We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, nice clean room, good landscaping, less than helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We booked a room through Marriott's 800#, sight-unseen, hoping for something close to the water, but mainly looking for quiet & affordable. Fairfield isn't my favorite among the Marriott chains, as I've been spoiled by the others.

Compared to other Marriotts, this Fairfield is pretty good but unexceptional. Compared to other chains in the same price riange, it's very good. We had a quiet room, comfy bed, and no hassles.

The girl working the front desk at check-in was clueless and rude, as if this job was *sigh* SO beneath her. When I asked her where I should park and what side our room was on, she rolled her eyes and said "I don't know, I just started". Sweetheart, it took me 2 minutes and a floorplan to figure out where eveything was - do your job.

When this is how you're greeted, it leaves a bad taste and fouls the experience from the start. We DID get a quiet room, and that's what I wanted most. If a desk clerk with attitude is the worst part of an on otherwise decent stay, that's not so bad. But it's also not worth more than $100/night. The desk folks working the next morning were very nice. We skipped breakfast, not sure if there is one.

There are signs in the parking lot about not leaving valuables in your car, and I believe them. The hotel didn't seem to be in a rough neighborhood per se, but I wouldn't walk around here alone at night.

The hotel sits right at the end of the Causeway and the Bayside Bridge, which makes for a unique view and convenient access. We didn't do a lot of exploring, but didn't see many other hotels nearby. A few office buildings, otherwise it's a mostly residential area. Fast food, strip malls, and car dealerships are just down the road. Quiet waterfront is a minute or two by car, but that's just so you don't have to negotiate the large intersections by foot. Seems like there would be a lot of places to access the beach near here.

There are palms and spanish moss all around the parking lot, which was very nice. If I were in the area, I would stay here again if the price was right, and if they get a desk clerk who actually does her job and doesn't resent the guests.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXRoadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2010

I found this hotel in a booklet that we picked up at the Florida welcome center. We were able to get a room for 59 dollars using a coupon that was in the booklet. It was good through the end of January. I think the hotel industry is really hurting and that there are bargains to be had. Ask for the best price when booking and see what they can do for you even if it is "in season". The hotel was very nice. It was clean and bright and the room smelled neutral as this is a totally nonsmoking hotel. The breakfast included waffles, sausages, bagels etc. We were thrilled to get such a good deal after checking the website and seeing prices over a hundred dollars. Go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I absolutely love this hotel! We stay there every time we are in the area. Much better than the Ramada Inn down the street which we spent one restless night listening to the traffic noise through the paper thin entry door. This hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff is THE BEST! I use a Roomsaver coupon and they always have availability (unlike some hotels who try to say those rooms at the coupon rate are all taken). The hotel has a very nice pool and whirlpool. There is also a business center with computers, which has come in handy. The continental breakfast is better than most hotels I've stayed at. We have stayed at the hotel at least 8-10 times and have never had a problem with vagrants lurking in the parking lot or noisy guests. The parking lot does get full, but that's one of the downsides to staying in a great hotel...everybody wants to stay there! The hotel is very close to lots of stores and restaurants. The beach is somewhat far. This a great hotel for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmajane2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Excellent hotel: staff very efficent (check inn and check out are very quick), rooms are big and clean. The wireless internet works inside and outside (near the pool). There are a lot of good restaurants nearby. The complimentary breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert97200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August .We just wanted a bit of peace and quiet and relaxation after a hectic 10 days in Orlando and before a further hectic 7 days in NYC.

Location was immediately on the right at the end of a bridge over from Tampa. Most amenities were a short drive away. 10 minutes drive to Clearwater beach/ Pier 60. 20-30 minutes drive to Tampa Aiport.

Car parking appeared plentiful. The car park was well lit.

Reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming. I must note in particular a staff member named Randall who was very professional, pleasant and helpful. At check in we were advised of the hotel facilities which included an outdoor pool (with towels) open until 11pm, a fitness room, a business center with two computers and free internet access and a breakfast room .

We had two connecting rooms with bathrooms well stocked and regularly serviced. Beds were very comfy.

Breakfast was complimentary and included Kelloggs cereals, waffles/ waffle maker, muffins, doughnuts, bread/ toaster, juice, tea, coffee.

This was a pleasant and relaxing stay with attentive staff. I would recommend this for anybody looking for a good value( bargain rates!) no frills base for exploring Tampa, Clearwater and surrounding areas

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hvgazzacrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

It was my second time going to the Tampa area for Spring Training and didn't want to stay in Tampa, because I was going to both Yankees and Phillies games, visiting family in Clearwater and wanted to go to the beach. I booked it mostly because of it's price and central location, but was a little nervous ... until I got there. It ended up being 20-ish minutes (depending on traffic) to the Yankees facility and practically around the corner from the Phillies. It was also a straight and short drive to the Clearwater beaches. It was absolutely perfect for what I was looking for and needed.

Their breakfast bar in the morning was always fresh and fully stocked, which was a great money saver because it was included in our room price. And, it wasn't just pastries and cereal. There was microwave egg sandwiches, yogurt, fruit, everything.

This wouldn't be a good place for someone who wants to go out and party in Clearwater, unless you are going to use a cab, but it was an absolutely perfect location if you are going to a Spring Training game - especially at the Phillies' complex.

The person I was traveling with is allergic to down pillows and sure enough, we had one in our room. It was pretty late when we got in and the gentleman at the front desk was very help and got us a different pillow right away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachchick922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at Fairfield for a couple of days/nights. It's an average Mariott hotel with nothing exceptional or extraordinary. Comfortable room to stay.

It is more suited for business travelers but not really a family friendly hotel. It almost felt awkward to have young children stay in a hotel with only business travelers around...

They have complimentary breakfast but again very basic items, there is a high calorie micro-waveable Jimmy dean sandwich with bacon/egg on the breakfast menu.

We decided to stay here since we had little children and were not really sure how a beach front property experience would be in clearwater, from a safety perspective and an evening crowd perspective...especially since we heard some bad experiences with some other beach front hotels in the area.

We used the Pool and it was all for ourselves so that was a good experience.

The Clearwater beach is about 10-15minutes away. So you could go & come back whenever you want.The clearwater beach is a beauitful place.....

So overall if you are only looking for a bed & a no frill breakfast, you should stay here....If you are looking for a family friendly place , this may not be the best place especially for a vacation friendly place.......

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bom-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
7.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Clearwater Beach
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater

Address: 3070 Gulf To Bay Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33759-4309
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#20 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £81 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater is conveniently located near Clearwater Beach, Tampa International Airport and Saint Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport. Free breakfast and Wi-Fi is provided with every stay. All rooms feature a mini fridge. Upgrade to a suite for a microwave. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool/whirlpool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Clearwater Bayside Hotel Clearwater
Fairfield Inn Clearwater
Fairfield Clearwater
Clearwater Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing