We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Dolphin Sightings in 2 trips”

Encounters With Dolphins
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$52.00*
and up
Clearwater to Tarpon Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come join us on a fun filled, narrated sightseeing tour of Clearwater's harbor. Enjoy a relaxing ride while you learn about our abundant wildlife, and view the area's dolphins in their natural environment. Every trip stops at Compass Island where you can collect shells, swim, snorkel and the kids can even hunt for treasure! Dolphin sightings are guaranteed*. Excursions depart from the Clearwater Beach Marina multiple times every day. Spend an hour and a half to an hour and forty five minutes with our highly trained crew in the Clearwater Harbor on board our 40 foot Coast Guard inspected excursion boat. For twenty to thirty minutes during your trip, the boat will stop at Compass Island where you will have the opportunity to shell hunt through thousands of shells, swim, snorkel (gear is provided) and enjoy the island. Our boats are available for charter as well. If you're looking for something more intimate with friends and family on the water we can accommodate. We have done weddings, rehearsal dinner socials, proposals, birthday parties, bachelor parties, anniversaries, school and church groups and family reunions.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Perry Hall, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Dolphin Sightings in 2 trips”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We took advantage of the free retrip if you don't see dolphins but did see them and had to go 3 times to get a trip because they kept cancelling due to lack of paying riders. I thought that they would go into the gulf but they stayed in the bay area. The captain was nice and entertaining but they need a better tour route I think.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    42
    25
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth it folks!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I took my kids (7 and 17 months) on this excursion today. The captain of the boat was drunk. I didn't catch his name, but it was clearly apparent and my husband could smell it on his breath. I get that your job as the captain can get boring and mundane. But those are no excuses for that! I was furious! Highly unprofessional and your company needs to look into this!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Andreaandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had a great trip with Encounters with Dolphins. The captain and Misty were great hosts. We managed to spot 2 dolphins and the captain was able to get the boat nice and close. We have 2 kids 11 and 8 and they enjoyed the experience as well. Thank you for the great day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Encounters w Dolphins”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Good value, nice time, a little chilly & we were impressed when the first mate brought everyone nice soft clean blankets. Visited small shell island, experienced beautiful sunset & this is where we saw our first dolphin that actually was tossing and playing with an eel! The Captain was very nice about following the dolphins so we all could have a great time & get pics! Played good mixture of music. Nice way to add going out on the water to your beach vacation. Loved the pictures you can purchase at the end of your trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CSmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Fun”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Guide was informative but at some point she just seemed to drone on and on and on with useless information. It was like she was just trying to fill the void. The tour itself was wonderful and we saw plenty of Dolphins. Sometimes silence on a Dolphin Tour is a good thing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Encounters With Dolphins also viewed

 

Been to Encounters With Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing