We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to highway, but in business district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park
Ranked #74 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to highway, but in business district”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We felt the room was priced a little high for the location, services and condition of our room. The hotel is in a business district on a busy highway. Website states the rooms were recently renovated, but the one we stayed in was not - it was okay, but could use some upgrades especially in the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and even offered discount cards for local restaurants. The open closet was large and had enough room for suitcases and all our clothes. The "complimentary breakfast" is really a grab-and-go offering coffee/tea, apples or oranges, granola bars, or wrapped muffins. Pay attention to the housekeeping, which is weekly - daily is available at an extra charge. The free WiFi was great, and they offer faster speed for an additional charge. Bring your own blow dryer, reception has a limited number of dryers for their guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maziray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    23
    20
    23
    30
See reviews for
30
37
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Rooms are good for singles, all facilities are provided.tough for families with kids. Will be good if some more varities are prodived with breakfast. Room service should be little better. Nice and cam area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aravindvikraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have literally spent over 60K in 3 years on these Extended Stay America hotels. This one the staff was rude to me from the get go. Plain RUDE. You would think they would be more appreciative of their good customers but they are not.
At The Extended Stay America on 6001 NW 6th way I had ZERO problems with anything or anyone. This one is different really bad customer service.
TACT should be a must have and a requirement for hotel managers and staff to have.
Articulate, well mannered form of speech and communication is a must have for staff in the hotel industry.

Room Tip: Choose another Extended Stay where they have better customer service and they show their customers m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for 15 day"s Excellent Staff very clean rooms as well as pool area ,Stayed at same Hotel last year and was very happy with the kindness of office presonal & staff!! Very helpfull, Laundry room is squeaky clean,Very easy to get to all the places & atractions . and also nice & quiet, Thanks for A nother Great vaction & Great hotel! Will be back next October!!!!

Room Tip: Restaurant next store there are A few choices within walking distance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel in the areas of cleanliness, customer service and location. We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

When I was here last May this hotel was a "Homestead Studio Suites." It is being re-branded as an "Extended Stay America." In fact, at the moment one side of their marquis sign says "Extended Stay" and the other side still says "Homewood Studio." The use of the word "suites" is extremely libera. You will not be getting an additional room in your "suite." But you will be getting a kitchenette that includes a fridge, 2 burner electric stovetop, microwave and pots/pans/dishes/glasses/silverware,etc.

This is by no means a luxury or destination resort, and it makes no attempt to try to be one.It is not near any of the attractions or beaches. It is, however, a great value if you plan on being in the Tampa/St Pete/Clearwater area for business. ESA markets itself to people who need a place to stay for a week, a month, or longer because they are working in the area on a temporary basis or need an extended stay and don't want to live in their car.

I have a bit of a bias because I often stay at ESA hotels when I'm traveling alone for business, so I will try to be as objective as possible with my review.

Right now the place is in the middle of an exterior paint job presumably because of the rebranding to Extended Stay, and it looks great. Hopefully there will be enough money in the budget to upgrade some of the rooms. I am in room 161 and the furniture, carpeting and bathroom are a little worn and dated. Also, every ESA that I have stayed has had the hardest beds. C'mon guys, could you at least spring for a pillowtop topper???

On the plus side, the staff is unfailingly friendl., In fact, I have to tip my hat to ESA on this, Every one on their properties that I have stayed at has had courteous and helpful staff. This place is no exception.

Other things that are important (at least to me) is good water pressure in the shower, (which helps take the kinks out from sleeping on the hard bed), free wi-fi, new flat screen LG TV's with free Showtime (I got to watch Homeland) and a free "grab and go" breakfast in the lobby. Coffee, muffins, fruit etc.

When you check in there will be towels in your room. However there is no daily room service so if you go out for the day your room will look exactly like it did when you left.. If you bring your towels to the front desk, as I did yesterday, they will (cheerfully) give you a fresh set.

Best reasons to saty here? It happens to be a great value if you are willing to put up with a little compromise in amenities. Clean, friendly and dependable.

Room Tip: I am staying in a single room (1 queen) but got a chance to see a double room. The room was much lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R77556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for posting such a thorough and positive review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our fresh look. We are set to update more of our interior in early 2014 as well. Along with the additions of the free WiFi, grab-and-go breakfast, flat panel televisions and the free premium channels, we are excited that we are enhancing our "home away from home" feeling. I am delighted to hear that the customer service provided by our staff was exactly as expected.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for almost two months when we first moved down to the Tampa area and we had a great experience. Sure, it's not as fancy as many of the other extended stay types of hotels in the area, but you can't beat the price and value. Everyone at the front desk was super accommodating, friendly, and professional. When we first arrived, they found out my husband is a vet and they immediately upgraded us to a larger room. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaKimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am proud of our team for providing you with such excellent service. As well, I appreciate that you saw the value in our "home away from home". We hope your move went smoothly!

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This has the basics: clean, fairly comfortable, decent location if you have business in the area, and the small kitchen. There are no frills - but that's what you are paying for - I get it. And, if I'm in the area again for business - I'll stay here.

However, if I'm on vacation with the family, then I'll go elsewhere (having said that, who's staying in this area on vacation anyway? You got the beach about 10 miles away, so there's no real reason to stay here with your family - stay closer to the area's attractions).

There are three reasons why I'd pick another hotel for the family (other than location):
1. All the rooms are exterior (i.e. you can walk right up from the outside directly to the room door rather than going through the interior). I like the added security of interior rooms.

2. I arrived at night and there were a lot of cars in the parking lot (reasonable expectation). However, the next day, during the middle of the day, there were still a lot of cars in the parking lot. So, there must be some people staying here "extendedly", which to me can mean a lot of things - but if these people aren't working and not on vacation - then what ARE they doing? Again, when it come to family, I like simple overnight hotels vs. weekly hotels.

3. The wifey likes her amenities - so that shoots everything else down anyway.

Again, this is a good place for the business traveler, but when it comes to family, I'll choose other options.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the rear of the property. There are 3 buildings, the 2 front building are near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Clearwater - Executive Dr.
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park

Property: Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park
Address: 2311 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33762-3372 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Extended Stay America Clearwater
Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Carillon Park Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing