We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be happier, Chart House Suites is wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier, Chart House Suites is wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I were hoping for a restful getaway. We got that and much, much more. Our thanks to Diane Bates, Hotel Manager, for her warm welcome and caring attentiveness to our comfort. We chose Chart House Suites because their website was specific about its being in a quiet, residential part of Clearwater Beach, and we were happily out of the fray of the touristy part of the beach. It never occurred to me to worry about leaving beach chairs, beach bags, other items in the back seat of the car, it was such a safe part of town. This is definitely what I consider to be a boutique hotel. Charming. Had we chosen to do so, we could have walked everywhere. Yet when we drove to Pier 60, to wonderful restaurants, to the beach (Sand Key State Park right across the bridge) we never had a problem parking. We stayed on the 4th (top) floor in a surprisingly roomy suite with a kitchenette. We really enjoyed having coffee in the morning on the balcony overlooking the marina, delightful. In our travels we have stayed at many large (and impersonal) hotel chains (pay to park, breakfast on their time), as well as bed and breakfasts (ditto) and boutique hotels (quaint but without wifi and tv). When we return to Clearwater, we will definitely return to Chart House Suites.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennesseeretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you loved it here. The Chart House really is a truly boutique hotel located in the quiet area of Clearwater Beach. Diane and all of her staff treat all of their guests like members of their own families; which really sets apart the Chart House from any other hotel on the beach. I promise you, when you return - Diane will remember you as well as the room you had. We really do pride ourselves as a company on providing personalized service to all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    72
    22
    7
    11
See reviews for
102
94
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We did check in very late on Friday Nov 8 when we got to the room it did not smell very good, toilet was not working, room was not so clean, and the balcony had cig butts on it. We were switched to a new room the next day and was better the only complaint was it is outdated and could use repair...oops sorry there was a complaint we got in from an amazing day including meeting Hulk Hogan then I went to lie down having a beer then my wife jumps to find a bed bug almost on my 4 year olds face ...needless to say we had to leave at midnight! The person before us checked out one night early makes a person wonder why...the front desk people were nice actually really nice.. I just think this place needs a renovation and a pest control person in to fix the bedbugs before they take over. I never give bad reviews check my postings unfortunately this is my first ... 1.5-2 stars at best

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent stay. I'm sorry that you were so disappointed. As hospitality people we never like to hear that our guests were displeased. We did have a licensed pest control company come and treat the room you stayed in as well as the ones near by. The pest service found no evidence of current bugs or larvae nor were there any dead bed bugs. Perhaps it is possible that it was actually a sand flea? I have also advised the owner of your comments regarding the furniture being outdated. I sincerely hope your future travels are far more relaxing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huffman, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

First of all, it was a 15-20 walk to get access the sand and beach. However, if you have a boat, the docks are right behind the building. We didn't feel it was safe because the doors to the outside are always unlocked. The front desk closes at 7pm and there is no help unless it is an emergency; they give you the number when you first check in. The ceiling fans were filthy and there were many bugs in the light fixture. The corners of the room and bath were not clean. Eating places are near the beach, so you either have to walk the distance you take your car and parl.

I will never come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationersfromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I'm sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. I have spoke to the maintenance staff as well as the housekeeper to ensure light fixtures are more regularly dusted and polished. Next time your travels bring you to Clearwater Beach please remember that "Free Beach Rides" is always available to bring you to dinner, the beach or just around the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was clean and roomy, nice patio to enjoy the outdoors, the bed was comfortable, the rates were reasonable and the office staff was very friendly and efficient. We felt this was an excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: An excellent value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Kim_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I came to Clearwater Beach for a family wedding. We loved everything about the Chart House. It has character (not the cookie-cutter sameness of the chains) it's quiet and has a great view of water, boats, birds and dolphins. All of this and still within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations etc. When in the area we will definitely return to the Chart House.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the bay and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from another fabulous weekend at the Chart House. We were greeted by Diane Bates, the Hotel Manager, who remembered us and gave us our favorite room overlooking our boat in their
marina. This was our third stay with them and we will surely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We checked in at night so the room we got was what we were stuck with for the night. The room (#106) was at a 90 degree angle to the front door of the hotel. Being as we arrived late, we tried to sleep in, however this was not possible with the extreme noise from guest checking in as well as the front door to the hotel slamming from 8am until I got up and went to the front desk.

Diane was very accommodating and gave my significant other and I a free upgrade to the 4th floor suite, as this was the only room available for the weekend. This place would have been top notch in the early 90's. Now, I would classify it as very "boutique-y", and somewhat dated.

However I was very pleased with the extra space for seating & a pull out bed, as well as the jack and jill bathroom. Both room had the essential amenities. Suite had 2 large closets, standard had 1 medum size closet. They also have a kitchenette which is very convenient. There was a stove, and all the necessary cookware to make a full course meal in the suite. (The standard room did not include stove or cookware) Balcony was large with patio furniture, however no shade in the 4th floor. Standard room had the balcony above for shade. Balcony on the bay side are right on the board walk.

During prime/busy hours/weekends, water temperature in showers are just shy of warm. Slightly inconvenience but it is do-able. This occured in the 4th floor suite. Shower was never attempted in the standard 1st floor room.

The bed in the standard room was nothing special, nor were the pillows. The suite has a much comfier bed as well as a pether of pillows. Both rooms were very spacious.

Where ever you were in the hotel, it smells like a mix between a beach hotel and tattoo shop or dentist office (I think due to thier cleaning supplies).


Overall i do recommend this hotel. For the price it is a real value. Clean, but nothing fancy.

AND PLEASE DO NOTE, YOu will need to drive to any destination as this is a good walk to the main attractions. The beach is walkable but the nightlife is not. Great for families and older adults.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.8 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.5 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
1.5 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay

Property: Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Address: 850 Bayway Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located on the Intracoastal Waterway next to the Yacht Club. Known as the best kept secret on Clearwater Beach; this gem has beautiful rooms and suites and a great home away from home feel about it. We also welcome your four legged companions too! Enjoy all the fun of Clearwater Beach while getting a good night sleep in our quiet off the beaten path hotel. You'll only be a stranger to us once at the Chart House Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chart House Suites On Clearwater Bay Hotel Clearwater
Chart Hotel On Clearwater Bay
The Chart House Suites
Chart House Suites On Clearwater Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing