We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Yes! Yes!”
Review of Smallwood Store

Smallwood Store
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
All Day Everglades Tour with Airboat and Big Cypress Preserve and Everglades...
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Chokoloskee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: *Est in 1906 The Smallwood Store is now a museum open 7 days a week. At the Historic Smallwood Store you will learn the story of the pioneers who tamed this vast wilderness also known as "Florida's Last Frontier". Learn about the Calusa Indians and later the Seminole and Miccousukee Tribes that traded at the Trading Post. Visit the Tigertail gift shop located inside the Smallwood Store Museum. You will find books & DVD's related to Southwest Florida History, authentic Seminole crafts & carvings, artwork & photography from local artist, alligator heads, t-shirts and much more.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yes! Yes! Yes!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here after lunch in Everglade City and we knew we were about to step back in time a little but we went way back! If you are one who enjoys and appreciates historical sites, information, and artifacts then you will love this place! If you dont, then it will be a somewhat boring stop for you. I, however, do love places like that and the Smallwood Store was GREAT! Beware, there is no air conditioning. If you mention it, Gary will be happy to explain that there was no AC in 1906 when Ted Smallwood started the store. This place has tons of history and Gary is full of information. Could listen to him for hours. There are many original goods that were sold in the store, tons of tools, handmade goods, and room settings to show how things were there in the early 1900's.

Definitely worth a stop. Will return and would certainly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Justin S. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    74
    24
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“History”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This little trading post is like stepping back into time. The family has done an excellent job. I really enjoyed this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit Soon”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a museum that is an old store sealed in time. There is a very real danger that a developer will block access soon, so visit now while you can. A real piece of old Cracker history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Expl0rer_D0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Make sure you visit when you are in the Everglades”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Smallwood Stores is an amazing time capsule of a place, at Chokoloskee near Everglades City. It has Totch's canoe outside, and inside is like stepping back in time to the trading post it once was, with original bottles of potions and whatever on the shelves, loads of old things to see and Jim, who was running the museum when we were there is full of stories and history and a great guy to talk to. Make sure you have a good look - there are things in every nook and cranny. It's only $5pp (young kids are free) and so we were happy to make a small donation (it's not requested at all, in fate I had to search for the donation bottle) to help keep it going. It's a great place to look around - for young and old.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mummy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
863 reviews
509 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Fascinating, but no air conditioning”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The museum is laid out as it was when it was a trading post. There is so much to see and a lot of information about the people who settled in that area. There is also a video to watch. It is fascinating, but it was very hot and so I found it difficult to take it all in. You have to admire the people who settled there and existed with the heat, the rains, the hurricanes and the bugs without the benefits of modern comforts.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smallwood Store also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Ochopee, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Smallwood Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing