We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent chowder, cheerful service.”

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: PLEASE NOTE: Seasonal Restaurant Hours: October- November 2016 Monday thru Thursday 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM ( NOT OPEN FOR DINNER) Friday thru Sunday 11:00 AM -8:00 PM Please call ahead to verify hours before making long drives from far away.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent chowder, cheerful service.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We actually ate at Tony's based on a TripAdvisor rating of 5 stars. It didn't disappoint us! Lunch is affordable (between $7 and $15 for sandwiches and platters). We thought the dinner prices were a bit steep, but then again, you are getting some pretty fresh seafood and large portions. We definitely came to try the clam chowder, which was heavenly. It's a big deal, people. Also had a blackened grouper sandwich, which was very good. The only negative thing about experience was that we arrived on a Saturday at about 11:30am and they only had the small dining room upfront available. We were quoted 20 minutes, came back and they said it would be 15 more minutes. The rest of the restaurant was closed off because they only had 2 waitresses working. Stuff happens, I guess. There were plenty of fun things to do while we waited. We went to the Historical Museum next door and the kids also had fun playing down by the water and collecting mussels. Later that weekend, we ended up in a restaurant in Dunnellon, FL, which also served Tony's Clam Chowder! We ordered it again. It's that good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookwormblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    371
    133
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spicy but delicious”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I wasn't ready for my first bite of chowder. Definitely original. It's Cedar Key style. Far cry from New England and Manhattan. This is a MUST try!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpertler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Clam Chowder!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our first stop in Cedar Key was at Tony's for the clam chowder he is known for. We were not disappointed. It was creamy and delicious with an unexpected bite at the end of each spoonful.Tons of tender clams and spiced just right. We also tried a salad with grilled shrimp and a shrimp po-boy, both very tasty. In my opinion, the serving sizes could have been a bit more generous for the price, but the next person might not agree. At any rate, we enjoyed the food!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgalvin106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Clam chowder is as good as advertised”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The clam chowder was amazing. The waitstaff was friendly. We sat by the window and unfortunately had flies buzzing around us. Other than that, a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Tony's has excellent clam chowder. Seems like they're kind of famous for it. You may be able to find a can or two at Publix.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TampaDan33602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed. Thank you so much. I do appreciate the visit and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing