We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Just returned from a week at Cedar Key. Our family of 4 stayed in cottage # 1. It was very clean and comfortable. The only thing I could possibly complain about would be the VERY small bathroom. The only bathroom is in the master bedroom and small doesn't even describe it. Otherwise, everything was very nice. We had 2 nice size bedrooms, a full kitchen with open living and dining area. The cottage also has a small covered porch with a dining table. The view is pretty at high tide, low tide is a muddy view. My husband and son enjoyed taking the canoe out around the bay fishing. Keep in mind, they are not kidding when they say tide dependent, wait too long and you will be stranded in mud. Also, make sure you have plenty of bug spray the sand gnats are terrible. Pet the orange kitty for us, he is a welcomed friend, wandering around to visit all the guest. Overall, we had a great time and would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ribbitt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2008

Lived in Florida most of my life, but had never been to Cedar Key.
This is what "The Real Florida" is like. and this place gives you a chance to enjoy it all. We were in #1 it had lots of room 2 bedrooms a nice kitchen/living/dining room and the bedrooms are nice. Bathroom was small that would be the only downfall.
I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dlstilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We stayed at Pirate's Cove over Thanksgiving weekend and couldn't have been happier! We live on a barrier island only accessible by boat and needed a "getaway" without a beach, a resort, and all the people who want to "getaway" to our island on holiday weekends. Cottage #7 had everything we could want - a comfortable bed, a full kitchen, a screened porch, a view of the bay and solitude.

We highly recommend Tony's Seafood on 2nd Street. They specialize in local seafood and the service and food were excellent. Robinson's Seafood, back Hwy 24 toward Inglis, has very reasonable lunches and dinners (all you can eat seafood specials for $9.95). If you want to cook your own or bring some home (as we did), they can provide you with fresh seafood and instructions on how to cook it.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank DonPedroTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

My husband and I have been going to Cedar Key for the last 6 years and have always stayed at Pirates Cove Cottages. We have always found them to be clean and neat and they are all decorated really cute. The owners, John and Donna, and their son Justin, have always been very nice and always accommodating. It is great place to go to to just relax and kick back. Cedar Key is an awesome little town with alot of history. It is fun to just bike around (which are free to use at Pirates Cove) and check out the town. There is not one single traffic light!! We have never had a bad time in Cedar Key and will continue to return to Pirates Cove. Check it out for a good time!!

Joe & Theresa--Sarasota, FL

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joev65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2007

The new owners are so different from the old owners. be very cautious!!!
The view was great but the cabins needed paint and fixing up, we didn't mind that much. The new owners were very miserly with the hot water for showering and washing the dishes. They smiled at you when you asked for hot water but never delivered . We stayed 4 weeks at the begining it was okay as we were tired from work . The last two weeks got progressively bad till the last 4 days we could not get any hot water for showers. We asked politely but were ignored again.The credit card incident happened the the last day .My wife paid ,I didn't know but the owner knew and let me pay double . We did not find out till we talked about it a few days later ,we called the new owner to no avail ,he refused to refund my card about $2,500. He made up a cock and bull story for visa. While we stayed there he told me that he use to own a used car lot .ENOUGH SAID!!! BE CAREFUL IF YOU GO THERE.... Mr.&Mrs.S


Stayed: January 2005
18  Thank georgesbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Pirates Cove has a great view of the water and good location. The bright green grass and the cute little cottages caught my eye from the moment we came to Cedar Key. When we pulled up we were immediately greeted by Billy Bolegs, the motels cat. Very friendly. After talking with the owners son, he showed us our cottage and helped us unload our car. Our stay was very pleasant. we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lauraliz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Palm Harbor, Fl
110
Reviewed 21 June 2005

We loved the place with the free use of a canoe. Had a tree swing out the back porch and a little fishing pier. Very accomodating however they need to get new bicycles or better maintain the ones they have for guests. We enjoyed our stay, until the a/c went out, but mgmt was very good about getting us a replacement room next door at the Mermaids Den. we would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seahorse Landing
Seahorse Landing
#2 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
0.6 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#9 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages

Address: 13633 State Rd 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range: £32 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages Hotel Cedar Key
Pirates Cove Bayside Hotel
Pirates Cove Bayside Motel
Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages Cedar Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing