We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great vacation with nice people”
other travellers have booked this property
Featured in Beach by Design as Old Florida District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Featured in Beach by Design as Old Florida District
Blue Corner Cottage, Historic Beach House Granite counter tops,  brass antique walls, stainless steel fridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Featured in Beach by Design as Old Florida District
Blue Corner Cottage, Historic Beach House
Granite counter tops,  brass antique walls, stainless steel fridge
Corner Cottage day bed, sleeps 5
Corner Cottage one Bedroom House, tile kitchen table
Corner Cottage dining room one bedroom house
Remodeled antique kitchen with black granite counter tops
Corner Cottage one bedroom house, white wood headboard
Cottages along Mandalay Ave
Remodeled antique kitchen
Capt. Al offers free boat trips in summer when time permits and good weather
Blue Corner Cottage, Historic Beach House
2 sofabeds in living room
Corner Cottage Vanity, 2 shower heads
Fun, Funky, Key West style backyard
Olympic size pool 2.5 blocks walk
Karen's clubhouse, nautical inspired recreation area
Recreation area, outside dining table
Corner Cottage Front Door
Recreation area
Teens having fun in hot tub at night
New Stainless steel appliances
Clear water Cottages sign in front of Corner Cottage
Pets ok to swim in Gulf 3 blocks from Clearwater Cottages
Your Beach at the end of the block  150 steps away
Cottage Counselors Karen, Dolphin, Capt.Al welcome  you for a fun beach vacation
Kids love the water park and slides, free passes in summer
Fun , funky bedroom ,
Kids love the water park in summer, free passes 10
No streets to cross
Your beach 150 steps away
Hand made doors and 1920 s  shower
You may  Capt.Al s green canoe , bikes, water sport toys, beach chairs
Entrance behind house to fun recreation area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Clearwater, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
whitemcc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation with nice people”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed at Dolphin Cottage. We were an adult family of four. Captain Al & Karen made our stay most enjoyable. They gave great suggestions for things to do & where to eat. Had a great boating day with Captain Al on his boat. Will definitely be going back & staying at the cottages just feet away from the white sandy beach and all the great restaurants & bars just blocks away. Thanks again Captain Al, Karen & Rodney.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Dear Guests:
Karen and I are happy you had a great vacation and appreciate the kind words about myself and Karen. We are glad you got to enjoy a day of boating with us as that is many times one of the best days of our Guests vacation. Hope to see you soon.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKy
Louisville, Ky
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value, casual, personable, relaxed, original”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If these are the top 5 things you are looking for in a place to stay in Clearwater Beach, then the Hideaway at Beach Cottages is your place. Beach Cottages itself is a collection of quaint places to stay 1 block from the beach. The cottages surround a common courtyard of sorts that has a tiki bar, deck and hot tub. Either Captain Al or Karen are usually around the grounds from noon to dark. Whenever we needed something or had a question, it was taken care of by these guys. The pool is about 2 blocks down and 1 block over. It was nice and never too crowded. Even the old folks did the water slide.

We stayed at the Hideaway which sits on the backside of the brown building you see in the pictures on Google Earth. Our group consisted of 3 adults, 2 teens and a ten year old. The sleeping arrangements were fine and you could get 2 more in there with all having room to sleep. Any more folks and it would be a pinch. The only 2 drawbacks we found, based on our larger group size is the single bathroom and the limited kitchen space for food prep. Clean up after a day at the beach before heading out to grab a bite took forever with only 1 place to shower and clean up. Also, we like to prepare 1 or 2 meals a day to keep the costs down. The limited counter space will make this a challenge along with finding room to dry all those dirty dishes. Most of the necessary kitchen tools were available.

I would compare our stay to dropping in on a family cabin at the lake. Everything is down to earth, functional, homey and at a good price. If you want state of the art, pampering, and coddling, then I’d look at Sand Pearl, or the other high end resorts. We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, homey feel, laid back atmosphere
Liked least: 1 bathroom, limited kitchen space for cooking/cleaning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Dear Guests:
We are glad you had a relaxed vacation with your family at the Hideaway Beach Cottage and felt that it was a good value and love the fact that you thought it was original. Your description was very accurate and straight forward and helps other travelers know exactly what to expect. Yep, one bath, but five beds, but same price as a hotel room. Hope to see your family next summer.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,Tommy style furniture,stereo,hot tub,
Liked least: Master bedroom bed squeaky but I am a not a little dude!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Dear Guests:
We are glad your family got to enjoy an Awesome Vacation at the Tommy Bahama Island House. We are glad you felt it was Cool, fun, and had lots of Character. You felt it was Old Florida and Cool to the max with great water pressure. I am glad you commented on all the Cool things about this really cool classic beach cottage, as some guests just look for the imperfections in a house that is 100 years old. Your family got to enjoy a great real Florida Beach vacation and we look forward to your return visit next summer. And, yes, no charge for the broken ceiling fan, why create bad energy when what we are all about is helping guests have the best vacation ever.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
soccrmom7...
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location ... and the dogs loved it too!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Three adults, my daughter, my husband, and myself stayed with our three dogs. Great time had by all. There seemed to be some plumbing problems, but we were never aware of them and they were handled quickly while we were out for the day. Staff was friendly and eager to please. Just wish we would have been able to stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Dear Guests:
Thanks for you kind words about Clearwater Cottages and we are glad your family and three dogs had a great time by all. Most guests are not aware that just north of Clearwater Cottages there are no restriction on pets on the beach. And most Floridians know there dogs love swimming in the water when its 85 degrees on the beach. See you soon.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Dear Guests:
We are glad you had an almost perfect time at the Grandview Cottage. Guests have no idea how much fun it is just hanging out at the Tiki Hut as you have the best seat in the house, watching all the tourist walk by and take pictures with the Pirates at the Shipwreck across the street. We appreciate your kind words about Capt. Al and the staff. Next time ask for the Tommy Bahama Cottage which does have a Gulf of Mexico water view.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Dear Lady Marlene:
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Grandview Cottage, and enjoyed our fun Tiki Hut in the front yard. Thanks for staying with and hope we see soon.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
Dear Guests:

Thank you for your kind words about Karen and Capt. Al . We really appreciate it when our Guests feel that we are great hosts. We know how difficult a vacation with young children is, so Karen goes overboard to make everything easy. Families just love that the beach is just steps away and Pier 60 so close. We are so happy it made for a better than expected vacation.

Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing