We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Wine Bar and Bistro

Clearwater Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #118 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Mexican, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Where Mediterranean meets Mexican with an explosion of bold fresh flavors! Wine Bar, Bistro & Retail Bottle Shop with an Eclectic Mediterranean/Mexican Menu - Gourmet Mexican Specialties, Delicious Flat-bread Pizzas & Pasta, Homemade Soups, Sandwiches, Salads & Desserts Wine Spectator Award Winning List Features 50 Wines by the Glass & 200 Bottle Selections from Around the World 8 Craft Brews on Tap & 20 Premium Bottled Beers & Best Sangria on the Beach! Live music in our beautiful green courtyard! Pet-Friendly Patio
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

On first view it mostly looks like a wine bar but the food, although a pretty simple menu is really well done. There isn't a lot of seating inside with most of it being at the bar. Plenty of seating outside though. The menu is a combination of mexican and italian inspired dishes which sounds like a slightly odd combo but it works. We started with some great bruschetta and I had the antipasto pizza. They use flatbread which makes them super thin and crispy which is exactly the way I like them, if you prefer some of the big tick doughy bases that some places do then it's not the place for you. My son had the spicy mexican burrito bowl and wife had chicken enchilada both of which were great. Has an excellent, extensive and reasonably priced wine list too so great just for a drink and snacks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodletmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Over priced, not that good and service was attitudinal. They got our pizza order wrong and acted as if we were at fault (as in "that' what you ordered") and then got an attitude. Wouldn't go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila Area
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very fun, cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were walking back from dinner at another location and happened to see a guy playing acoustic guitar outside. It sounded really good, so we decided to stop for a listen.

This place is pretty neat. They have a small indoor area, but the neat part is the outdoor courtyard / patio area out front that is dog friendly. The thing I noticed was that even though we were outside, it didn't seem too hot because of the shade. We sat outside and had a few drinks and met some folks who had their dogs with them. Real nice people.
.

They were eating light meals, salad and flat bread pizza I believe and I am not sure how it tasted, but it looked delicious. Given that we just ate, we stuck to a few drinks and conversation.
The service was great. Our waitress took great care of us. The prices were very good also. We each had a few domestic beers at happy hour prices and I think the bill was all of 10 dollars. And we got to listen to great music too.

I would definitely like to return for a full meal in the future!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Potential, Potential, Potential - Will Try Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

In all fairness we stopped by on a rainy Wednesday night where few patrons were around (we became the only ones in the place once a couple left about 30 minutes into our stay).

I love the idea of this place even though it's across the street from the Gulf side. They have put some careful thought into the set up, design, menu, wine list, and now I feel they need to fine tune the team.

The cheese plate we enjoyed was exceptional - except for one sharp cheese that neither of us cared for but that is solely due to personal preference and not to the menu item itself. Here is the menu description: white cheddar, double-crème blue brie, pecorino romano& manchego cheese served w/ fruit, nuts, herb-infused olive oil & house-made toasted rosemary focaccia bread

I feel that it was too "homey" of a feel on the bartender's part because she was talking most of the time at the end of the bar with friends or family. I would have been massaging the new guests (for lack of a better term) maybe with a "how do you love the cheese plate you ordered?" or "do you need a few more bread pieces to go with that cheese that is still left?" or "how about I top off your Rose wine just a bit on the house?"

You see - complacency should not happen - not even on a slow, rainy night. This place is cool - just needs some attention to detail on staff part.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We are locals and we love the Clearwater Wine Bar and Bistro. The food is consistently excellent and they offer local beers on tap and a phenomenal wine list. On select Fridays and Saturdays there is also live music in the courtyard. Great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clearwater Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing