We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel! Excellent Service and WONDERFUL buffet breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Excellent Service and WONDERFUL buffet breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend a few weeks ago as a couple!!!!

We really enjoyed this hotel! You get views from all sides of the hotel... From the back patio you have a wonderful view of the ocean. We were on a higher floor originally with a magnificent view of the ocean! Unfortunately we had a to change rooms because of the bed sizes, and went to a lower floor. At first it seemed like a bummer, because we were over the pool area (although we still had a view of the ocean). As it turns out, we LOVED it!!! From our rooms you heard nothing coming from the pool area. Not to mention, the pool area is gorgeous when looking down on it. The room is large with a kitchen area, so you can bring home left overs.

The hotel is a little older... but they've kept it up well.

The best part of the stay is the breakfast buffet! WOW!!! Now that's some great food. The wait staff is the absolute best.... We had the same waitress 2 days straight (I wish I remembered her name) she was fast efficient and fantastic. Then we had another waitress (she was from St. Thomas, Virgin Islands) and was surprisingly just as great. The host and hostesses were also super fantastic. The entire staff there was amazing.... from the front desk to the ladies cleaning the rooms. Top notch!!!!! Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had two rooms, two different floors, two different views and both excellent! I really don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmelissaprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    608
    223
    96
    53
See reviews for
763
456
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel does not have direct beach access, but this was not a problem for us, as the walk over the road to Sand Key beach was less than 500meters. The big advantadge of Sand Key is that it is just out of Clearwater Beach area, which is a busy and a times noisy area.
The one thing that we were not aware of when we booked was that remodelling of parts of the hotel would be going on during all of our stay. I did complain about the noise to the Duty Manager and he was very apologetic and offered us complementary breakfasts for the rest of our stay. So full marks to the Hotel staff! Good pool but a little crowded when busy. Food good but evening meals on the pricey side. Clean rooms all with a good view over the bay, but the rooms situated on the left side of the building have the large kitchen airconditioning plant below them, and it is noisy. We did have a good holiday, just in case you thought otherwise!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank waltweb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
825 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights leading up to the Memorial Weekend and the Sand Key location is much less frenetic than the main Pier 60 area - especially with the weekend traffic which was manic there crossing the bridge.

Check in was easy and Mike was extremely helpful and personable, especially sorting the internet for us - in fact every member of staff we encountered couldn't have been more pleasant. Our room on the top floor had great views over the bay (we did have a choice of either bay or pool view) and it was nice sitting on the balcony in the afternoon when the sun had moved round towards the beach.

Our room was plenty big enough and when I looked at other reviewer comments re refurbishments, ours must have been done because it was fine, it certainly beats a standard room. You could tell the balcony sliding doors and railings were new. There were plenty of nice fresh new towels and bathroom amenities were replenished daily. The bed and pillows were comfortable and there were plenty of sockets in the bedroom but not in the lounge area so my wife couldn't charge her ipad and use it at the same time in there. The evening bed turn down and chocolate was a nice touch and the aircon was efficient. The kitchen area has a fridge, microwave and sink but no cutlery/crockery etc - we stopped off at Walmart and purchased some cheap stuff which we left behind. Also, if you're a UK visitor there's no kettle but for around $12 Walmart provided (left from the hotel/across the Belleair bridge/keep going until the main Highway 19 and it's on the right directly after and behind the McDonalds). There are Publix stores closer but for the bits we wanted, it was worth the extra 6 miles drive for us.

The pool area doesn't give much shade and so we mainly went out during the day and went to the beach around 6pm for an hour or so. It was also noisy round the pool and crowded but that was probably due in part because of Memorial weekend although the loud music didn't help but kids seemed to enjoy themselves. We did spot dolphins on the bay from our balcony as well as from the pool boardwalk - evidently manatees and sharks have also been spotted but not by us. I accept some reviewers have commented re the location which is not on the beach but personally the view from our room and balcony was great with plenty of water activity to watch. To get to the beach you can take the free hotel buggy transport or take the short walk - pedestrian crossing, left and down the grassed public access route between the Sheraton car park and Condos. The beach is not as good as the main Clearwater area but it's shallow for a long way out.

if I had any gripes they would be - lack of crockery/cutlery/kettle for use in the kitchen, non guests using the pool and parking facilities, occasional cleaning trolley/guest pull along case noise on the walkway outside the room, lack of sockets in the lounge area. However, any negatives were far outweighed by positives.

All in all I would recommend this hotel and be happy to stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Although it is a small walk across the street to the beach, maybe a 1/4 mile. This was a very nice hotel. It sits on the inter coastal so the view is beautiful from the from the front the back. It is a little off the strip (maybe a mile) although this has it's benefits if you like a little quieter atmosphere. There a re a few restaurants that are within walking distance that are good and reasonable. My preference is to be a little closer to the strip where you have more reasonable food and shopping alternatives. The pool is gorgeous and the jet skis are available on property for the guests to go out in inter coastal. Food was good but very pricey which was to be expected for this property. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maczuga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Marriott Suites on Sand Key for my birthday weekend. Magaly at the front desk was very helpful and friendly each time I interacted with her, as were the rest of the staff. We had a gorgeous view from our room on the 9th floor. I loved that you got a view of the Gulf from the front door and the bay from the back. The room was clean and very spacious. Even though it is an older hotel, the rooms didn't seem terribly dated.

The first night we walked next door (via a boardwalk by the pool) to Columbia for dinner. We did not use the beach shuttle because we prefer Indian Rocks Beach (about 4 miles south) for relaxing and swimming. There was a small convention while we were there and they had part of the pool deck reserved. You could hear the music in the bedroom faintly with the door closed, so if you are a light sleeper I would request a high floor as I would imagine it would be louder in the rooms below ours.

I got a great deal on this room through Priceline. The normal rate seems very high to me, and if I had to pay that much I'm not sure we would have stayed in this hotel. As nice as it is, there's too many other places competing for my business to pay so much per night. All in all, it was a wonderful weekend, and for the right price I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missymae1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I am always cautious when going somewhere new so I love reviews to help. I am actually here at the hotel and felt compelled to write this while still here

Service is excellent you do not have to beg for towels in the room or at the pool
Speaking of the pool- awesome and no issue finding seats
Rooms- as I read before the rooms are in need of updating but that is what I expected and for the quality of the stay I had no issue with this
Cost of everything is a bit higher in the area so plan for that- not a big deal just add in extra in budget
Beach is not right there but they run you over so this was no issue
Beds were very comfortable and I stay in hotels every week
Showers was no frill but hot and powerful
I had one issue with my room and they have continued to make sure I have been fine - this is hard service to find in a beach type setting.

To the manager of this hotel...commend your staff for a job well done!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I are Marriott Reward Members and we decided to spend 5 days here when we had the opportunity to visit the area. We found the staff to be excellent, While I have found all Marriott staff members to be excellent, the personnel at this hotel was even a notch above the rest. The hotel is in an excellent location on Sand Key. The public facilities and the pool area are first class. This property was not originally a Marriott so I believe that is why some reviews have concerns about the rooms. My wife and I commented that this could not have been originally a Marriott since it was not in the style we had come to know. That being said I would definitely return if I am ever in the area again. My suggestion to them would be to upgrade the bathrooms before doing the sliding doors. The bathrooms, while very clean, need to be modernized to the Marriott standard. This is the only thing that prevented me from giving this property a 5. Additionally, Marriott should downgrade the rating to a 5 or 6 until improovements are made.

Room Tip: All higher rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites On Sand Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing