, but we enjoyed the food anyway. Swordfish Almondine preferred over the Grouper Piccata. Enjoyed looking out over the water and the servers were very pleasant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    73
    41
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice view of the water”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had heard that this was the best restaurant on the island and it did not disappoint. They were out of the first two wines we tried to order but that was a minor blip. The clams were delicious and the service was very good. Remember that you are in a very tiny town, population around 900...relax and enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mizjudypoody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Fl
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food in Cedar Key!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Simply amazing!! :) The special of the night was clam chowder and it was the best I've ever had in my life. It was even better than Tony's. My daughter and will be back for sure! It came recommended by our motel manager because it is owned by Chef's. That was so obvious when we tasted the food. It was truly a treat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and dancing porpoises”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were on the island for only three hours from north Atlanta. Not knowing where to eat, we asked a total stranger who had been vacationing there for a while. They told us that they were in the restaurant business, had tried several places and highly recommend The Island Room. They were definitely right. We were finishing up a ten day trip down the east coast of Florida and up the west coast. The meal was in the top three. I've never seen such a thick piece of grilled swordfish and wish they could ship their au gratin potatoes. Thanks for a very pleasant surprise for somewhere we knew nothing about.

Larry and Trudy
Roswell

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larryham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Key, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Atmosphere, Server was Great, Food was Delicious”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The restaurant had about 7 tables of patrons so it was pretty full for a Wednesday night. Our Server Callie was very knowledgeable about the Specials and an overall delightful waitress. Tim brought us our drinks and was very professional and courteous. Our food was delicious. I had a perfectly cooked steak with au croton potatoes and beets and perfectly cooked broccoli. My husband had the special which was Wahoo. He had not had Wahoo in years and was very pleased and finished everything on his plate. We had a nice relaxing meal and a beautiful water view. Can not wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FarawayInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing