We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, decent hotel but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New york
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great view, decent hotel but some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom corner suite (king and queen) on the south side of the 11th floor facing the Gulf. It had a lovely view from the king bedroom and the balcony. I really enjoyed lying in bed and seeing the gorgeous blue Gulf sea straight ahead through the large window. And sitting on the balcony watching the sunsets every day was truly a joy.

We used the kitchen like crazy and ended up eating out only twice the week we were there. The kitchen was limited with supplies and we had to ask for a garbage bag every day...seriously, if you like to cook..the kitchen is kind of a joke. Biggest things missing: a large frying pan and a casserole dish or baking pan. But we managed somehow.

I'd say my biggest complaint was the maid service. They couldn't seem to get it down that we needed a new garbage bag and new kitchen towels daily. Maybe other people don't cook as much, not sure. And one of the cleaning ladies was downright surly.

Our shower in the king bedroom leaked profusely. In their defense, they sent 3 people up to look at it...but it is a basic design flaw. So, we used piles of towels to sop up the puddle daily.. kind of weird...not a fun thing to do on vacation.

The 2nd bedroom, the "queen" room was kind of small, did not have it's own bathroom and was just kind of lame compared to the King room....

Furniture and carpets are dated...lots of stains on carpets. But the king bed was quite comfy. The pull out couch is atrocious...my thin 8 year old daughter complained that the springs were sticking into her back all night. For an adult, forget it...

The pool situation at the hotel is not so great...it is on the 8th floor so you can't pop from beach to pool and back without going inside, up the elevator.
And the hot tub is on the 16th floor, kind of a pain when you want to sit in the hot tub while your kids swim.

The beach itself is quite fabulous for Florida. It does get very crowded in the day though. And the cabana rentals cost extra. But oh, that beautiful blue sea and powder soft white sand......sigh...

The hotel restaurant, The Shore, was ok. Nothing to write home about...but for hotel food...pretty good.

Overall, the service in the hotel was very friendly and guest services was very good, brought things up fast and with a smile.

The view from the room was the winning point of the our stay for sure....really lovely.

Room Tip: Definitely request to be in a corner room facing the Gulf....very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,280
    615
    235
    72
    53
See reviews for
1,043
686
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The location, rooms and decor of the hotel are world-class. Our room was huge and it was the nicest view of any hotel we have stayed at anywhere in the world. Watching the sun set into the Gulf of Mexico was a nightly treat for us. We traveled with our children ages 6 and 10 and our room was spacious enough for all of us to spread out. I was surprised that the hotel only offered one restaurant choice and it was average at best. All other services were limited, too. I must say the concierge staff was helpful and right on with their recommendations. Some of the staff were very friendly and others not as much. Good service was not systemic throughout the hotel. The wait to check in was long and online check-in was not working. I think better customer service is an opportunity for this hotel. I would stay here again as the location, cleanliness and opulence of the hotel are the best in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Good room, great view, great location...but....

1 - we've eaten at the restaurant and the service was indifferent ... When the pulled pork tacos were said to be really bland all they could offer up is salsa and didnt bother to ask if that made it better.

2 - service at pool has been very slow

3 - room cards have been demagnified twice...and the last time they insisted on getting security to escort us back ...pain in the you-know-where...i was with my grumpy 4 month old and just wanted to get to the laundry room. Don't get me wrong i apprciate security doing what they have to do...but why these cards are getting demagnified as opposed to every other hotel on the planet i don't know.

4 - didnt have the crib we pre-ordered .... Took some nagging to get it

All in all...a really good hotel, and close to 4 or 5 out of 5...but there's been some small annoyances

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This Hyatt has a great location. Great rooms with full kitchens. They thought of everything. There is even complimentary washer and dryer, just provide the detergent. Traveling with four teenagers this is the place to be. The beach is right out behind the hotel. Pier 60 is a few feet away. There is easy access to groceries for your full kitchen yet lots of delicious restaurants to choose from as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Good Afternoon Debra G,

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort and Spa for you most recent stay in Clearwater. We are so thrilled you had a wonderful time and you found our hotel amenities such as the laundry room and full kitchens were very helpful for this trip. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next vacation.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stopped by in the second floor upscale bar that overlooks the Gulf of Mexico. The bar menu for food is quite good . Ate in the bar as well and service and food great. The bar is easily accessed from the public walkway along the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Greetings shanenolan2,

Thank you so much for recommending Skimmers Bar to our future guests to the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort and Spa. We are so pleased with all the great remarks on our service and food you provided! We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Clearwater.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel blew away my expectations. My husband used his Hyatt points and we stayed here while passing through Florida to go to Cape Coral. We typically use Marriott points for these things but thought this hotel looked nice. Let me just say - Goodbye Marriott! Fantastic room with a great view, comfortable beds and exceptional service. I had the best dirty martini I have ever had in the hotel bar and the bartender was not only extremely talented but also friendly and pleasant to talk to. Loved the location as you could walk to restaurants or the beautiful beach. The noise around the hotel was very noticeable but they do a fantastic job putting radios with sound makers that make you feel like you are on a tropical beach somewhere in the jungle. You can choose to use them or not. I kept mine going the whole time :-). We went to stay in a Westin Hotel the next day and all I could think about was how I wished we were still at the Hyatt in Clearwater. We won't stay anywhere else next time we are in the Clearwater area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiePAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
JackiePAtlanta,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Resort and Spa. Goodbye Marriott is right! We are so thrilled to hear these words and so happy our hotel and great team members made this trip so memorable. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel. Great staff made everything flow smoothly. Perfect location for all beach activities. Pool is noisy but escape to the beach is easy option. It is a short walk to exciting restaurants and shopping. Boat tours are right across the street. Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our resort in Clearwater Beach with your wife. It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed very much your stay and you will recommend this resort for its perfect location close to all beach activities, short walk to all exciting restaurants and shopping in the area, boat tours right across the street and of course the great staff who made things flow smoothly during your stay. Your appreciation was forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you in the near future.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing