We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like we remember it!”

Backwater's on Sand Key
Ranked #28 of 691 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Backwaters on Sand Key serves exceptional steaks, fresh local seafood and sandwiches on the waterfront. Beautiful views and friendly service. Full bar and lounge. Lunch or Dinner. Happy Hour 2 to 7 PM
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just like we remember it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Backwaters this year was just as excellent as it was 2 years ago. 2 years ago we walked right in and sat on the deck after memorial day....this year they were really booked but they still got us a table! next year I will make sure to make reservations as we don't want to miss out on this gem!
Our food was wonderful....the shrimp cocktail, seafood dip, the surf and turf and the kids meals were all excellent. Try the chocolate cake for a big treat! Thank you for being so accommodating and awesome, do not hesitate to eat at backwaters. Try to get on the deck...all the food was excellent and the staff top notch. Another one of our "musts" when in the Clearwater area!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank genie0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    222
    74
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner Specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This restaurant is on the inter coastal, with outside deck and lovely breeze. Most of us had the surf and turf dinner special, which was cooked perfectly. We had a party of 8 and our waiter did a very good job of keeping us happy. This is across the street from Sheraton Sand Key...convenient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disgraceful Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited Backwaters in April as a party of nine, five adults and four children. The setting was lovely and the menu looked promising. One of us is vegetarian so we asked if there was anything suitable, we were recommended a caeser salad, however when we asked if it had anchovies in we were told yes it does! Anyway we ordered and ate our meal. It was of a reasonable/good standard. Then my 7 year old daughter was bashed in the head with a bunch of plates being held by a busy rushed waitress, whilst on her way to the toilet. The waitress initially offered an ice pack but we thought it was ok so refused, however five minutes later she had an egg sized lump and bruise on her head. Our waiter and indeed the manager were completely unhelpful and unsympathetic when we asked for some assistance. When we asked for ice they brought it in a paper towel which quickly disintergrated. Not once did they offer to write the accident in a book or take any responsibility for it. The manager shrugged and kept on texting on his phone. The next day I emailed the owner to make him aware of this and was flabbergasted by his reply in which he basically accused us of lying. I emailed him back to clarify the facts and heard nothing when all I wanted was a bit of empathy and understanding. I will not be going back to this place and would not recommend it as if anything goes wrong you will get no help at all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I are on a dual bus/fun trip and staying at the Sheraton. We walked over here for dinner and had a lovely time. Great view right on the inter coastal. Super friendly staff and good food. It is not James Beard level (except for the key lime cheesecake) but was perfectly yummy. The grouper was cooked perfectly thought the veggie sides were sort of beyond done. All is all a very nice experience and worth the visit if you are on Sand Key!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great back area on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved the atmosphere, the outside area was so pleasant. The food and service were both good. We made it there twice in our 5-day stay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunlover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backwater's on Sand Key also viewed

 

Been to Backwater's on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing