We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lives up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Marriotts around the world, and this is clearly a beach resort, rather than one of the more elaborate big city hotels. That means that whilst the rooms are large, with a separate lounge area, the decor is much simpler and less plush.
The location is next to the sound, with the beach a few minutes walk (or transfer) across the road. The beach is quieter than Clearwater Beach, but the sand is coarser. You are surrounded by other hotels or housing developments, so aside from a short strip of shops there isn't a great deal to do nearby.
Some earlier review comments to agree with. Yes, the walls are very thin and noise does travel. Yes, avoid any room that ends in 20 (eg 420, 520 etc) as the balconies are directly above the kitchen extractor fans and the smell of bacon, or their legendary steaks, is very strong.
A couple of gripes of our own. There was extensive repair work going on which meant the gym was out of action for a couple of days, and also impacted the main bar, restaurant and lobby for several days of the stay. We also had one morning when the pool bar music was on very loud from 8am (or possibly earlier!) which wasn't appreciated.
However, having said that the hotel does what it does well. A hotel, in the sun, nice pool, surrounded by great water views and some of the best staff that we have seen in a while. Top of the list by a long way was Tara the bartender, who was effortlessly friendly to everyone whilst multi-tasking managing a bar that was heaving with wedding guests - Marriott are very lucky to have her !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordlucan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Lordlucan1,

Thank you for time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your thorough review and I apologize for some of the shortcomings that you have mentioned. Your comments have been passed on to our staff to ensure we improve our performance. Thank you for mentioning one of our associates who stood out during your stay, we are proud of the service we provide and Tara is a great ambassador of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we get to welcome you back at Marriott Suite on Sand Key again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    618
    224
    98
    55
See reviews for
782
459
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a great visit to this hotel for 3 nights during early part of Thanksgiving week. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful and actually show you around a bit when you get there, not just hand you a keycard. Although this is on the sound side, not the beach side, we had views from both sides from our room. Rooms were spacious and luxurious bedding. Our balcony had plenty of room for 3 plus a table for little breakfast while watching the wildlife in the morning. Everything was very clean. Pool is absolutely fabulous and huge, with several waterfalls from weak to strong to massage your back or kids to play under. It was heated so we enjoyed it nightly despite unseasonably cool weather. Two flat panel TVs and we loved having the living room and bedroom separate so little ones could watch what they wanted or get put to bed earlier. There is a lot close by, withing walking distance. We came back to the room from shopping and found milk and cookies for us waiting in our ROOM. Concierge staff was very helpful and eager to assist, and will gladly drive you across the street to the beach which is a park with great amenities. Just give them a call and they come back to get you. Self parking for free or valet, up to you. They had really nice spa quality toiletry products that smelled very exotic. Plus the plush, white terry robes add to the effect. If I had to give drawbacks they would be minor but the restaurant is very expensive and so is room service. We ate breakfast out because of this but had dinner once and it was very good. We were high up (GREAT) but it was quite windy and so your door was like a vacuum seal. You had to hold down everything for someone to come and go out of the room or everything would blow away! Your bedroom faces the sound side so you don't have that heavy wave action to watch or hear to lull you to sleep. Just like the wind grabs YOUR door, it grabs everyone's door and helps to close it with a big slam. We heard this a few times but also we DID this a few times so we knew it was difficult to prevent. The bathroom door is a louvered slider so it doesnt lock, really. We went to the pool very late some nights like 8,9 pm and there were very few clean towels and some wet ones lying about on the deck. I'm really reaching here to think of bad things. All in all a great visit. They have some sort of kids club but it was not open due to being so far out of season, perhaps or maybe the holiday. Also, we had no time to use the spa. We were here on points so we cannot speak to value or price.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room that doesnt overlook the pool directly. The rooms overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WordlyWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear WordlyWannabe,

Thank you for your thorough review of your stay.

We apreciate all feedback and your review goes above and beyong in describing your experience. Also thank you for your patronage to the Marriott family of hotels and we all hope to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
490 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Attended a conference for several days at this resort. The facilities are all first rate. The rooms are impeccable as are the common areas. The staff is very attentive and friendly. The conference facilities are top notch. The food catered for our conference was varied and exceptional. I would recommend Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach for any business conference or for a personal stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoopFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear HoopFL,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel thoroughly and we all hope we will be able to welcome you back at Marriott Suites on Sand Key soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomons
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not sure about some of the complaints i see on this hotel. We had a 4th floor suite and I didn't hear road noise or other guests. We were directly over the pool, so if you opened your balcony door you could hear people but that cut out before we were going to sleep. Room service breakfast and dinner (the only meals we used it) were above average to very good in my opinion. The chocolate chip cookies we got for desert gratis were a nice touch also.

Watercolors Steakhouse was (in my opinion) overpriced compared to a couple of other steakhouses nearby but the service was very good and an excellent wine list.

Prior to dinner we had a drink sitting at the bar and the bartender was a real trip. We enjoyed the drinks as well as his banter with some of the (seemed like) regulars.

My only complaint that I left with the hotel was the charge for internet service. It was only $9.95 but with free internet becoming ubiquitous and the price of the sweets it seemed a little irritating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear sb146,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

I appreciate all the feedback and am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We are proud of the service we provide and I am glad that our service stood out as the main positive from your stay. Regarding internet charges, we do offer several complimentary options (lobby, business center) for our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This trip was our second stay at the Marriott Suites in Clearwater Beach for the jazz festival. The rooms are nice since you get the extra space in a small sitting area separate from the sleeping area. The sitting area has a small fridge, microwave and sink, which are great features.

The beds were comfortable, except for the pillows. There seems to be a trend at hotels to have these giant pillows on the beds (which, admittedly, look great, but it is obvious no one has ever tried to sleep on them - they don't compress, and you're stuck with your head seven inches off the bed!). Luckily, the hotel had feather pillows available, so we slept a lot better the second night. The rooms could really use an update - the carpets were stained and the upholstery was a bit tatty. I did notice a bit of mold under the lip of the sink & toilet rim, and some in the shower. The absolute worst thing about the bathroom was the water flow restrictor on the shower. There was plenty of water pressure, as the water flowed freely from the tub and sink faucets, but once you turned the shower on the water barely trickled out. It was ridiculous - it took me forever to rinse the shampoo out of my hair. I'm all for being green and saving water, but the Marriott has taken it to an annoying extreme (and I did have maintenance look at it).

One of the worst things about this particular room was that we were located on the fourth floor near the very north end of the property. It was a gorgeous view, but we were almost directly above a huge exhaust fan that was quite noisy & spewed out the kitchen exhaust. So, we could not hear the birds and water, and had to smell food when we had the patio door open. I did ask to be relocated, but the hotel was full for the jazz festival.

The pool area is rather nice - lots of chairs & a big, clean pool. They desperately needed more staff for this busy weekend - I could not get the waitstaff to bring me a menu at the pool, even after repeatedly asking.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the giant exhaust fan in the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear lawg8r,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I certainly appreciate your feedback and a thorough description of your stay. I apologize for the shortcomings in the service and product and we take all feedback into consideration when planning upgrades and updates to our property.

Once again thank you for coming back to our hotel and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We were familiar with the area so we decided to go on a quick Monday to Friday trip to test the waters of traveling for the first time with our 11 month old. The hotel was nice, it was clean (when compared to other beach hotels). The staff was super nice and helpful. The location was away from the action but it was only a 5 minute drive, we had a car so it wasn't a big deal. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to sand key but the beach at pier 60 is nicer so we only used it once. Overall we were happy

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank russd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Russd32,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay on our property with your child and we cretainly hope you will be returning soon again.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

As mentioned in other comments the walls are very thin and noises are a problem. Road noise and and normal sounds from the adjoining rooms was a nuance. The "great" steakhouse was a disappointment. Dinner salad and mashed potato side were way too large. The steak topping is olive oil based with more olives and other material. Not your typical steak topping. Good views of both the harbor and the gulf.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60993Rustygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear 60993Rustygolf,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

We appreciate your comments. I am sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your dinner in our restaurant as we truly are proud of the food we provide. Your comments have been passed on to our culinary staff as we consistently work to improve our product.

Once again thank youfor your review and hope to welcome you back again soon at Marriott Suites on Sand Key.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites On Sand Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing