We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best luxury beach resort on the gulf!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best luxury beach resort on the gulf!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater for 4 days in March with my wife and two children. This is truly one of the most beautiful beach properties on the gulf. We had a one bedroom corner suite with both views of the bay and the beach. What really sets this resort apart is the customer service. Hands down the best of any beach resort we have ever stayed in. I highly recommend this property if you are looking for a luxury beach hotel on the gulf.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as it will give you great views of the beach and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moondogge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdangelo301, Manager at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Moondogge,
Thank you so much for the rave review - I'm so glad you enjoyed our property! I never get tired of that beautiful view. I certainly hope to see you in Clearwater again!
Regards,
John D'Angelo
EAM Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    599
    226
    68
    52
See reviews for
1,004
668
37
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore,Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I wish I could have given this review a 4.5 out of 5 (instead of a 4)-this is a great place!

Our family of 4 (husband , me , kids ages 7 and 12)stayed in a 1 bedroom suite (which was a lovely surprise) The room(s) absolutely could not have been nicer...Everything seemed very new; kitchen and bathrooms attractively designed; interior decor very serene. Hotel service (bellman, valet, maid, room service,etc) all pleasant and efficient.

The public areas (main lobby, restaurant, 8th floor pool)- are all beautiful.

Lots of restaurants to walk to. The beach is right out the door. Yes-you cross a street, but it actually looks worse on the hotel photo! There is a crosswalk and calm drivers (at least when we were there!) -no big deal.

I read all the gripes here on Trip Advisor about the layout of the hotel being confusing. I have to say- I do not get this gripe at all! Main entrance to check : floor 1. Main lobby/restaurants-floor 2; pool floor 8.

The internet service is the only significant flaw I/we found with the Hyatt Clearwater. You can get onto the hotel network, but the internet connection was poor the 4 nights we were there. I did not complain about this, because everything else was great . And it was probably best for the 4 of us to enjoy each other more than more web surfing! But for researching the net day's plans, in a new locale, you do need the internet!

Overall-fantastic place! Hope to return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

It doesn't get better than this on the gulf coast. The service is impeccable, the suites are amazing and the location superb.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Premium Suite facing the gulf for 10 days. This was our 3rd visit in less than a year to this hotel. Bathrooms are impeccably clean. Suite had a full kitchen, and an amazing terrace. Our favorite was laying in the king bed in the master bedroom with the curtain open overlooking just the water, the sailboats and dolphins.

The pool area is clean with plenty of places to sit. Shade can be found as well. Cabana rooms can be purchased for $50 - $200 for the half or whole day. There is a private toddler pool for children that is gated and has toys.

The beach is immediately out the front of the hotel. Umbrella's and beach chairs are provided for $20. they are orange and will be set-up for you already.

The view is one of the best we've ever experienced in Florida (and we live here) and the beach on par with Siesta Key (What we consider the best beach)

We've eaten at Shor, the hotels main restaurant, more than a dozen times and it's been amazing every time. Same goes with the pool restaurant called Swim.

Hotel can be pricy, but there is nothing better on the gulf coast.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a gulf front view, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jerrod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach

Date of Stay: March 11, 2012
Total Stay: 1 Day (Daily Room/Cabana Rental)

In a nutshell, a truly beautiful property, offering excellent views of the Gulf of Mexico and some of the most spacious and amazing poolside cabanas that I have ever seen -- the perfect place to spend a relaxing pool day!

Now, for my detailed review:

My wife and I have been seeking the perfect location in the Tampa Bay Area to relax and enjoy and day at the pool and the beach, and we found the perfect location at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach!

This truly beautiful property offers something that no other property in the area does -- daily Pool Cabana Rentals. But, to say "Pool Cabana" is a misnomer -- rather than traditional exterior Cabanas at other properties, the Cabanas at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach are essentially "mini rooms" and they are rented out for the day as such. And, being a "mini room," it is important to note that Hyatt Gold Passport Members will get "point" credit for a daily rental -- but, Hyatt Gold Passport Members must also note that they will only earn "point" credit and not a "stay" credit, as this is merely a "day room rental." These cabanas are extremely affordable, and can be rented alone when not staying at the property in a standard room overnight -- as we did on this day -- or, they can be added on to your room and charged to the room. Rental costs are extremely affordable, and in line with the cost of cabanas at most properties; and, it should be noted that they can be rented either for an entire day (9a-7p) or half day (9a-2p or 2p-7p). The current rental rate varies depending on whether one rents a "small" or a "large" cabana. As for the "small" cabana -- which we rented -- it is available at the reasonable cost of $75 per half day or $150 per full day. And, the "large" cabana is available at the equally reasonable rate of $100 per half day or $200 per full day.

The cabanas are located on the 8th Floor of this beautiful property, and they surround the pool area. Each cabana offers a 42-inch flat-screen HD-television, climate controls, a phone line, and high speed internet access. Additionally, each cabana offers a private restroom, which is equipped with a very nice new vanity, towels, and a toilet. There is also a very comfortable couch and coffee table with chair. Then, the wall of the cabana facing the pool has a floor-to-cieling sliding glass door, which offers a beautiful view of the pool -- or, it can be closed off by thick darkening shades to offer privacy inside the cabana. Just outside of those sliding doors, one finds their private area on the pool deck which is equipped with comfortable lounge chairs, small tables for drinks, and a large table for dining or sitting. This pool deck area is full covered, offering shade to those who want it -- or, you can pull this furniture out into beyond the shade onto the pool deck for you to be able to soak in the sun. And, each set of pool deck furniture is equipped with a service button so that you can easily page a bartender for drinks or food. All-in-all, these cabanas offer a truly perfect place to relax poolside.

The food options are great! All food and drink is served by excellent pool side servers from "Swim," which is the poolside bar and grille restaurant. It offers wonderfully strong poolside drinks at a reasonable price, and excellent food -- I highly recommend the Cuban sandwich! Service is very quick and efficient based on the "service button" and your drinks will never run low.

As for parking, one should know that parking is not included in the cost of a cabana daily rental, but the parking cost is very reasonable for a beach side resort -- self parking is $16 per day, which can be validated by eating at one of the property restaurants or bars, and valet is offered for $20 per day. I highly recommend splurging for the valet parking option, as the valet service is extremely quick and efficient.

All-in-all, the Cabana/Daily Room Rental at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach allows for a truly amazing place to just rest and relax poolside for a day. It also allows for easy access to Clearwater Beach. I highly recommend that anyone staying at this property rent a Cabana for the day, as well as anyone in the area who just wants a day at the pool. I promise that these Cabanas are some of the best that you will ever see!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AttorneyVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear AttorneyVin:

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit to our Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate all of the attention to detail you've given to us. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at our pool cabanas, and we hope to welcome you back for more relaxation by the pool.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san Diego
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed Five nights from 3/11-3/16 in a two bedroom suite. Its a new hotel so everything is new and current. All of the rooms have a full kitchen which is nice and the service was very good. We ate at the restaurant (Shor's) five times for breakfast and two times for dinner---all of the meals were very good and the service impeccable. The hotel sits right on the beach (and what a great beach it is!) and you can walk to at least 10 different restaurants for dinner. Clearwater Beach is a hidden gem and the Hyatt is probably the best hotel along the beach. We took in a couple of spring training games as well--the Toronto Blue Jays are 15 minutes away in Dunedin and the Phillies are in Clearwater about 10-15 minutes away. Its probably 30 -35 minutes from the Tampa airport to Clearwater Beach. All in all a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay at our resort. I am glad you found your two bedroom suite to be well appointed. It sounds like you really enjoyed our restaurant Shor. They have delicious food and great service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

PROS:
- Clean. The rooms, lobby, pool area etc. all look and feel impecibly clean. The floors in the lobby are buffed nightly.
- Decor. Gorgeous decor throughout.
- Comfortable beds.
- Kitchen in rooms.
- Location - very close to beach
- Friendly staff (for the most part)

CONS:
- Layout. It makes no sense. What everyone says about the layout is true, it's completely illogical
- COMPLETELY OVERPRICED. I got this hotel on a third party site. I would never pay the listed price.
- Slow service. Our room was slow to get attended to, room service was slow, dinner was slow.
- Limited room service menu, especially breakfast
- Resort fee. Such a rip off. $20 for 2 small bottles of water and internet? Oh and 2 pool towels? Complete rip off

Overall, I would stay here again but only if I could find a really good deal of less than $150 a night.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shoegal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were travelling with a 20 month old baby so the addition of the kitchen was perfect for our needs.

The rooms were spacious with great views over Clearwater beach however there wasn't a light on the balcony so sitting outside on the evening was out.

Breakfast was good value at $20 but evening diner was expensive for the environment and service.

The pool was lively with music and the kids play area was superb. Another useful additional was complementary laundry facilities.

My biggest gripe with the Hyatt was the service. The basics were there that's for sure - everyone was very polite but quite often people didn't listen and were quite robotic with their response. They certainly did not over deliver and they should at £250 a night. We arrived late and tried to get milk from room service for our daughter. It was going nowhere so I had to resort to finding a store myself.

The exception was a chap called Tim a waiter at breakfast on our last morning, he was very natural, genuine and delivered first class service - I hope the hotel realizes what an asset they have -this guy should train the others.

In summary a very clean and modern hotel with good albeit expensive facilities. On the downside the service was a bit wooden and in some instances sloppy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing