We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beach away from the crowds of Clearwater beach”
Review of Sand Key Park

Sand Key Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.98*
and up
Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Sea Screamer Boat Ride
Ranked #5 of 84 things to do in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent beach away from the crowds of Clearwater beach”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My Daughter found so many shells - sand dollars too! And we found shark teeth. It was a Thursday, and noone else was really out there. The sand is still white - not unaturally so. We saw dolphins swimming about 25 feet off shore too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mebeling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    366
    92
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome public beach”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Immaculate shower rooms, changing rooms and bathrooms. Wide, white beach. Lots of inexpensive parking. In a resort area. Wonderful amenities like rental chairs and cabanas. This public beach access is nicer than many hotel beaches I have stayed at.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WordlyWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Park, Expensive Parking”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Sand Key Park not only has a large park, but a large beach as well! Unfortunately, it is meter parking, which does add up if you want to spend the day there. The view is fantastic, so worth going there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This beach is just as beautiful as Clearwater Beach and is located just across the bridge from it. Unlike Clearwater Beach, this one is more private. There are not vendors here (except for one for beach rentals, i.e. beach chairs, umbrellas, waverunners, etc. I walk this beach regularly as I live near it. There is plenty of parking and picnic tables, but if you want a raucous party atmosphere, this is not it. I hesitate to rate it too high as I like the secluded nature of this special place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try Ft Desoto Instead”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

All of us locals go down to Ft Desoto. It's a much better beach. Stay out of the Clearwater area as much as possible due to the City Police preying on tourists. After you have finished on the beach at Ft Desoto hand around untill after sunset. The view of the Skyway is magnificent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sand Key Park also viewed

 

Been to Sand Key Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing