We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Sand Key - Nice location - Great view of the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were only ther for two nights after spending a week in Orlando. The staff was very friendly. The room is really a hotel room as opposed to being considered a suite. The pool area and pool bar are very nice. We did have an odd encounter. On Sunday evening about 5 PM we had a knock at our door. It was the hotel cable IT department. They said they needed to work in our room for 30 minutes to work on the Wi Fi. They needed the ceiling access in our closet. I found this bit odd. I called the front desk to verify if this was a real work order, and it was. I tried to schedule it once we checked out which was going to be at 4 am the next morning. They said this would not work and needed access to our room that evening. It was a big inconvenience as I had to empty everything out of the closet. There are no in room safes so I took our valuables with us as we felt we had to leave. The front desk said they would provide us a free breakfast when I called down to verify - I said we were leaving at 4 am and that was not a bonus for us. Not sure why they booked the room knowing work had to be done.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for the best view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle05092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Michelle05092013,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay.

I apologize for the intrusion, we are in process of upgrading our WIFI service and unfortunately the workers needed access to several rooms to update cabling and install new routers. I am sorry you were not properly informed of this and we will work on improving our communication of projects such as this one.

We hope to get to welcome you back again soon and once again thank you for your review.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We got married at the public beach directly across from the Marriott and had our reception at the hotel. They did a *phenomenal* job on everything, at reasonable rates.

Sand Key is the more chilled-out, family-friendly portion of Clearwater Beach. It's also very narrow--only two blocks wide at this end. So while the Marriott is on the bayside rather than the oceanside (and therefore more reasonably priced), you're literally a stones-throw from the ocean. And the pool and facilities are really lovely. I'm already working on a campaign to go back for every anniversary.

Room Tip: Upper floors have an even better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Marriott Sand Key Clearwater Beach for some much needed vacation time. This hotel is located in beautiful Clearwater Beach, Florida with views of both the bay and gulf since it is located on Sand Key. It is actually situated on the bay side with a boardwalk granting access to off site dining and shops including the Columbia Restaurant, Backwaters Seafood and an Italian pizzeria (award winning pizza); all good dining options. We dined at them all including the "Watercolors" Restaurant on site which was very good as well; including a menu for all tastes and budgets. Two bars on the property - one poolside and one inside adjacent to restaurant. Drinks were surprisingly affordable and not priced any higher than your average bar. This hotel is a resort offering a nice tropical pool area with hot tub & cabanas for rent. Water dispensers with lemons are provided out by the pool with towel service; a nice touch. Jet skis and small watercrafts also available for rental. Beach access is within walking distance but would recommend complimentary golf cart transport if carrying chairs, beach toys, etc. Resort is also situated near a jetty park where there are walking trails and places for fishing. All rooms at hotel are suites with two good sized flat screen TV's, comfortable beds and balconies which includes nightly turn down service w/ chocolates, complimentary bottled water provided each day and coffee maker/coffee supply in room. We were on 9th floor with a spectacular view. Water pressure for shower was fantastic. Trolley will take you to downtown Clearwater Beach which is just up and across the causeway. We actually preferred staying here instead of in downtown Clearwater Beach where it was congested, crowded and expensive to park. Self parking at the hotel is free; no additional cost unless you valet. Service was excellent from most every staff member we encountered. Very pleasant staff; obviously well trained. We would highly recommend this property. "Lisa" - the tropical bird in lobby was an interesting additional as well. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mespos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After a hectic 9 days spent in Orlando, we needed 5 days to recover. The Marriott Suites at Clearwater was ideal for that. The hotel itself was not quite the same as the Hard Rock Hotel (!), but it was fine for what we wanted. The suites themselves are ideal for a family of 4 and it was lovely to have a little sitting room with kitchen facilities (of sorts - fridge, microwave, sink!) in addition to the sleeping area. Whilst the suites are a drive away from Clearwater, there were enough restaurants close by that we could walk to for breakfast / dinner if we wanted to. The area itself was nice, and we enjoyed dolphin watching on the Sea Screamer and visiting a beautiful beach on Caladesi Island. All in all a nice hotel for a relaxing stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good hotel, great views facing the water ! The suite was comfortable and adequate. The staff was pleasant and friendly. The restaurant was good for dinner; bit on the pricey side. For breakfast, if you do not have free vouchers, I won't recommend eating here. They are too busy and too small to accommodate all the guests and the service and the food selection are just average.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thepa_gubpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

All in all a very good hotel for the trip. A little bit dated perhaps but still perfectly comfortable and very little to moan about.
Another review likened it to "more motel than a suite", I tend to agree , but it was a good Motel !!

Staff were all excellent .... Stan at the poolside bar is a hoot !!

Look out for Dolphins and Manatees swimming about 30 feet from the edge of the bar/pool too !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The reception and pool area are fine, and the restaurant was OK but pricey. What was
really disappointing was the room provided - much smaller than expected. Hard to imagine how this could be considered a 'suite' The door leading to the external passageway was flimsy/ metallic so you could hear & feel anyone around banging their door. No kitchen as anticipated, other than a sink & microwave! This is the first time I have vacationed in this area - it was not good value for money in my opinion, you can do far better in Europe.

Room Tip: All rooms the same size apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Ian d,

Thank you for the time to review your stay.

I am very sorry you were not as happy with your stay as we would have wished. You are correct, all the rooms are the same size and they are considered suites as they have a separate living area and a bedroom area. This makes them considerably larger than most rooms you can find in the area in other hotels.

I am sorry you were under the impression of having a full kitchen as our suites only do have a refrdgerator, microwave, and a separate sink to create a little kitchenette. I would appreciate if you could let me know which source of advertising caused this confusion so we can correct this as we certainly do not want to give our future guests any indication that we might be providing full kitchens.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope to hear from you soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#23 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £164 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites On Sand Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing