We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the New Yorker Motel, Clearwater Beach”
Review of New Yorker Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Yorker Motel
Ranked #80 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Oshawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the New Yorker Motel, Clearwater Beach”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We've just returned from our annual stay at the New Yorker Motel, this was our sixth year there. As on previous stays, it was great to be back and it suits us very well. We feel welcome by the owners, Ed and Bonnie. The Motel is located a few minutes from the most awesome beach, everything is within walking distance, the price is affordable and the unit as well as pool and surrounding areas are clean, well kept and comfortable. We hope to return to the New Yorker Motel for our yearly stay many more times.

Room Tip: We always stay in Unit 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We appreciate that you always choose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next year, it's always great to have happy customers back.

Best,

Ed+Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    1
    5
    14
See reviews for
13
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Please ignore all the bad reviews for this motel as it is really not as bad as they say it is. The whole place is very nice and the rooms are very clean and fresh. The owner is very nice and doesn't just let any one book here. Don't smoke if you're not in a designated room and don't bring pets if you're not supposed to. Don't invite more people than you booked for or you will get kicked out. You also need to go and bring your own toilet paper and towels but its not the end of the world if you bring em yourself. Overall, great vacation stay and very good quality for the price! Please ignore the bad reviews since most are overly negative anyways and half- true most of the time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VacationGuy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your post. It's great to hear from happy customers. Just to clarify for other readers, we do provide towels and toilet paper, we just ask that our guests come to the front desk to pick them up as we don't generally enter the rooms while they are occupied. We hope to see you again at our motel and thanks again for taking the time to write to us.

Best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for a few days and make a trip to Clearwater Beach. First time for me and I was looking forward to it. He found this place on the internet and the pictures they use on their website IS NOT the way it really is. This place is a dump. Room was dirty and really outdated. The rugs were dirty and nasty. The toilet in the bathroom stopped flushing and thank God my husband fixed it because the biggest problem with this place was the manager. The worst customer service I have ever experienced. They don't tell you that you have to pay an additional $60.00 cash deposit on top of what you already paid for the room..just in case you smoke the manager said. My husband said we don't smoke but that didn't matter. He basically "escorted" us to the room but I felt we were being checked out and then left. It wasn't even 5 minutes later that he knocks on the door asking for more money for the next night. We reserved two nights. This was Memorial Day weekend and all the other places were booked. He tells us that check out is 10:00 a.m. on Sunday. They lock up the pool by 10 at night..yes..actually lock it up with a chain which is ridiculous. My husband and I were ready to check out at 9:15 a.m. on Sunday. No-one was in the office even though it stated they open at 9 a.m. We had to wait 45 minutes and then the owner shows up at 10:00 a. m. with his wife as if nothing happened. He tells my husband that we should have told him we were checking out early..what?? It seems that when a legitimate person gives a negative review..someone from "management" tries to make an excuse and that is all it is..a lame excuse. We went to celebrate our anniversary and Memorial Day. I being a veteran was disgusted by the lack of friendliness, cleanliness and customer service that was given in this place. There is a reason this place gets really bad reviews. THIS PLACE IS A DUMP...DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We sincerely apologize for keeping you waiting for check out, but we are very disappointed that you let that lead you to trying to deface our business. We have had this small, family owned motel for 13 years and we work hard at what we do. I would like to clarify, however, that for memorial day, you actually received a steal of a price in comparison with what other motels/hotels charge. Also, the pictures of the rooms are in fact EXACTLY what the rooms look like; our rooms are clean and spacious efficiencies. As far as the security deposit, that is a standard practice not only in our motel, but many others, there was no reason to be offended by this. It was returned to you upon check out. We also require that guests pay their total balance upon check in, as do many other motels, so this is also just standard procedure. The manager did not “escort” you to your room out of suspicion, but merely to turn on the air conditioner for you. We are sorry if that also offended you. We do lock up the pool at night, not to be ridiculous, but for safety and insurance reasons. Finally, I don’t believe you have any right in making judgement on previous responses we have made to other reviews because you were not there. They are not excuses, just our side of the story.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Overall, this is exactly what I was looking for. It's nothing too fancy, but just perfect for what I was looking for for my dad and myself. A clean place. AC worked great. Pool was awesome too. The owners / management were friendly. Walking distance to just about anything in Clearwater Beach. If you want something fancy and are willing to pay 3x as much, pick a different place. If you don't have a lot of needs and are just looking for a clean, simple place to sleep that is near the beach, this is perfect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy you stayed with us and are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Best,
The New Yorker Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

You have to do everything yourself, get your toilet paper, water, towels. There is nothing worth staying here. There is no service. Go to the holiday inn. The pots and pans are old. The bedding is old. The people are slightly rude. It's unfortunate but you get what you pay for. They have so much potential but they choose to avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bkusz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My best friend and I stayed 2 nights at the New Yorker and enjoyed every moment. The room and pool were very clean and the owners were very nice. Only steps away from the beach! We will most definitly stay there again on our return next year!

Room Tip: We had room 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next stay.

Best,
The New Yorker Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Please read other reviews. Can only think the one positive review must be the owner or a relative. Same bad experience for us and wouldn't have stayed there but for everywhere being booked up for spring break. We had been driving 7 hours looking for a place to stay and this was left. Had to haggle with manager for towels/ toilet paper and he seemed awfully busy outside our frosted un-blinded window every time i used the bathroom! Not a nice place or a nice man. Weird combo type thing in room sink/hob/fridge (see pictures) scared of being electrocuted whilst washing up. Very dirty hovel and would sooner have slept in car. Heed this warning!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suzif72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#46 of 98 in Clearwater
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sta'n Pla Motel
Sta'n Pla Motel
#41 of 98 in Clearwater
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#44 of 98 in Clearwater
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Motel

Property: New Yorker Motel
Address: 332 Hamden Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your New Yorker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing