We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Celebration
Celebration
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great property, poor management”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Review 1/1/14
The hotel staff seems friendly enough and professional but perhaps to professional to understand that they are dealing with people. If you show up before check in time at 4:00pm don't expect for them to give you your room early. There were many people waiting for rooms, but of course their restaurant was open so you were able to eat and drop some unexpected cash at the hotel. I explained we had reservations at a theme park restaurant at 4:00pm but it fell on deaf ears. I often wonder if it's just a way to increase revenue for the restaurant, of course it is! The staff doesn't seem to accommodating towards this issue and a lesson in understanding and friendliness could go a long way.
The lobby only has four chairs and several people were standing waiting on rooms for hours.
Read the fine print, there is a $15.00 per night resort fee, for what I don't know . I know many hotels have resorted to this extortion technique to get more revenue, but I don't like it. Guess they are learning from the airlines.
As you can see my stay started out on a bad note, which makes me already not to want give this hotel a good review, or recommend it to anyone. Starting things out with stress isn't my idea of a good time.
The first day the room was good, second day there were no shower mats, third day there were no shower mats or wash cloths. Guest were not allowed to use the cart to take items to their rooms. Be prepared to carry stuff a long way. Didn't use any amenities but charged $15 per night. Not even the newspaper which was listed as one of the items. Great hotel, bad management.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
5 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Ronald S

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Melia. We value our clients feedback very much and take into consideration all comments that our valued clients leave for us. I apologize that your experience with us was anything shy of outstanding. We regret any delay in getting you to your room and I can assure you, our housekeeping team was working diligently to ensure that the busy holiday period had rooms being cleaned in a timely and efficient manner. I do want to emphasize that our level of service is higher than what you experienced, and if you would like, please kindly e-mail our customer service inbox to speak with our guest relations manager further on this matter.

Best Regards,
Jetse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    732
    328
    150
    95
See reviews for
1,250
409
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The huge family suite with full kitchen was a tremendous value for our Disney trip. We had plenty of space to relax between park visits and saved a fortune making our own healthy meals in the hotel room. The water pressure was great in the stand-alone shower (which I was concerned about due to other on-line reviews). The rooms show a bit of wear and tear but they were clean and well-maintained. The hotel pool was great for the kids and the health club across the street was AMAZING for our adult workouts. Overall this hotel was a great value and we will definitely be back for a future stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Eliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Eliana S

Thank you so much for your review of the Melia Orlando Hotel. We appreciate our clients' opinions and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You can count on us to provide you with your home away from home. Safe travels!

Best Regards,
Jetse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We paid $180 per night for an uncomfortable bed. Dirty carpets and dirty bathroom floor. The free breakfast is a coffee, croissant and juice. I have been traveling to Orlando at least 3 times each year for the past 14 years and this has been my worst experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
5 Thank Pilar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Pilar P,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Melia. I do hope you enjoyed your holiday period and have made your way back home or on to your next destination safely. After reading through your comments as well as your customer feedback survey, I would like to look further into your account to find and improve the areas in which you felt there was a lapse in service. I know our Guest Experience Manager had reached out to you to seek to better understand these details, as we are constantly working towards improving our product and our overall experience. I would appreciate if you could please e-mail us back at melia.orlando@melia.com so we may gather more details.

Thank you,

Jetse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoyed having a large suite for our family--in this regard the Melia offers something quite unique in Orlando. We thought overall it was good value for the money. For a lower cost/economy hotel it was quite clean and attractive looking. The ony real downside was the housekeeping. When we arrived the cupboards still contained the leavings of the last guests' food--some stale Crispy Creme donuts, two miniature bottles of Jaggermeister and some Alka Seltzer--one can only imagine the good times they had! The kitchen was also poorly stocked on the first night. Our family of four had to share three cereal bowls and two plates. The next day the dishes had all been replaced, which was positive but they took away some of the implements including the hotel-supplied wine opener plus our own, rather expensive one that we had left in the drawer. We called down to the desk to complain and it took 40 minutes and two phonecalls for them to send up a cheap opener. We were promised that someone would get back to us about our own opener that had been removed from the room but that never happened.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for initially 1 week in December 13, it's a fantastic hotel close to the lovely are of celebration, we checked out after 7 days and went to the Hard rock hotel where we only lasted 2 days as it wasn't a patch on the Melia and we checked back in here.

This hotel will DEFIANTLY be our 1st choice when we return to Florida. 5* in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Maltytravel,

Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here. Our team thrives on providing outstanding experiences and comments like yours reinforce that we are on the right path. Thank you once again, and we look forward to you returning soon!

All the best,
Jetse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just stayed at the melia Orlando for a family vacation over the New Years week. Our room was not ready at check-in and was not ready until 7:00pm. The receptionist was overtired slow and seemed irritated. When we finally got to our room there was dirty laundry(dirty socks) on the floor in one of the rooms. It took us 45 minutes to get our luggage from baggage check. Everyday the room was poorly serviced, kitchen was not ever cleaned and short on towels. The hotel seemed understaffed and entire staff was irritated and disgruntled. On our last day a necklace I left on the nightstand was stolen while the room was serviced. You shouldn't have to worry about your things being stolen from your room.The hotel management refused to take responsibility and referred me to their insurance company who also told me I had to prove that the necklace was stolen. They also discouraged me from calling the police. Outrageous!!!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and is definitely not a 4 star hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 847cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JetseP, General Manager at Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
On behalf of the entire Melia Orlando Suite Hotel team, we appreciate you sharing your concerns and I am disheartened to hear your stay was anything short of outstanding. Both our hotel report of the incident as well as our Insurance company are still handling this as an open claim, and we are working towards finding a resolution. We hope that in the meantime, you feel free to contact us directly at the hotel at melia.orlando@melia.com should you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Jetse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Melia is a real change of pace from typical national brand hotels. I was told that Melia is a large hotel brand in Spain with just three properties in the U.S. Suites were spacious, kitchens full sized, and the pool was most welcoming. Celebration Place, where The Melia is located, has that all-too-perfect Disney feel, with mysterious unlabeled buildings nearby that make one think "what's inside"? At nearby Celebration Hospital, (with its valet parking!), you will find tree lined boulevards that are perfect for morning or evening walks.

The service at The Melia is first-rate. Any request is addressed within minutes. Amenities are modest in scope for a resort--there is a restaurant, bar, and pool. Laundry facilities are complimentary. My main takeaway is that management needs to perform a careful walk-through of every suite on the property to make sure it meets the needs of the traveller upon arrival. Our suite (129) had a broken pull out sofa, with a well worn and stained mattress that consisted mostly of springs. The table settings were incomplete, the internet modem in the closet was malfunctioning, and we lacked bedding for the sofa bed. Attention to these details, in advance, would make every stay at The Melia an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celebration
3.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando Suites & Villas
1.7 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.0 mi away
Bohemian Hotel Celebration, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
5.2 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration

Property: Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration
Address: 225 Celebration Pl, Celebration, FL 34747-4601 (Formerly Mona Lisa Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Celebration
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Celebration
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury & Location fuse together at Melia Orlando ALL-Suite Hotel, a Walt Disney World Good Neighbor(R) Hotel. The hotel is an oasis located in one of Forbes Magazine's Top Ten "Prettiest Neighborhoods" while being close to the magic of Orlando. Melia Orlando Hotel at Celebration is a luxury all-suite hotel featuring 240 spacious one and two-bedroom suites, complete with sleek designer kitchens, beds with Egyptian cotton linens, LCD flat screen TVs, and balconies overlooking our vanishing-edge pool or Florida landscape. The property is centrally located in the award-winning village of Celebration and minutes from the gates of the Walt Disney World(R) theme parks. With transportation to Celebration Town Center and all major area theme parks, location is as extraordinary as the personalized service and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelUp, Melia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mona Lisa Suite Celebration
Hotel Mona Lisa Suite
Melia Orlando Suite Hotel At Celebration Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing