We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely day out”

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
Ranked #7 of 80 things to do in Clearwater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
portsmoouth UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were heading out to florida on a family holiday. The children had all watched the movie Dophins Tale so we decided as it wasnt that far away to book tickets online to go and see Winter.
The kids loved it here. It was a lovely smallish place with friendly staff and lots to see and do. Seeing Winter was the highlight for them and I must admit I enjoyed seeing her too. They got involved in the storytelling shows and loved nosing round the shop.
Definatley worth the visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,570
    1,492
    911
    400
    272
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge,Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Well worth the money, plan to do it again next year. We did the dolphin encounter, spent 30 min. with Panama the dolphin and Winter was just a foot or two away. The behind the scenes of what they do at the aquarium is interesting and it is nice to put money down to a place that helps instead of exploit.

Helpful?
2 Thank chebryry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting and family friendly”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is where the 2011 movie "Dolphin Tale" was filmed. Lots of fascinating exhibits and plenty of live sea creatures to see and even touch!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank run4evergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Seeing Winter is always so special. This time we took the Sea Life Safari boat tour and it was wonderful. Best part was hopping off the boat onto and tiny shell island. Very fun and relaxing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
192 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Not a great visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We visited on a weekend thinking it would be less crowded on the weekend. Unfortunately, this was not the case. The crowds were huge, the line just to purchase the tickets were long... it took about 15 minutes to get to the ticket booth. Although one is given a brochure with the lay out of the place, the signage needs improving and the traffic patterns to get to and from the various locales need improvement. By the time we found our way to the Winter Zone for the exhibition with Winter and Panama, it was almost impossible to see in the tank. There is no real "show" if one is expecting something like SeaWorld. This is a hospital and rescue operation. The staff try to make it interesting for the visitors, but obviously they are not very experienced in managing crowds or in talking to huge crowds. They probably do much better with smaller groups... but trying to show and tell gigantic crowds about what they do, leaves a lot to be desired. At least, most of the small kids were able to move up front and sit down by the railing in front so they could see. However, some adults arrived in wheelchairs and not only could they not see, they took up a large amount of space, blocking views for others. The aquarium is clearly not set up to manage crowds, although they are in the process of a major expansion. If this had been a "for profit" enterprise, I would have thought of it as a rip-off, but at least I know the expensive tickets go to help with the medical and rehabilation expenses of the rescued mammals.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing