We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation - Check in disasters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Celebration
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Arrived at 10.30am, check in is suppossed to be 4pm. So you could almost think a room would be ready by 4?. Not so, the room that we organised at 10.30 was still not cleaned by 5pm.

The reception and bell staff very pleasant but it was like this hotel just opened today for the first time, way under staffed. Eventually got a room, upgraded at least to pool views, but bags did not follow, I had to go downstairs 30 minutes later and pick them up myself, TWICE (4 big bags ).

The bag we had put in the the hotel fridge went missing until 8.30pm, with my wifes medication!

I just checked with Expedia online and now the same room is offered at around $140 plus a $25voucher. We paid well in advance to save, and paid over $200 for the same room. Makes you feel like you have been screwed over somewhat....

The hallways were cluttered with bags of sheets and towels from the cleaners, carpets dirty, and bell boys well overcome with a mass influx of work. Reception was lacking in staff as 2 people on front counter were available, but this was not enough at many stages throughout the day. Pleasant attitude, but overwhelmed.

This is day 1, I can only hope things get better. We just came from Marroitts Grande Vista, so expectations were high, but this hotel is lacking in service standards.

Room Tip: Pool view is much better but pointless if you are never home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Heasto,

Thank you for your review of your stay here with us at the Melia Orlando. We pride ourselves on our service excellence, and I am disheartened to hear we have not met your expectation. I would appreciate if you would message me or please e-mail our guest relations manager privately so we may find out more details about your stay to ensure quality assurance and that the proper follow up is done. I apologize on behalf of the hotel you had anything less than an outstanding stay, and I look forward to corresponding with you more shortly.

All the best,
Jetse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Once we finally got the correct Family Suite room (w/pool view), things went much better. House cleaning had inconsistent hours. The pull out couch was terribly uncomfortable. There was no complimentary coffee in the front lobby. There was no on-site exercise room. The pool was not a heated pool but there was a nice jaccuzzi. There was no free water, pool side. We just expected so much more from the Melia's typical standard of excellence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank MCFernandez12161223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Ryco,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Melia! I am glad we were able to accommodate your request for a pool view family suite, and I do hope you enjoyed the room. In the pursuit of service excellence and outstanding guest service, I would like to request that you message me privately with your room number so we may look into the issue with the sink handle. Once again thank you very much for staying with us, and we hope you had a wonderful holiday!

Jetse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We reserved a suite with two queen sized bedrooms and two baths. We were there for three nights and rooms were cleaned and made up well with a nice view of an inner courtyard with a large pool. There was only one hair dryer in the suite which was a bit awkward in the mornings but we made do. It was obviously not a new hotel as the handle to the faucet in our bathroom kept falling off so on our last day, we left it off so maybe they will fix it for the next guests. All in all, we would stay there again as it was quite comfortable and an easy drive to the Disney Parks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We have had such an amazing experience here. The rooms are amazing; and oh my gosh the staff makes this place. From the amazing food to the free van to some of the shops.....totally worth the stay. Did I mention the staff; I wish I could take this place wherever I vacay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The rooms are beautiful and the service is outstanding. The pool area is wonderful and the bar employees are very friendly. Room service was good. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spa like~!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is my first time to stay at the Hotel, Though I have stayed in some great Melia hotels. This hotel is Melia only in name.

The primary reason for booking was the great location between Celebration and Disney.

At reception, I was charged a compulsory $15 resort fee for services I did not want. No prior notice. This is fairly dishonest. Compulsory hotel levied fees should be included in the rate, or at the very least advised in advance not at check in.

The hotel has very bizarre decor, a real mix of good quality and terrible quality, modern and traditional. A real jumble.

The room was not clean.

Bottom line for me, we had 2 young children and the room was full of dangers for young children.
Kids beds are very high.
All the chest of drawers have sharp metal handles that stick out.
The beds have sharp wooden edges that stick out 8" from the bed.
The distance between the chest of drawers and the bed is narrow.

I was pretty surprised that the Family Suite was so child unfriendly.

Not advisable for families with young children, there are sharp edges everywhere.

We could put up with it for one night, had this been a longer trip we would have checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevieG807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear StevieG,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry your experience was anything less than excellent. I want to assure you, the concerns you have raised are currently being investigated by our Housekeeping and Engineering departments. We have attempted to make our resort fee as visible as possible to our guests before booking, but I can understand your frustration when this was not what you were expecting. I do hope you enjoyed your time in Orlando, and I wish you safe travels. Please feel free to contact me directly, should you decide to return to Orlando.

All the best,
Jetse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Let's just say, when you see the website of how nice the rooms are and how low the price is you would think its to good to be true! Meliá offers the best services and rooms for a great rate! Gotta go!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Precious C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Precious C,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We hope you enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed having you! From the tapas in Fuego Restaurant to the live entertainers throughout the week, you know you'll always have a home to come back to here in Orlando.

Best Regards,
Jetse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celebration
1 mi away
Bohemian Hotel Celebration, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
1.7 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Kissimmee/Celebration
3.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#91 of 340 in Orlando
3,477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration

Address: 225 Celebration Pl, Celebration, FL 34747-4601 (Formerly Mona Lisa Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Celebration
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Celebration
Price Range: £66 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury & Location fuse together at Melia Orlando ALL-Suite Hotel, a Walt Disney World Good Neighbor(R) Hotel. The hotel is an oasis located in one of Forbes Magazine's Top Ten "Prettiest Neighborhoods" while being close to the magic of Orlando. Melia Orlando Hotel at Celebration is a luxury all-suite hotel featuring 240 spacious one and two-bedroom suites, complete with sleek designer kitchens, beds with Egyptian cotton linens, LCD flat screen TVs, and balconies overlooking our vanishing-edge pool or Florida landscape. The property is centrally located in the award-winning village of Celebration and minutes from the gates of the Walt Disney World(R) theme parks. With transportation to Celebration Town Center and all major area theme parks, location is as extraordinary as the personalized service and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mona Lisa Suite Celebration
Hotel Mona Lisa Suite
Melia Orlando Suite Hotel At Celebration Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing