We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal Excellence...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personal Excellence...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I travel weekly and should write more of these based on my experinces. I am a "Lifetime Platinum Member" with Marriott which just simply identifies the volume of travel. I have also reached comparable travel levels with other hotels..

First of all, it was amazing to see what Marriott did with this property in taking it from it's ok to a strongly recommended place to stay. Location is inredible; close enough to easily get to the busy Clearwater Beach and yet far enough away to have some personal down time and quietness.

A great Spa onsite and an amazing steakhouse (Watercolour) with a small lounge inside or more of a "tiki hut" poolside one outside. Also, The Columbia restaurant is right next door and highy recommended...

The personal & professional hospitality I recieved from Julia Brensel the last few stays have been more than excellent and thus my reason to write my first review.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view with a potential better view on higher floors and then a choice whet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastEddieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! I am very glad that you have enjoyed staying with us. Looking forward to your return!

Thank you,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    617
    224
    98
    55
See reviews for
781
459
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The staff is great: the front desk, the restaurant waiters and the conceirge. With that said, this hotel has seen better days. The rooms are horrible: old and stained carpets, old, dated and stained furniture, rusted coated patio and patio furnishing. It was a nightmare! The hotel has to take action to make up for the age of the hotel...is is showing its age. The elevators need serious maintenance, one was down our entire trip and the other was down due to wind blowing (that is crazy). This property survives because of the terrific staff and its terrific location. I would not stay at the hotel in the future and would recommed you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RondaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review about our property! We appreciate your comments, and will relay them to the Executive Committee.

Thank you,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Let me start by saying we have stayed at this property for many years and would love to return again. That being said---it is so very worn out that it makes it very difficult to choose to spend my money (or our points) at a property that continues to tell us they are doing numerous upgrades every year. Maintenance is one thing, but at the price point, or Marriott level 6 that this hotel is, my vacation dollar is not being spent wisely. The competition is great out there and this location is beginning to not compete.
The staff is beyond outstanding. From Sandy and Nicki at the front dest to greet you or help you throughout your stay, to Kimi at the pool, the hostess (sorry I forget her name) and our terrific waitresses at Watercolour every morning~~~~The staff makes the dreary hotel worth going to. The front desk manager was not the cheery fantastic Marriott staff that we are use to having greet us--so we simply avoided her during our stay because the rest of the staff is amazing. Probably needs to go to Marriott Cheerleading School---so that Marriott can be represented the way it should be.
To be fair, I brought ALL of our concerns to Phillippe, the GM of the property. I feel that it is only right to let them know of our concerns. I told him everything---the rooms feel 'icky'---old carpet and oh so dated. There is not anything you can do structurally with a property as far as making rooms or bathrooms larger, BUT you can crank up the decor--carpet, tile, paint/wallpaper etc to compensate for the age of the property. The elevators need serious maintenance, one was down our entire trip. The espresso machine at the Starbucks was barely working. The wireless was like using dial up. All things that are not acceptable at this level of a Marriott. I do believe Phillippe listened to our concerns. He genuinely cared and said there are many updates on the horizon. He was more than kind to us during our stay and I am sure that his hands are tied. They are only given so many dollars for improvements and they are doing the best they can. That being said, we have been told this by the general staff for years and have not seen any action. New TV's, mattresses, desk chairs in the rooms----all very nice, but the rooms need a complete overhaul.
This is a franchised property and it is beyond time for the owner of the property to "invest" in his guests. This property survives because of the terrific staff and its terrific location. We will definitely look to travel to this property again, but will call first to see if there are any major improvements. Hopefully they can get a lot accomplished in the next 11 1/2 months before it is time to return.
PLEASE Mr. "Owner", INVEST in your property!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarawellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and were so disappointed that we called the Hyatt Resort to see if they had any rooms. We ended up staying at the Hyatt for the duration of our trip. This Marriott is out-of-date and features outdoor entries into the rooms. You can look at the ocean but there is no beach on the property; you have to take a shuttle. The rooms need updating and the furnishings are worn. The lobby is very understated. Can't say many good things about this place. The Hyatt is right by the beach and brand-new. Beautiful Hyatt; ugly Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns about our hotel. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Marriott. While our property is not brand new, we are contstantly working on improving our hotel. Great many changes are coming this year that will enhance experience for our guests. Outside hallways ensure that every room has a breathtaking view of the bay. I encourage you to give us another chance in the near future.

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
240 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Recently completed our third stay at this Marriott property - this is a great place to stay for all ages, families, or couples! Nicely appointed rooms - all with great bay views and partial ocean views. Superb pool and bar area - good bar food and great seating overlooking the bay. Helpful and courteous staff; make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better bay and beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audittflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review about our hotel! We are pleased to see that you had a great stay. Our staff prides itself on providing the best customer service possible.
We hope to see you come back soon!

Thank you,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
342 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

As our stay progressed, I appreciated this property more. The service was very good and the folks working there, seemed to actually enjoy their jobs.

This property is styled on Embassey Suites, which is great for families. The rooms were fair sized and clean. All rooms are actually accessed thru a motel style set-up. All have small balconies.

The grounds are actually on the small side, but well cared for. The hotel is on the Intercoastal water way., which is very wide off Sand Key. As I already noted, the hotel does not have its own beach. You need to either walk thru the Sheraton property across the street or take a hotel shuttle to the state park beach which is minutes away.

We were there during spring break and spring training so the hotel was pretty crowded. The poor is not that large for a hotel that does not have a beach. If you don't get a chair by the pool before 9:30am, you are out of luck.

The hotel is next to a small strip mall. It was very convenient to go to a local coffee shop for breakfast for less than half of what it costs at the hotel. There are also two restaurants next door. I would recommend "Columbia", it is a Cuban restaurant. Also good for lunch with outside tables under shade.

In the end, the weather was great, the people were nice and you can't beat using Marriott points to cover your stay. Clearwater beach is nice, I like the pace on Sand Key where the Marriott is better.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor, the views of the area are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! We appreciate your kind comments. We are glad that you had a good, relaxing stay at our property. Hope to see you come back soon!

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

If you like sand, beaches, tiki huts, ocean views, 5 star steakhouses and an amazing pool this is the place for you. Totally worth the 40 minute drive from TPA, stay here and you won't be sorry

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bellfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very excited that you had a great stay with us! We appreciate your kind comments. Please come back and see us again.
Sincerely,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#25 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites On Sand Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing