We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of New Yorker Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Yorker Motel
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Overall, this is exactly what I was looking for. It's nothing too fancy, but just perfect for what I was looking for for my dad and myself. A clean place. AC worked great. Pool was awesome too. The owners / management were friendly. Walking distance to just about anything in Clearwater Beach. If you want something fancy and are willing to pay 3x as much, pick a different place. If you don't have a lot of needs and are just looking for a clean, simple place to sleep that is near the beach, this is perfect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy you stayed with us and are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Best,
The New Yorker Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    1
    5
    13
See reviews for
13
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

You have to do everything yourself, get your toilet paper, water, towels. There is nothing worth staying here. There is no service. Go to the holiday inn. The pots and pans are old. The bedding is old. The people are slightly rude. It's unfortunate but you get what you pay for. They have so much potential but they choose to avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bkusz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My best friend and I stayed 2 nights at the New Yorker and enjoyed every moment. The room and pool were very clean and the owners were very nice. Only steps away from the beach! We will most definitly stay there again on our return next year!

Room Tip: We had room 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next stay.

Best,
The New Yorker Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Please read other reviews. Can only think the one positive review must be the owner or a relative. Same bad experience for us and wouldn't have stayed there but for everywhere being booked up for spring break. We had been driving 7 hours looking for a place to stay and this was left. Had to haggle with manager for towels/ toilet paper and he seemed awfully busy outside our frosted un-blinded window every time i used the bathroom! Not a nice place or a nice man. Weird combo type thing in room sink/hob/fridge (see pictures) scared of being electrocuted whilst washing up. Very dirty hovel and would sooner have slept in car. Heed this warning!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suzif72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Nasty place, Nasty owner..Not sure why we gave this motel another chance for spring break. The place is a dump. No cleaning service, you have to get your own towels and toilet paper. We were told that the room 112 was the only one available, because the others were being remodeled. This year for spring break we asked for two rooms and got the same crap. The hotel is not kid friendly..AT ALL!!!! Our kids were told to clean up crumbs outside (are you kidding me??) our rooms don’t get vacuumed and I’m paying for my kid to pick up crumbs?? We got the same room and one with wet carpeting, so we had to walk on a wet bed sheet, 2 broken drawers, and the grill didn’t have utensitls for clean or cooking. The final day the freak says “You need to get that crying kid in the room because this scene here looks like child abuse” That did it!! We had words my husband came to my defense. We got a NICE room with kitchen three beds fold out coaches, pool across the street (This was the same hotel he bashed and said it was nasty) Stay Away

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mjboruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Owner at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
There are a lot of inaccuracies with the review made by mjboruch on April 2. To begin, a month before their arrival the family rented two rooms, 112 and 109 because they had a large group. They told us there would be 10 people and we advised them that it would be over crowded in two rooms for them. Despite having so many people, they decided on their own a month before their check in day to book only two rooms. They had stayed with us previously so they knew what our rooms were like. Also, we were not remodeling at the time, we were simply booked full. Upon their arrival, they brought in two more people than they had told us. We do offer cleaning service, but they told us it was not necessary because they had too many of their own belongings around the room and it would be a hassle for them. The claim that we asked their children to pick up crumbs is completely untrue. Nothing like this happened. On the day before their checkout, one of the children was screaming in his stroller and the mother was not paying attention to it's cries. I asked her to take the child into the room to comfort it because it was an alarming scene. Her husband was quick to jump to her defense by physically assaulting me. He punched me in the chest and I had to call the police. The police told us I could file a civil suit against the husband for assaulting me but I decided to not do that and only asked the officer to escort the family off of the property. Overall, the reviews on this page are unbalanced and we have overwhelmingly satisfied returning customers. Many of our customers are international and elderly and thus, don't leave reviews on this site, for example.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Will you dare to publish this review? We were very disgusted with the reviews on this page. we have been going to the New Yorker Motel in Clearwater Beach for five years and I couldn't disagree more with the listed reviews. We just returned from our stay there. I had broken my right hand und could not be more impressed by the help we received from Ed and his wife. Besides that, our unit was as always clean and we have no complaints whatsoever. The Motel is well kept and we will always return, as do many other guests that we had met over the years and I can say that I consider the listed reviews an insult to the owner and the guests that have been coming here for many years. The Motel is close to the beach and very quiet, which can not be said of all places. And we can assure you, we stayed for 20 years at Clearwater B. and we have seen really "bad" Motels. I hope you have the "guts" to post this review.

Room Tip: We always have room 111 and are happy with the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you staying with us for all these years and for the kind review. We value you as a guest and are looking forward to your next visit.

Best,

The New Yorker Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gnadenhutten
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel was gross and disgusting. As we were unpacking, we found a very large dead roach being eaten by ants in the bathroom behind the toilet. My husband took it to the manager and he said there was nothing he could do, everyone got roaches "once in a while." We paid for a week, and was there an hour. We asked for our money back to look for another hotel and he refused. We paid cash so it should not have been a problem. The manager yelled at our children for splashing in the pool, he yelled at my 70 year old mother for jumping in the pool and splashing, and when we tried to sit on the balcony and play cards in the evenings, he would turn the lights out on us. My husband finally gave him a piece of his mind and we left early. The manager/owner was the most rude individual I have ever encountered. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jkault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#48 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#44 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Motel

Property: New Yorker Motel
Address: 332 Hamden Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your New Yorker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing