We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Beach Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Front Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Rocky, the owner, will go out of his way to please. The room was clean, and the price was right. We would recommend getting a room facing the water. The motel is easy walking distance to bars and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarasota2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    63
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
99
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This motel is unique that you can see both the sunrise and sunset! The new owner is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The motel is pet friendly and has a nice pool overlooking the gulf.
We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMD1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, PA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I write this review on the morning of our first night while listening to the neighbor snoring. I am in the bathroom so as not to awaken my daughter and I could not hear him from the room proper. The location of this hotel on Cedar Key is lovely. Look at the map and photos. It is beautiful. There is no beach on Cedar Key, but I'll write my review of the Key somewhere else. Because it's kind of, well, weird.
This is a sweet Motel, not a hotel, so understand before you go, that distinct difference. That being said, the rooms are large. Get a room with a kitchenette. The manager told me that anyone staying 3 or 4 nights gets an automatic upgrade and it's really nice to have it. The floors are tiled. No comfy rugs but then again, no stinky rugs either. Bath towels are small, so if you plan on an outing bring your own towels on your trip. I just woke up the neighbor with my sneeze. Oh well.

I agree with the other reviewers, that the management is super nice and accommodating. The pool is clean, but cold during our stay. The pool area has seen better days. The stone pavers are impossible to walk on in bare feet. They are breaking apart.

There is little to no cell phone service on the key and no phones in the room, but wifi saved the day, and that's unlimited and free. The manager will let you use the office phone for local calls and receive important calls there. Which reminds me-I have to give my husband that number.

So try to find my review on Cedar Key! And enjoy if you make it here....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwennieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a gem, right on the ocean in Cedar Key. Very reasonably priced and the owner and staff are friendlier than most.
Easy walk to all the island hot spits.
We had to leave a day early due to bad weather coming in as we traveled in on bikes. The owner was nice enough to refund our money for that night. Where will you ever find that???
Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean front balcony 209 was good. The owner recommends the 2nd floor facing west for the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A great place to stay to enjoy Cedar Key! The views of the gulf and the amazing sunsets are spectacular. The staff is friendly and very helpful. An easy walk to downtown and the city park and beach make one's stay enjoyable. As a bonus for many vacationers, the motel is pet friendly, so your best friend is welcome as well, Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a west facing room to absorb and enjoy the amazing sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This motel is almost perfect - super friendly, helpful, enthusiastic owner and spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with the best location in Cedar Key. It's a short walk to shops and restaurants and has absolutely the best view of Cedar Key's celebrated sunsets. In addition, pets are accepted for a small fee. Some rooms even have full kitchens. I can't recommend the Beach Front Motel highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is very clean and the rooms are nice. The front desk manager is amazing! He is very helpful. The rooms are large and very nicely maintained. The pool are is a great place to hang out. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank attridge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.3 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
0.5 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
23.3 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Front Motel

Property: Beach Front Motel
Address: 873 1st St, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly (downstairs only)- All rooms with Ocean views - Balconies and Kitchenettes available - Largest Pool on the Island - Best Sunset Views - All rooms with Refrigerators/Microwave/Coffee Machines - Outdoor Grills and Picnic Tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Front Motel Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing