We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little cramped for two adults and two kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was certainly a nice property in a great location. Lack of access to the beach was a problem. I booked this after looking at all of the pictures and descriptions online. The whole thing was much smaller than I thought. We rented a cabana for the day which was great for us whose skin can't handle too much time in the sun.

Room Tip: If you have more than three people, consider getting two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you chose to come back, I want to let you know that we do have connecting suites as well which will provide additional space for the family members. I hope we will see you in the future!

Sincerely,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel during a conference. There are many good things to say and a just a couple not so good things. To start with, the rooms are very good size and the views are great. The staff was excellent and every time one of the hotel employees passed our family they would greet us. The pool area is fantastic and they offer Jet Ski and kayak rentals. The kids program is the best. Free activities inside an air conditioned kids center if they get tire of the pool or the weather turns bad. Crafts, Wii, scavenger hunts, you name it. For a small fee to cover supplies they can do a few other crafts. This was really nice because I had my family with me. The location is good with Columbia restaurant right in the same parking lot, a great little sandwich shop and Dunkin Donuts on the boardwalk at the hotel.

Now for the not-so-great. If I had one message to get to the hotel manager it would be this…pay more attention to the minor maintenance details. I’m not sure what the average room rates are (mine was paid for) but I understand they are about $200+ per night. For the location, the kids programs, etc., that’s not too bad. But at $200 a night I wouldn’t expect to see bubbling paint on the bottom of the bathroom doors, rust rings around the tub drains or covering the sprinkler system in the room, and worn coffee tables and cracked mirrors. The rooms are in good shape but at that price I have higher expectations.

Overall, if you can get this property at a decent rate and overlook some minor imprefections, it’s a good place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a large balcony and views. Pick the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GatorTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that your family and children were busy with our wonderful Lisa's Clubhouse! We indeed have a lot of interesting activities for children, and it makes our resort a perfect family destination! We continuously work on room improvements. We are currently changing AC units, and finishing up the tub restoration. Hope to see you back!
Sincerely,
Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I Stayed at the Marriott for business reasons but I would bring my family. The hotel is not on the beach but they will drive you back and forth. The staff was great and very helpful. I would not eat at the resturant it was very expensive, lots of near by places that were really good. The bar was nice but the drinks were expensive and it closes early. The pool was awesome and the rooms had plenty of space to just kick back and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to see that you had a good stay with us. I would definitely encourage you and your family to dine at out Watercolor Steakhouse. It is a worthy experience, and many of our patrons completely agree with the title "Best Steakhouse in Tampa Bay". Our Filet Mignon is simply the best!
Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A nice Marriott in Clearwater Beach at Sand Key (NOTE - not ON the beach, but on the intercoastal). However, as Marriott Platinum guests, we have experienced a variety of resorts, vacation clubs and the like. In comparison, this one missed the mark on some elements of the room. Our particular room lacked some basic quality you would expect, and was in need of updating of some elements: (lamps would flicker on/off, shades were dirty and worn, carpet has some stains, paint needed refreshing, rust in the bath tubs, general lacking of Marriott standards for a resort). Rooms open from outside, but give you a suite type feel with a living room, with small fridge, microwave, sink.  Each room has a balcony facing the intercoastal/pool area.  Nice standard Marriott bedding and quiet room. We recommend a high floor for the best views. Staff was friendly and helpful. Platinum guests on a weekend received breakfast buffet tickets as they do not have concierge service at this location.  

Pool area was the highlight and just fantastic. There was a large pool with lots of outdoor padded lounge chairs, area for pool volleyball, rock formations that provided waterfalls into the pool, a kiddie pool area and more! The exercise room was located above the pool area. A pool bar served drinks and food that was pricey, yet somewhat to be expected at a pool side location.  Food wait is about 15 minutes, even for a simple salad. Cabanas lined one side of the pool that were available for rent.  There was a children's activities area adjacent to the pool, a nice boardwalk that looked out onto the intercoastal, and even a jet ski rental.  Jet skis seemed expensive to us, at $65 for 30 mins.  NOTE: Beach access is provided via golf cart service, or by walking through the Sheraton parking lot across the street.

Breakfast buffet has fruit, pastries (toast, donuts, bagels, Danishes, muffins, etc), oatmeal bar, juices, yogurts, breakfast meats, eggs, and potatoes.  There is also a full breakfast menu that can be ordered on as well. Note: platinum buffet is only the fruit, pastries and oatmeal/cereal and there is a $9 upgrade for the meats and eggs.   

Overall, this is a nice property, but again, some of the rooms need to be updated in order to reach a higher class or rating. Given we were back in this area, we would stay again, but just ask for an updated room.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and on the end if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjscraftygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am pleased to hear that you had a good experience at our hotel. I want to assure you that we are continuously upgrading our rooms. Currently, we are in the process of restoring bath tubs and HVAC units.

We also have decreased the upgrade fee for the All-American Breakfast in our Watercolor restaurant from $9 to $5. Looking forward to see you come back!

Sincerely,
Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was my second stay at the Marriot Suites. Again I was impressed with the hotel and staff. The lobby is pretty & the pool area lovely. All the rooms are suites - with the bedroom at the front with a nice balcony - with table & chairs overlooking the bay. The rooms are not luxurious and perhaps are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable. They have mini fridge & sink & microwave & water is left everyday. I was there for a conference and then stayed over Memorial day weekend - 10 nights total. We had 2 children over the weekend also, in the sofabed area, and although is was a little cramped, we all fitted in. We had a very good rate with the conference so felt it was good value. Sand Key beach across the road is beautiful. I like Sand Key as it is away from the touristy part of Clearwater.

Room Tip: Higher floors get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback about our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

As a Gold Member of Marriott we love this hotel. Many of the employees have been there for many years and remember us as repeat guests. The Lobby is very pretty and the guest rooms all have a great view and are fully equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and kitchen sink. The pool area is very nice with pool side wait staff for beverages and food. The hotel was very clean and the beds were very nice. Is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We love staying on the 9th floor overlooking the pool and bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback about our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you had another great stay with us. We love our repeat guests!!! I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a week at this Marriott. Upon initially seeing the property I was slightly concerned as its different than other marriots ive experienced. As gold members we used reward points for our stay. A few concerns as others have mentioned: outside room entrances, rooms a bit outdated, hotel decor outdated, not directly on beach. Yes our king suite could use some modern updates like decor, bathroom, etc. but it was very clean, staff very helpful and we became more comfortable with outside entrance. The pool area is fantastic and my son preferred the pool vs a beach anyway so it worked out great for us. They have children's activities during the days also. Pool bar, limited food menu, but drinks and staff very attentive. Short walk away are shops, restaurants (seafood, Latin American, pizza, breakfast and dunkin donuts). Request higher room to avoid pool noise. Also we went and "reserved" (put towels on) our pool chairs around 8-830 each day to get some shade w an umbrella for part of day. Breakfast buffet was reasonable and good. Can't speak for dinner or room service as we did not order. Overall I would recommend to a friend. Microwave, mini fridge, sink in living area of suite. Doors to close off bedroom area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review about our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#23 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £183 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites On Sand Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing