We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome view of the Gulf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Front Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome view of the Gulf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Cedar Key for the first time during the Memorial Day weekend and stayed at the Beach Front motel. Rocky was very friendly, affable, and super busy with everyone checking in for the weekend. When he showed us to our room and opened the door, we were immediately blown away with the view of the water and Cedar Key. The queen size bed was very comfortable with a nicely painted mural above the headboard. It was obvious the room might still be under renovation as the plumbing pipes for a sink in the bathroom were capped and sticking out of the wall next to the toilet. The sink and countertop was in the dressing area. Overall the room was very adequate as we did not spend much time in it. There is so much to do and see in Cedar Key!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    59
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
89
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel has a great view from many rooms, nice pool, and the owner is a fantastic guy who wants to make his guests happy. We arrived very late, staying only for one night because we were traveling around Florida to photograph different areas for a gallery in Miami. I would definitely stay here again. Quiet, pretty, and variety of room types. If you want the nicest rooms, get upstairs with a view of the Gulf/bay and/or pool. Looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor with a view. Especially if you like sunshine and seeing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Looking at the place you may think of how the colors are ugly (pink, purple and red) but when you find out why those colors were chosen, it takes on some charm. the new owners let their little girls each pick a color. I think it is pretty sweet. I got a room facing the water with a full kitchen. They have some rooms that are pet friendly. The one I was in was pet friendly. There was not a trace of dog smell. They are clean. and the kitchens have almost everything you need. The owners are very nice and said hi whenever they saw us. They even made sure that we liked the room. The room was spacious and they had free Wi-Fi. I will be going back in October to for the seafood festival. I may even bring the dog :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

On our recent trip to Cedar Key, we stayed with friends. However, we got a room at Beach Front Motel for our daughter and son-in-law, and they LOVED it. They were upstairs, and could see the ocean, which is across the street, out of both windows, and the pool out of one. I believe it may have new owners. My husband had reserved the room with his credit card, so when we went over to get the room for them, I was very impressed that the owner/employee opened the door for my husband, who walks with a cane. Our daughter and her husband were so taken with Cedar Key, the restaurants, the nature, etc., that they are going to go back with friends, and stay at Beach Front.

Room Tip: As I said, their room was upstairs, which offered them a wonderful view. They also have rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We reserved 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in room 203, with a king bed and balcony facing the west and the pool facing south. This room was on the second floor. The room had some basic condition issues and could use some upgrading. But the bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. It had a working refrigerator & microwave, small table and 2 padded chairs. The Wi-Fi worked well. My husband said the pool needs some work, but was clean and perfectly usable as well. We especially enjoyed the balcony with beautiful sunset views. Even though the motel was sold out, it was very quiet. The motel is pet friendly. There was adequate parking as well. Rocky was most helpful and attentive. He was always available if anything was needed. His housekeeper, Jenny, does a great job! I was able to see the room next door to us and it has been updated. It appears that rooms are being updated and the one we were in hasn't been done yet. The owner told us he has owned this property for about a year. All in all, while not perfect, I would recommend this hotel. My husband and I were please with the location and price for waterfront in Cedar Key.

Room Tip: pet rooms are downstairs only...get a room with a balcony to enjoy the breezes from the water and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rscumbie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

If the owner Rocky can't make you happy, you're impossible to please. He is the defintion of bend over backwards and went WAY out of his way to see that our every need was met. I stayed there a few years ago and the improvement under his ownership is vast. It's still the same motel but he is making leaps and bounds in customer satisfaction department. Our rooms were clean and neat and in better repair than I've ever seen it before. Will ABSOLUTELY stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozona, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

First off, the location of this waterfront motel is ideal, right on the Gulf of Mexico. Unfortunately, everything else needs work. We stayed here during a thunderstorm and wind and rain came into the room through the side of the window and beneath the door. There is no electrical outlet in the bathroom for a hair dryer or any other device. The towels are the size of wash cloths, so thin that light passes through them, so bring your own. There are new owners - for about a year now - so it must be considered a work in progress. Compared to other local accommodations, their prices are low, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMcBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
22.1 mi away
Nature Coast Inn
Nature Coast Inn
#1 of 2 in Inglis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
23.3 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices

Been to Beach Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Front Motel

Property: Beach Front Motel
Address: 873 1st St, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly (downstairs only)- All rooms with Ocean views - Balconies and Kitchenettes available - Largest Pool on the Island - Best Sunset Views - All rooms with Refrigerators/Microwave/Coffee Machines - Outdoor Grills and Picnic Tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Beach Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Front Motel Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing