We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoy this little gem”

Grind House Bar and Grill
Ranked #166 of 690 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Grind House Bar and Grill is your Neighborhood English pub with great home made food from both sides of the pond. Whether you are looking for authentic fish n'chips,Shepherds Pie, Beef & Guinness pie, Cornish pasties or Scotch Eggs from the English side or best wings in town, big juicy burgers from the American side of the menu. Grind House is the place to be. Happy Hour everyday from 3pm to 6pm (At the bar ONLY). Tuesdays-2 for 1 Shepherds Pie,Wednesdays-Play Live Team Trivia win house Cash 7:30pm, Thurdsays-2 for 1 Fish n'Chips,Fridays-Fun night w/Games + Drink specials,Saturdays- Karaoke, come be the star u are!!!Sundays- Tradition Roast dinner w/ all the trimmings, yorkshire pudding.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoy this little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant after visiting their booth at a street festival in Safety Harbor last November. We go often and love it. Best fish and chips around. Disappointed they took out Bass Beer though as that is a favorite of ours. Have tried most of the traditional British fare on the menu. No matter what you order you won't be disappointed. Love the Tuesday Shepard pie bogo special and the Thursday fish and chips bogo special! Thanks mom!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovinClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowdSmartMedia, Public Relations Manager at Grind House Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
LovinClearwater,

Thanks for your great review, we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Like being in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The food, service an value was over the top. Oh, and the beer too! We love London and felt that being at the Grind House was as close as you can get.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowdSmartMedia, Public Relations Manager at Grind House Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Scottawen,

Thanks for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

On Thursdays they offer a 2 for 1 fish and chips (with purchase of two beverages). While in a shopping center the atmosphere is as close to an English Pub as you can get in the states. English fish and chips is usually haddock, hake, or cod and this was none of the above. I asked and the answer was a bit vague so I suspect Basa or a similar white fish. Still, the batter was light, the fish moist and flaked in big chunks, was cooked just right and with a dose of malt vinegar was tasty and filling. A small cole slaw on the side and a cold Newcastle pint to wash it down made for a fine value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowdSmartMedia, Public Relations Manager at Grind House Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Tony L, thanks for the review! We're glad you liked our Fish & Chips, it's one of the things The Grind House is known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Everything !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Went to Clearwater for 2 months from Feb. 18 thru April 23 ! Ended up going to 35 diff. restaurant/bars in that time ! Came home & broke them down from best to worse! All are in Pinellas County but one ! This place is rated # 1 by me !! Went here 5 times between Feb.18 & Mar.25 ! All the food was perfect : 49 cent wings(mon.) & chili =twice ; the english mixed grill ( steak,chick.,saus.);shepherd's pie ,chick.parm.(tues.) & quesadillas ! The beer selection was excellant : Jai Alai,Dogfish ,Guiness plus Bloody Mary! The service was just right ,and the atmosphere was what my girl friend & I like = Eng./Irish pub ! Look for more reviews ( mostly in Clearwater,Clearwater Beach,Dunedin,and Tarpon Springs ! # 2 restaurant is next to Sea Dog Brewing in Clearwater! Will write in next 2 days !!??

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowdSmartMedia, Public Relations Manager at Grind House Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Donald, thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A bar, in a plaza with food and music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We made a special trip here to get Beer-battered fish fry, which they do have on the menu. They have either cod, or Basa. WHat about Haddock? Doesn't anybody know that all of us from UpNorth Crave a really good fish Fry?? Well, anyway, I ordered the Small, which really was small--just one deck of card sized piece of haddock and a handful of fries. If you want Cole slaw, it is extra! Have you ever heard of such a thing? Salads are extra too. A bottle of beer was nearly $4, but the fish was pretty cheap--just under $9. Saw lots of people here and some of the other menu items looked interesting, but we only had the fish. A band was setting up while we dined, literally inches from our table, so if you sit in the back, be sure to ask if the band will be playing that night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLWS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grind House Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Grind House Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing