We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day in Clearwater!”

Dream Catcher Explorations
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Snorkeling at 3 Rooker Bar "Wild Life Preserve" Private Island Excursion tours. Also see wild dolphin, go on tubing rides and find great shells "This will be the highlight of your vacation" 3 & 4 hour tours. Soft drinks,snorkel and safety gear included.
Allen, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Day in Clearwater!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We went on Captain Mike's 4 hour tour in early August. My husband, 3 boys (ages 6, 8, and 12), and I had a wonderful day! Taking a relaxing boat ride with great music and refreshments, tubing, snorkeling, kayaking, and hunting for big shells was a great way to spend the morning. A highlight was seeing several dolphins along the way. We think this is a terrific value and will please the whole family! Mike is a great guy, knowledgeable about the area and the sea creatures, and is easy to get along with. Thanks, Mike for a great day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Great Half Day”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Captain Mike found exactly the right balance between a safe experience for our party of six and not spoiling or overburdening us with dos and donts. The weather was not ideal but Mike catered for this, sticking to the intercostal waterway whilst still getting lots of different activities in. The teens in the party had a particularly good time. Mike willingly shares his long experience of the area and his dinner recommendation (Rumba - see separate review) turned out to be a real winner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I took our 4 year old on a trip to Clearwater, and Captain Mike's tour was definitely the highlight of our trip. Our son was so excited to see dolphins, and he also had a blast tubing, kayaking and snorkeling for the first time. And wow. The sea shells we collected on one of the islands were huge! It was obvious Captain Mike plans for adults as well as kids on board--very thoughtful! And, his added touch of refeshing drinks and watermelon was a great way to relax and stay cool! We reallly had a great time and would recommend his tour to everyone. Thank you for a great experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina91581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Once again... THE best day with Capt. Mike!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was my families second time with Capt. Mike. Opt for the 4 plus hour trip where you get to do everything he offers. Super easy to set up a trip as he keeps his cell near even when he is out on another trip. Try and book a morning trip if you can as the gulf is calmer. The trip out was smooth as silk and the tubing was one of the highlights. Even my four year old was able to experience the tubing for the first time! He was pumped!!! The dolphins swimming around us while we were on the tube was surreal! Last year we were unable to snorkel due to the rough water, so experiencing it this year was my favorite. The private island to shell and walk is simply sublime! A cooler full of ice cold drinks, fresh cut cold watermelon, tropical music, you name it he has it. We have tried it all from St. Pete to Clearwater and this is well worth whatever it takes to take this tour. Thanks again Capt. Mike!!! ( ....and make sure you ask him about his illegal fishing expeditions... Ha!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMike73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect way to spend some time at the beach away from theme parks!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were in Orlando for family vacation. We wanted to spend a day at the beach, Gulf side. I contacted Capt. Mike before our trip to make arrangements, Once we were in FL - Mike called to confirm but also recommended moving our trip up a few hours to avoid bad weather (Tropical Storm Andrea) We got to the boat about 10am. Captain Mike wasn't worried about the clouds, so neither were we. He took us out and gave all the kids (girls 9&12, boys 15&17) tube rides in the ocean. They were thrilled! We got to the snorkeling spot and miraculously, the sun came out! This was the first time the kids had snorkeled and they loved it! My 17 YO said it was the best part of the trip! We then went to the island for more snorkeling, shelling, swimming, etc. On the way back, Captain Mike worked to find dolphins. They swam along the boat, in our wake and with other boats. The four hours flew by and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The kids loved every minute of it! It was such a better option that just lying on the beach all day with kids looking to be entertained. Book in advance, be flexible around the weather and trust your Captain!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dream Catcher Explorations also viewed

 

Been to Dream Catcher Explorations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing