We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumba Island Bar & Grill

Rumba Island Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went here yesterday for an early dinner late lunch. It was ok. Not wonderful, not bad, just ok. I don't think I'll go out of my way to return here. I'm not sure what ambience everyone is referring to. The patio area is nice. The do add these big fans to try to help with the heat. Inside it felt pretty cookie cutter with bamboo on top.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HockeyMom365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    233
    56
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Doing it the right way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This place is unbelievable !
We are from Louisiana and we find it hard to find good seafood outside of our state. They showed us! Outstanding food! Nice place.

Helpful?
Thank hornsbys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We wished Clearwater from Utah and by chance came upon this place. Great food, great service, great atmosphere and very reasonable price. We went on the afternoon of July 4. Not too many people, but I think we beat the crowd. My wife had the coconut mahi and loved it. The crab Mac and cheese was great. Caution.. The diet coke was flat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

They have a lively patio scene, unfortunately the view is of asphalt parking lot and street. The food is quite unremarkable and the same quality and fare can be found elsewhere with better surroundings. Not at all bad but certainly not outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Correction to my recent review of Ruba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

On my recent review of this restaurant, I sais early bird menu was until 6:45pm, it should be 5:45pm
Sorry about that.

Thanks,
Ron R.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Ron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumba Island Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rumba Island Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing