We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and amenities are nice. Would recommend as good family friendly resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
PA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great staff and amenities are nice. Would recommend as good family friendly resort.”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a week at this Marriott. Upon initially seeing the property I was slightly concerned as its different than other marriots ive experienced. As gold members we used reward points for our stay. A few concerns as others have mentioned: outside room entrances, rooms a bit outdated, hotel decor outdated, not directly on beach. Yes our king suite could use some modern updates like decor, bathroom, etc. but it was very clean, staff very helpful and we became more comfortable with outside entrance. The pool area is fantastic and my son preferred the pool vs a beach anyway so it worked out great for us. They have children's activities during the days also. Pool bar, limited food menu, but drinks and staff very attentive. Short walk away are shops, restaurants (seafood, Latin American, pizza, breakfast and dunkin donuts). Request higher room to avoid pool noise. Also we went and "reserved" (put towels on) our pool chairs around 8-830 each day to get some shade w an umbrella for part of day. Breakfast buffet was reasonable and good. Can't speak for dinner or room service as we did not order. Overall I would recommend to a friend. Microwave, mini fridge, sink in living area of suite. Doors to close off bedroom area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review about our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    651
    229
    100
    55
See reviews for
837
488
24
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My family and I stayed at the Marriott Sand Key just a few days ago. First off, I expected alot better. When you first walk in, the lobby is beautiful, but the rooms, not so much. Very outdated. In our room, in the mini fridge had a leftover sandwhich in it !!!! The pool is nice, but before we went down I called and asked if there were towels availiable, I was told yes. When I got down to the pool, I was told by a worker towels wouldn't be availiable for 45 minutes. For the amount of money it cost, I expected so much better. Live and learn, right ? I will not be returning.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that your experience at our hotel was less than expected. We strive really hard to satisfy each and every one of our guests. I apologize that we were not able to provide you with a pleasurable experience. I hope you will give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We just got back from a week-and-a-half getaway at the Marriott Sand Key. This is our second visit to this hotel, and for good reason. Having traveled a lot in my life, I've come to appreciate good, honest, caring customer service. And a clean place. Both of these things actually end up going hand in hand, if you ask me. Because chances are, if they actually care, they wouldn't let it be anything but clean and kept up. Anyway, the Marriott Sand Key is the epitome of customer service, and I'll tell you why.

My girlfriend has a rarely-diagnosed disease called tricothecene mycotoxicosis. She basically was exposed to high levels of black mold for extended periods of time. And the angle of how you're probably tilting your head right now is a very normal reaction when we explain this to anyone. Basically, any amount of mold exposure now could put her in the hospital - or worse. So after trying other vacation spots and having scary experiences with uncaring staff and unsafe rooms, we decided to come back to the place where mold doesn't seem to grow -- Sand Key Marriott.

We were so happy to come in and find it just the way we left it two years ago. Spotless. Friendly. Welcoming. Wonderful.

Imagine our surprise when Tropical Storm Debby came to town and flooded the place out. Water, water everywhere -- a breeding ground for mold and for bad customer service. But NOT HERE! When I tell you they were on it, I mean they were on it. Immediate remediation. IMMEDIATE. By the time we left, there was no more water. They even moved us to a different room out of concern for my girlfriend's health, just in case. And to give you an idea about how much they really do care, they were prepared to help us find a place inland if things went really haywire. I mean, they were willing to give up their revenue for the safety of a patron. It really doesn't get much better than that.

Bravo, Sand Key Marriott, for handling this natural disaster so well. And for handling everything with such grace and class that... well... we'll see you again next time.

Room Tip: They really are all the same! Gorgeous views for all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztekheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Our family of 3 spent four nights here. We came in just after Tropical Storm Debby had blown through, but everything was good. We actually opted to spend more time at the pool rather than at the public beach. The pool is huge, clean and warm. The room fit our needs, but wasn't anything spectacular. Our only real gripe was that there were no towel bars in the bathroom. We hung our towels out on the balcony, but with the humidity they never really dried completely. Beautiful views and nicely maintained. We ate at the hotel restaurant once and both the food and service were very good. The best part of our stay was by far the service. The front desk staff was great, especially Stephen M. Our needs were met immediately and their friendliness was genuine. The waitress at the hotel gave us a tip for another mini-golf location that was far less crowded and had acutal parking. We would recommend this hotel on the service alone. We received an email from the general mananger by the time we returned home. I responded to him and recevied a response back almost immediately. He did comment that the hotel would be going through updates soon - in regards to previous reviews I just read.

Room Tip: Rooms are the north side are quieter as they don't overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Beautiful views in all directions! Each room opens both to a common area overlooking the beach, and a private balcony overlooking the intercoastal. But the real treasure of this property is it's people. Everyone, from the desk personnel to the bell staff, to the hostess in the restaurant, are single-mindedly concerned with enhancing your stay. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for high floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWithTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Spent two nights in the Marriott Suites. As the name suggests, every room is a suite and has a separate living space with a back bedroom. The concept is great and allows each room to have a beautiful view of both the gulf and the intercoastal. The hotel pool is also wonderful. Water temp was good enough to cool you off, but not so cold as to be uncomfortable. Bar staff was excellent -- they'd come around JUST the right amount of time. It wasn't bothersome: they showed up just when we were ready for another.

Staff was welcoming too, but our cleaning service was just OK -- they left the soap dish unwashed with broken bits of slimy soap there and it didn't look as if the room was swept. I gave an "average" rating mostly because the rooms need updating. They upholstery is worn and worse for the wear. It was maybe more pronounced as we stayed just after Tropical Storm Debby. Everything felt damp (no fault of the hotel). We did mention the cleaning issue to the front desk and they adjusted the bill. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just returned to the UK after a very pleasant stay at the Marriot Suites Clearwater. Stayed a total of 12 nights and although offered the 9th floor, decided to opt for lower and were located on 4th.
Made to feel most welcome right from our arrival, staff being most pleasant. Room was a little dated however most beautiful view from pato windows onto the open water with ever changing outlook was a dream. Dolphins and even the sighting of a shark was experenced, not forgetting the boating traffic.The pool area was fantastic and everything one could wish for( sun beds being available throuughout the day & early evening). We are not new to the area and the Marriot was a idea location especially so close to Sand Key Beach which was easily accessible especially by using the Hotel Buggy! The Hotels location is central to many points of interest. Thank you staff at the Marriot and to the Marriot Hotel group for such a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites On Sand Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing