We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be renamed rescue center”

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
Ranked #7 of 80 things to do in Clearwater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Should be renamed rescue center”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Other than the famous dolphin "Winter", there is not a whole lot to see. It is a rescue center. If you go, watch the movie they present on the dolphins story and how it helps others. That was the best part.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMAquarium, Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Clearwater Marine Aquarium is a non-profit organization. Net proceeds from every purchase go directly to our mission of preserving our marine life and environment while inspiring the human spirit through leadership in education, research, rescue, rehabilitation and release. Please keep in mind general admission for Clearwater Marine Aquarium includes entry to 2 unique locations and complimentary boat and trolley rides showcasing the charming Clearwater area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,550
    1,479
    904
    398
    271
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“take ur kids here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a great place becuz unlike other marine acquariums it is a rehab facility for injured animals & 100% of the admission goes back to the animals. There have sting ray petting, Winter & Hope the dolphins who were stranded or orphaned, sea turtles etc. many educational programs & kids can learn about conservation. This is a pro animal facility not an abusive train wreck, profit driven facility like Marineland.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank velassucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My family of 5 (including 3 teenage boys) enjoyed the aquarium. However, parking was very difficult (too crowded so we had to park in the overflow lot), and we felt it was expensive for the experience. My 16 year old said, "Mom, this was a shrine for little girls who love dolphins." A/C was available in limited areas and my teens were ready to go after about an hour so we ended up sending them to go get the car a few blocks away. Don't get me wrong - We love Dolphin Tale and are excited about Dolphin Tale 2 coming out. I'm glad we went but would only go back during a time when it wasn't so crowded.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CKing2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Elder, MT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It is okay, but save your money for another aquarium.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This aquarium is okay, it is not what we expected. It is much smaller, and the dolphin enclosures aren't very appealing-I was hoping for so much more. Meeting the famous dolphin was awesome! This is home to the dolphin which was portrayed in the movie.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMAquarium, Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Clearwater Marine Aquarium is currently under construction to enhance our animal’s exhibits and the guest experience. Our facility is a donated water treatment plant and as such has physical limitations. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Marine hospital”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The aquarium is obviously a must-see if your child is a huge Dolphin Tale fanatic. Ours weren't but they were interested as they love dolphins in general. So if you go, go in with the mindset this is an animal rescue facility that lets you in to see some of the animals. If you go expecting to see the gloss of what you would find at other major aquariums in the US, you will be very disappointed. Consider your admission fee as a donation to help rescue animals, they don't spend the money on excessive building maintenance or setting up new displays. And in that context, it's very worthwhile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RowanberryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing